Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Blountsville, AL
Students enrolled: 614

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Susan Moore High School 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
I laughed when I read a comment on this page that said Susan Moore had very minimal violence... I have been to 7 different schools and never once witnessed a fight until I got to Susan Moore and once I got there, in less than a year, I witnessed at least 6 or more fights.

Susan Moore High School 4

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
SMHS is a small country school with very minimal if any violence.. Also very minimal drug/ alcohol abuse compared to city schools.. This school is very well Christian based for the most part. Athletics have really taken off, golf, soccer, and track teams are fairly new but doing very well. Communication between parent & teacher is excellent. Send the teacher an email and have a response by the end of the day. A lot of teachers post homework and tests on FB so we stay informed that way as well. SM is the perfect size for a country town. Not too small or too large either. If your wanting school personalized, you'll love it. My son isn't the best in the math dept. So he opted in for free math tutoring twice a week during the last part of sixth period. So they really try to help the kids who want and need additional help. His average in math is a 76, but he feels and we expect it to be better. So kudos to SMHS for that as well. Mr. Pullen is the principle and seems pretty easy going. He speaks to me every time he sees me, and jokes around with all the kids, and they respect him as well.


Susan Moore High School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a teacher
Blount County Schools not one but all the schools and the county board including the superintend are all stuck in the past and refuse change. They ignore state rules and regulations but hide the fact when question or when the state comes and do there 'checkup' . Don't do back ground checks on Teachers and don't force or require collage degrees in learning So some Teachers can't teach they relay on worksheets that they can download over the internet too give too the students for grades. The schools also seem to make Football (sport) required or more impotent then the actual school work or lessons. and puts a limit on students on scholarships or grants....by the way they have had the same superintendent for 10 to 15 years

Susan Moore High School 1

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Susan Moore High School 2

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Susan Moore High School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
Susan Moore if offering classes online in the accessdl classroom. Many classes not offered normally on campus are now available for students in the Accessdl program. Classes such as French, German, Marine Science, AP Psychology, and latin. Keep an eye on this program because it raises the bar for our students who want more --definitely a plus for honors students.

Susan Moore High School 2

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Susan Moore High School 5

Posted August 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Susan Moore High School 4

Posted August 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Susan Moore High School 2

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
Do[es] not offer special dual enrollment for honors students during the school year, behind other schools. The extra curricular activities offered are for only a limited few. They are cutting back in the area of band for students who whish to be in auxillary. P.E. In h.S. Is basically play time or social time. Not enough emphasis on health and fitness for life long learned wellness. There is not near enough learning resorces available for advanced students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Susan Moore High School
4040 Susan Moore Rd, Blountsville, AL  35031
(205) 466-7663
Last modified Susan Moore High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Susan Moore High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top