Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookwood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

I think Brookwood Elementary is highly underrated! My daughter just completed 2nd grade there, and in the 3 years she has gone there, we have yet to be disappointed by anything. My daughter is thriving, and exceeding state levels in many areas. School is on a constant communication effort to keep parents informed, and involved. Principal is great, and knows all the kids, and parents by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I have two children that attend Brookwood Elementary. The school is good and has a caring staff. They have great technology, music, computer and art classes. The teachers and principal are always holding meetings to keep parents involved and aware. My children have both excelled at the state tests because of the wonderful job the staff has done. The school strives to provide the best education within the best environment for the children!! I would recommend it to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

Brookwood Elementary School is the worse school there is. My son was bullied all year and the teacher did nothing and when I went to the principal she did nothing. I would rather pay the extra money for a private school or move to the Vance district. They don't care and are there just to get their paychecks. The school is so unorganized. Very unhappy parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Brookwood Elementary is the worst school that my children have ever attended. The principle has consistently ignored my problems and concerns. I am very disappointed in every aspect of the school and can't wait until my 4th grader is able to go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

This was our first year at Brookwood Elementary and we were very happy with everything. We have 3 children who attended, one of whom is in special education. Their grades this year were pre-k special ed, 1st and 4th grades. The teachers and administrative staff were all wonderful and very helpful. They really seem to care about their students and school. Any questions we had were answered and help was always there. Brookwood Elementary is a wonderful school and I would recommend it to anyone!/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2006

I am a parent and my child is in Special Ed,my son had an accident at the school 2 months ago and the things that that the principal said they would correct to make sure it did not happen again, still has not been corrected. It seems as some of the teachers are just there for a pay check, I do not see any parent involement, nor do they has extracurriclar activities for my child. The bus ride is anywhere from 1-2 hours on way for where we are located at, so I have chosen to take my child to school every day rather then make him ride the bus for 2-4 hours a day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I would have to say that Brookwood Elementary is an excellent school. My daughter started in K-5 and graduated from the fifth grade in May 2005. The staff is great. I am including everyone from the principal to the custodians. She has learned so much from everyone. The teachers she has had have helped her grow into a little lady. She has made excellent grades each year because she loved school and her teachers. They were offered art, music, sock hops, field trips and the coaches taught them about all sports. The field trip to Washington, D.C. was the best. We learned so much and had a great time. The teachers were wonderful with the kids. I have helped at the school one day a week since my child started K-5 and I did that until she graduated 5th grade. All parents need to volunteer one day a week. Loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

I am a substitute at BES and also have a child that attends there. It is a great school with caring faculty and staff. They have great activities for the kids that include sock hops, field trips, talent show, beauty walks, and the reading program is fantastic. The teachers really do a great job teaching and nurturing. More parent involvment would be great, but they are on the right track for each child to be a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

I am a substitute teacher at BES and I have to say that there are really good and caring teachers at Brookwood Elementary. I was just looking at the elementary school I attended in B'ham and I am appalled at what seems to go on there. We should be very happy and ever so grateful to have such a good school for our children to learn things in. Thank you to all the teachers for being so faithful to teach these precious children. Your love for your profession is appreciated. Thank You for all you do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2003

Awesome Teachers! Wonderful principal! Great lunches and lunch workers! Great Library! Lots of fun extra stuff to keep the kids happy, sock hops, field day, field trips, talent show, etc. Needs more parental involvement!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education60%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students89%
Female95%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education53%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female93%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education40%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty88%

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education53%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty81%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female98%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education62%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education38%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education54%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 58%
Black 8% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sally Wells
Fax number
  • (205) 342-2845

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16049 Hwy 216
Brookwood, AL 35444
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 342-2668

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Boyd School
Green Pond, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT