Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crumly Chapel Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 344 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

This is my daughter second year at Crumly Chapel, and I have been satisfied with the principal, teachers, and staff. Everyone seen to be very concern and nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My son is in the second grade and I love his teacher Mrs. Varden.....she is an excellent teacher. Starting from kindergarten with Mrs.Hall, first grade with Ms. Nixon, and now second grade with Mrs.Varden. I thank GOD for these teachers because they are ALL very caring and concern about the kids.....and that's what it is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

I will not be sending my son to Crumly Chapel next year! I think the teachers are possibly not qualified and in my opinion incompetent. Dont waste your time going to the principal because it does no good. If you do send your child, I would advice popping in from time to time. I have observed teachers not being nice to students and just out right rude to children. They do not make sure that the children eat to ensure that they have enough energy to make it through the day. I wish that I could grade the school and teachers because most would get a F! Good luck! Pay the extra money to send them to private school if you are zoned for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I just love this school !They treat my children with care,she has great teachers,she makes 'A' honor roll,and shes in the gifted class.


Posted August 19, 2010

I think my family has been blessed because my children have always been placed with great teachers at Crumly Chapel. The list includes Hall, Hadley, Piper, Varden, Calhoun, Lambert, and Covington. My children are so excited about school. They are encouraged to excel in school. They all participate in the gifted program and are honor roll students. I am very impressed with the quality of education that my babies have received at Crumly Chapel. Parents are their children's first teachers. You can't send your child to school and expect great things if you are not motivating and helping your child at home. I give Crumly Chapel 4 stars. I left one off because of the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

There are some good teachers at Crumly Chapel, from Kindergarden- 4th grade. T he Fifth gade teachers are not good. The Principle rarely speaks to you. It would be a much better school if they had someone who reallly cared about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Very family oriented. The Teachers are awesome. My daughter has learned alot in first grade and Im so glad crumly chapel is the school zoned for my area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I have two daughters which attended Crumley Chapel. One of them attends third grade, Mrs.Lambert class. My third grader has experience great things at Crumley Chapel Elementary School. She has tested & passed the test for gifted program which she attend weekly. The staff work very hard with the children at the school. I would like to thank Ms. E. Piper for being a very special teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

I had two children to attend this school and was not that impressed. I think there really is a need to replace the administrators and some office staff. Some teachers are great, while others leave a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

I feel the school will do much better when the principal is replaced along with the office staff. The teacher quality can be alot better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

While I feel the school is working to 'Leave NO child behind' there appears to be discipline needs in some classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This is my son's second year at Crumley Chapel and he loves it. His first experience in kindergarten was excellent. His teacher, Mrs. Hall was a gem. The academic setting is excellent and the principal has a caring spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

I must say that I am more pleased with the work of the teachers than the Principal and office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female97%
Male68%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education60%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty82%

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male64%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education33%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty64%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students77%
Female88%
Male67%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male92%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education84%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students87%
Female95%
Male79%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education65%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty81%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students41%
Female47%
Male34%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White57%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education16%
General population49%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Poverty36%
Non-poverty56%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 35%
White 13% 58%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Harold Edward Gray
Fax number
  • (205) 379-3295

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Pershing Rd
Birmingham, AL 35214
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-3250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Forestdale Baptist
Birmingham, AL





Minor Community School
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT