Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grantswood Community Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 367 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

My daughter attended this School for Kindergarden and the Teacher she had was AWESOME AND CURRICULM GREAT, but the staff is mostly unfriendly and some rude! You walk in the office and they dont speak, you have speak to them, not used to that! I took my daughter out and never looked back. If you can help it, DON'T DO IT if you are about kindness and friendliness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

My daughter is in Kindergarten and this has been the best experience for her and a the staff is exellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

My son went to Grantswood for kindergarten where he did very well. Then he went to Leeds Elementary for 1st grade where he was held back-he made very little progress that year. He's back at Grantswood this year for 1st grade and it has been an awesome year! The teachers and staff were so pleased to see him back and we were all greeted warmly. We have had very good communication with the school. My son is reading at a 2nd grade reading level and has made huge strides in every area. I definately credit this to the great work of his teachers, a terrific curriculum, and an appropriate homework regimine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I really liked Grantswood. The teachers really worked with my autistic son. However, the administrative staff is very unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

The school has a great academic program. However I'm not impressed with the staff. This is my child's 2nd year at Grantswood and I have not experienced the 'ever so friendly' atmosphere from the falcuty that I've come in contact with but as far as the academics, it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

My daughter is almost done with Kindergarten at Grantswood and I am so impressed with this school. She is a sponge for knowledge anyway and with her accelerated learning she is already reading at a end of year 1st grader. The teachers and other facility are just amazing and so caring about all the students under there wing. I would recommend this school for K-2 to anyone new or old in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

We just moved from Pinson to Trussville and Grantswood has made the transition great for our son .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My son just started K-5 at Grantswood and the whole staff has made it so much easier to transition for me and my son. We were very concerned about how he would in real school. He is a very resistant to change and gets upset very easily, but he wakes up each day ready to go to school because he loves it. go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

This is a very friendly school. They speak to you, not down to you! The really like being around the kids and care for them. They continue to improve and add programs. The principal is very level headed and she is very approachable. My twins attend Grantswood now and their father, aunt, uncle and older sister also went there. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

We have just completed three years at Grantswood and could not have asked for a better beginning for our son's academic years. The teachers and administration and caring and professional. They LOVE what they do and it shows in their attitudes and the attitudes and love of learning they have instilled in our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school has been a gift from God for our family. Coming from California, we had concerns about the public education system in this new State. Our daughter has learning delays, sensory integration disorders and high end autism, all of which demand a great deal of effort. Grantswood special education program has already made an impact in our daughter's skill levels within the first two weeks. She is receiving speech and occupational therapies weekly as part of the curriculum. The administration couldn't be more cooperative or helpful. The limited grade levels make the school a welcoming and safe atmosphere for the young children. We feel as if this school is a 'best kept secret,' and that it could go toe to toe with any private or wealthy public school. Many thanks to all the educators and administrators at Grantswood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2003

I love this school!! My son has reading disabilities, the teachers at Grantswood have been so great with him, he has come a long way over this past school year. I'm so proud of him and of Grantswood for taking an interest and caring about my son...thank you so much.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 34%
White 22% 58%
Hispanic 17% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Ann W Tillman
Fax number
  • (205) 379-3745

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5110 Grantswood Rd
Birmingham, AL 35210
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Highlands School
Birmingham, AL



Daniel House
Birmingham, AL


Glenwood Wilderness
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT