Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Calera, AL
Students enrolled: 906

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calera High School 3

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Calera teachers are great. The principal on the other hand is horrible. If you child is a black male and attend this school. I strongly advise you to write everything down on paper and get involve with Shelby County Board of Education. This man has got to be put out.

Calera High School 3

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
I THINK THIS SCHOOL IS A GOOD SCHOOL IF YOU ARE NOT A BLACK MALE. UPPER ADMINISTRATION SHOWS VERY LITTLE FAIRNESS TO THOSE OF THIS PARTICULAR STATUS. IF THEY COULD GET PEOPLE TO TREAT ALL STUDENTS EQUALLY, IT WOULD BE A BETTER PLACE FOR ALL.


Calera High School 4

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
It's a small area that is growing in a time when funds are not. This schoolpromotex a sense of community.

Calera High School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Calera High School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
In my opinion, Calera is one of the up and coming 4A schools in the state. They have strong sports programs, but also great fine arts programs and strong academics--the comprehensive math team were state champs last year. The education is on a par with the bigger, more well-known Shelby County schools and the school has the added advantage of being small enough that kids don't get lost in the shuffle. I have nothing but praise for the school, teachers, staff, and students.


Calera High School 4

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
I think Calera has the potential to be a great school. We just went froma a 3A to a 5A so we are growing and we have new leadership. I am excited about what Calera is going to become.

Calera High School 5

Posted May 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Calera High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Calera High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Calera High School 5

Posted August 25, 2007
- a parent
Calera is a great school. The teachers are wonderful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calera High School
8454 Hwy 31 South, Calera, AL  35040
(205) 682-6100
Last modified Calera High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Calera High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top