Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted November 16, 2013
- a teacher
Chelsea Middle School has a great student body with involved, caring, and supportive parents and an active PTO. However, CHMS has outgrown both the nearby 2-laned winding roads without turn lanes or sidewalks and its sports facilities without enough parking space. Too bad the city can't buy this campus and create football fields for the community sports leagues. Chelsea help the middle school acquire new space like the awesome Helena Middle or Calera Middle. Chelsea staff has done great things with leaking roofs and outdated electricity.......imagine how the morale of the community would prove if the middle school were the right size and newly minted? The current campus has had 50 years of band- aids. Our kids could REALLY take off in a place built with the future in mind.....

Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
CHMS has great teachers but the physical education department needs an overhaul. New equipment and facilities is much needed, as well as a challenging and engaging program.


Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
The teachers care and parental involvement is strong. Chelsea is a great community and Shelby County is in tune with its schools! Thank everyone for coming together for our kids!!

Chelsea Middle School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
We are new to Chelsea Middle School but so far our experience has been wonderful! The teachers are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure the students succeed. Homework can get overwhelming at times and makes it hard for after school activities. There are plenty of opportunities for involvement in extracurricular activities. I love being able to keep up with my daughters grades through the Inow program. Blogs that are provided by each teacher make it convenient to keep up with homework and any changes that may take place. We love this community and believe Chelsea Middle School will provide the education needed to succeed.

Chelsea Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
ChMS has a staff that truly cares about our kids. The principle is always visible in the school and encouraging the kids.


Chelsea Middle School 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
This is my child's second year at Chelsea Middle. The staff and administration has been accomodating and relational. The overall student body is motivated to learn, improve and have fun.

Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Hi there and thanks for this opportunity. Chelsea Middle School has been a great experience both learning and socially for my child. There is a great system in place including the administration and parents. There is definitely growth in Chelsea which is evident by the newly built elementary school. The middle school is in need of some upgrades and modernizations. This $5000 in support would be great start to some much needed additions. Thank you for your consideration.

Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a community member
Chelsea Middle School is a great place to be!!! It is within a town that is small enough that everyone knows each other, but big enough that there are many opportunities. Chelsea Middle School has excellent teachers that most importantly want children to learn and to love one another. They are supportive and encouraging - yet at the same time challenging. So excited about the FUTURE of Chelsea --- it's moving up in a good way!!!


Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Chelsea Middle School has amazing teachers and staff. The building itself could use some updating, as it is really old, however the building doesn't make the school, the people make the school!

Chelsea Middle School 4

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
At Chelsea Middle School, we have the potential for a great school experience. We are blessed with awesome teachers, faculty, and students. We also have a huge amount of parent support through the P.T.O. and involvement with both academic and extra-curricular activities. The one area lacking is our school facilities. It is the oldest building in the school system as it was the original building constructed way back when. There are efforts underway through the city, county, and parents to improve facilities. Overall, we are proud to be a Hornet.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chelsea Middle School
2321 Hwy 39, Chelsea, AL  35043
(205) 682-7210
Last modified Chelsea Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chelsea Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top