Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Houston Co High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2011

I think that all of the people who say this is a great school must work there. I have children at this school, they are picked on, ridiculed, and made fun of by staff at this school, I wish that I could afford to move back home to Florida, schools there are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

Why is there no PTO (parent, teacher organization)? If such an organization were to exist, maybe more parents would take interest in their children's education and not wait until the child is failing. Although I don't have a problem with tenure in general, I do think that in order to be able to retain it, a teacher must meet certain requirements. For example, to treat students like humans and not talk to them like they are dogs, also, actually to have a calling to be teacher would be a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I used to go to Houston Coutny. I graduated a few years back. It saddens me though to read some of these comments that other students have posted. When trying to convince someone that a particular school is a good one and you can't type, spell, or speak proper english it doesn't help your case. I will say when I was there, several teachers did not supervise well. This, sadly, made it a lot harder for the ones that did. However the ones that did supervise did it well. I also agree with there not being enough parental involvement. That is also very sad to me. There were a lot of rude students when I went there, and respect to others and especially adults is something that should be learned at home. Overall though, I am very glad I went to Houston County. It is a nice school in great community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

HCHS is overall a G`R`E`A`T School. I have two kids attending(11th and 12th grade). I am pleased to have chosen this school for my kids. The students seem to get along well with each other and they are supportive to each. That's a plus! My children are very active in extracurricular activities and their grades are excellent!! They have caring staff and my hats are off to you!! Thanks for a job well done!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I think our school sets a good example for our student body and the teaching staff is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

I think this is a great school and it has gotten better in the last few years. There are a few teachers who don't supervise the students, and there are a lot of parents who allow their children to break rules and get mad if the kid is punished, but overall, this is a good school. It's small, clean, and most everybody is friendly. I would recommend sending your children to HCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Houston County High School is a good school. My children(8th and 11th grade)enjoy the friendly atmosphere of a small school. We moved to the area from a much larger town and we felt like we never fit in. Parental involvement is a problem at Houston County High School, just like in most high schools. It would be great to see parents get more involved in their childrens activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

In all honesty this school has no supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

Hchs is a great school. Eveyone is friends and if there is an arguement, it is solved shortly after.All the other school don't have what we have.We have school spirit and lots of love for our school. My friends that came from other schools said they wish they came to hchs along time ago. 09.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2005

Hchs is a great school. It's awesome that we have such a small school, that way, everyone knows everyone. I wonder what parent said that the 7th graders shouldn't in p.E. With older students? Thats crazy! the whole reason the 7th graders are there is to make sure they're comfortable with the school before they have to start with credits and stuff (and trust me, its not as stressful if you're use to the school and the enviornment). I love hchs and i wouldn't ever change schools! gooooo lions! **april** seniors 2007 rule!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Houston County is an awesome school!The only thing I dont like is the new dress code there making they dont but our clothes so they dont need to make us tuck in shirts and all the stuff their doing. And I believe that boys and gurls should have p.e. together. And whoever said that about 7th graders should not have p.e. with older kids, ITS HIGH SCHOOL! Its gonna be like that if you dont like it take them to a different school.Thats my opion. I go to HCHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2004

Houston County High School is a pretty good school, however the children are not monitored enough during PE. Also, the seventh graders share PE with some ninth graders, this is not a good idea because seventh graders are very impressionable and do not need the extra peer pressure. If the PE teachers would pay more attention I would rate Houston County High School very favorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty76%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male89%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education67%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty92%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students84%
Female92%
Male74%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students70%
Female90%
Male58%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education42%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Poverty69%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
83%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

26 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

59 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty93%

Language

All Students58%
Female71%
Male48%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White59%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Poverty56%
Non-poverty64%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty79%

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female58%
Male78%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students88%
Female94%
Male81%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty86%

Math

All Students93%
Female89%
Male97%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female86%
Male69%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 58%
Black 38% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Scott Stephens
Fax number
  • (334) 696-4677

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

202 West Church St
Columbia, AL 36319
Phone: (334) 696-2221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ashford Academy
Ashford, AL




Headland Alt School
Headland, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT