Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

K J Clark Middle School

Public | 4-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Clark Shaw Magnet is one of the best schools in Mobile County. People that have already went to Clark are thanking the teachers and their curriculm. Clark Shaw Magent ha a variety of classes.Clark shaw is seriously a really good School to go,but the upcoming child that goes to Clark need to put effort in actually learning.


Posted August 9, 2013

not good. no teacher help, at least 2 tests each subject every week. no communication between parents and teachers. kids get in trouble too easy. this school is not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

I am very proud that my son attends this school. I feel he is safe and encouraged by the staff. The school is strict but not impossible by any means. My son is happy and proud of his success. If your child is interested in learning you should apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

Mobile has Magnet Schools. IT DOESN"T MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE, anyone residing in or around Mobile can attend any magnet school as long as they meet the requirements and their application is accepted. The magnet schools then teach at an accelerated level. Once accepted you must maintain a 60% average and cannot be a discipline problem. If you are removed from the program you simply attend your regularly assigned school. Parents are strongly encouraged to be active in their children's education. We monitor progress by talking to our kids and we can check their grades online at any time. We had a rough spot last year in math but between Saturday school and tutoring, the class average came up to 93%. If you are willing to put forth effort and really want to learn, the teachers and staff will do everything they can to help you. My children live for the engineering and robotic classes. The emphasis on engineerng is why Clark was our first choice of magnet school. Other schools emphasize humanities or performing arts, but our kids have always loved taking things apart and seeing how they work. They study harder because they enjoy the lessons. It's not work, it's play!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Clark!! Great school with really good teachers. The students have lots of fun. They are have to meet grade requirements and the school is strict and I think its great. It pushes the students to do their best. And they WILL absolutely help if you seek it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

This school is great. It teaches good discipline and work ethic. I do not reccomend Causey or Phillips. If you find this school too strict or too "spirit breaking" you should try Dunbar. I honestly believe this school is great and the teachers are the best. They will help your child if your child is failing. If your grade drops below a 60 then you will have to leave. But, of course, it is a magnet school. I think that this school is worth your time. You should check into this school or at least read some more reviews on other sites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

My daughters attended Clark and did well. I read all of the negative things that was said about the school. We have to teach our children that they are going to have rules everywhere you go. That's life!!! I am glad that they were strict and had high standards for our students. It's going to take that and more for them to make it in this world today. Right now you may/may not appreciate it, but one day you will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

Yes they do kick your child out for their grade dropping and they will say they wish they new their grades were low she would have sent them to saturday school but this is after they tell you to pull them out they dont care about the kids no love there and very prejudice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I went to enroll my child for school and after talking with one of the employees that worked there i changed my mind. The employee used intimidation towards me and my so that I wouldn't want my child to attend clark. She literally broke my son's self esteem by potraying clark as being so hard that he felt as if he couldn't do it. I decided that my child would not be another number or statistic because all they care about is a pay check how could they look as far as numbers. They don't really care about the children at all. They basically told me if your child drop his average he will be kicked out. They will not help your child at all. I will not reccommend this school but i will reccomend catholic schools because they show they care. Magnet schools are just public schools that teaches at a faster pace. No different. Catholic schools pray and teach religion and have way more to offer and more one on one. I would not reccommend this school, you get what you pay for. That's why im paying for my child to be where they show they care. I can tell that my child was not wanted. Catholic Schools are the best !!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

Some great teachers, some very BORING teachers. Schoolwork isn't very hard, just advanced. Too strict with the uniform. No hats, scarves, non-uniform jackets, no nail polish, etc. etc. Should be more considerate with those type of things.


Posted December 15, 2010

This school is one of three magnet middle schools in Mobile. My oldest went to Phillips, which yes it was hard but do able. My second child is at Clark, and oh my goodness, they are so picky... They have the A-Z of detention, and I'm not kidding, they will not allow the children to wear gloves, scarves or hats!!!!! Even if it is 25' outside!!!! And unfortunately I believe some of the teachers that are not Math and Science teachers have a chip on their shoulders!! The math and Science are not that hard just advanced. My child has not gotten into trouble or had a detention so I am not upset with the strictness of that, there are just some teacher there that do not need to be teachers:( Especially to some of the younger grades!!! Clark is a nice school, they just really need to think about the priorities of what is important and a lot of that in a student is self esteem which some of these teachers forget or leave at home when they get there :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

clark is the worst school ever if they don't like you they put you out and they are trying to make the school white


Posted March 22, 2010

Clark-Shaw is an amazing school. After moving to the new facilities, the school has even more technology and wonderful resources. My daughter is in the 6th grade and she is learning a lot. She is challenged and she has to keep up with her work to be successful. The discipline policy is upheld and students are expected to follow the rules. We are very thankful to be a part of the Clark-Shaw community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Clark is a great school, but it is not for everyone. Students who go there without basic skills will not make it. It challenges students and engages them in learning. The teachers truly care about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

Clark is okay, the work load is hard, I think more teacher interaction is needed. They take weeks to respond and it is impossible to meet with them. I know I went to school when I was young and not Clark just a normal school and the funny thing is it was 20 years later and I am a 4.O average at the university and I watch the high school kids struggle so go figure is it the School or is it the Teachers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Mary Weeks Burroughs Elementary School is awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2006

My 3rd son started at Clark this year and we couldn't be more pleased. My oldest son started at Clark in 4th grade and when he graduates from high school this year, he will have 18 hours college credit thanks much to the advanced classes he was able to take at Clark. My middle son is in 8th grade at Clark and, again, we are very pleased with his total academic experience. Yes, there have been a couple teachers thru the years who didn't quite measure up....bad teachers are in EVERY school but Clark has much fewer than the average and the good teachers are OUTSTANDING! We have never had any concerns about our children's safety while at Clark....the students are there because their parents WANT them to be there and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment because of Teachers not meeting/talking to parents about their child's daily progress.You should not have to wait until report cards to find out your child is failing when you have been sending notes,talking to the teacher, sending treats. Talking to the principal about a teacher also falls on deaf ears. No concern at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

Clark Magnet School is absolutely the best school that any parent can send their child. The teachers and principal are all great people and they are all interested in your child's education. I went to Clark and am now in my first year of high school, and because of the high school classes that are offered at Clark, I am taking classes with 11th graders! Clark really prepares you for high school. It is a wonderful school and every child should attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2004

My son has enjoyed his first year at Clark. He is invoved in he Chess team and the math team. Soon he will be going to space camp! Good for the teachers at Clark for keeping the children interested in school. Good job Mrs. Tharp
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

336 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

335 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education100%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black99%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black99%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty99%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

203 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 58%
Black 46% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Dianne D Mcwain
Fax number
  • (251) 221-2108

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 12th Ave
Chickasaw, AL 36611
Phone: (251) 221-2106

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



TL Faulkner School
Prichard, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT