Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbiana Middle School

Public | 6-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

My 6th grade year at this school was awesome at first then as I got more into the school year, there were major problems; The students were always rude and truly ignorant. The teachers/staff tried, I guess. The assistant principal is okay, I liked him at first then once I noticed him 'nagging' on small things, all respect for him went down the toilet. The teachers have bad attitudes for no reason. You can compliment them or whatever just to get them to smile or whatever and they get an attitude. This school lowers confidence and makes people go home feeling like they never want to come back the next day. There were a few teachers I really enjoyed though! The GRC teacher is awesome. Anyways, I begged my mom to let us move. I want nothing to do with this school.


Posted October 3, 2013

My son was receiving extra help for AD/HD in Elementary school. When he started middle school he was taken out of the program and know he is failing his classes. I can not understand who or why they would take this away and let him fail, I rate this school poorly in making the decision to take him out of this program when he is still under doctors care. Please think twice before sending your kids to Columbiana schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

As a past employer of Columbiana school. The leadership is great far as principal. The leadership goals is shown daily from the inside out. Teachers, administrative bodies are concerns about problems especially "bullying" is immediately handle. Parents are not afraid to send their kids to school I love columbiana Middle School where everyone is important.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2010

The atmosphere is perfectly condusive to learning. Everyone within our school cares about our students and about each other. We operate as a family, but solely in tune to the needs of our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love the dedicated faculty and staff I work with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2010

I attended CMS, and now my youngest is a student there. Through the years, the faculty and staff have consistently brought out the potential of students, and the teachers are excellent at tailoring their methods of instruction to appeal to individual learning abilities. On top of all that, everyone seems to genuinely have fun while they take our children from their 'elementary' mindset and help them mature in their social and scholastic skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

It is a growing school and has come a long way, but could use some help with materials and rooms they need so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Columbiana Middle School has excellent leadership in the Principal and Asst. Principal. Teachers are excellent, and this shows through their caring attitude toward the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love my job at Columbiana Middle School. The kids are special and fun to work with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

I love the small town community! The administration and faculty are very accessible and open to communicate with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love my class sizes. Over the years I've seen the school improve in its consistency and dedication to student achievement in both academic and social areas. The administration is strict but the rules are aimed at student safety and professionalism. The floors are always shining!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The school provides great structure while allowing the kids to experience new freedoms. It has the qualities you look for in a small town school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

CMS is a safe and friendly environment where a student can learn life-long skills in order to suceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love CMS because this school is full of dedicated teachers and administrators that go above and beyond to make sure that students are successful high schoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Most of our kids are fun, respectful, positive, and unspoiled. They want to learn and be challenged to excel. They don't always realize just how wonderful and smart they are compared to other schools in the county, but these are exceptional kids who just need someone to believe in them and push them to be their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

CMS is an academically challenging, safe supportive environment where students are prepared for high school and for a successful life full of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

It's a great place to work. Being such a small community, it gives a sense of family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I'm not a parent, but I do teach at this school. I've been there less than 5 years, and there is room for improvement, although we have improved in some areas drastically. Right now, we are becoming overcrowded, our discipline system is hitting major walls in consistency, and we are making AYP on our tests. We have both poor and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female78%
Male78%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Special education38%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty71%
Not poverty87%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education38%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty83%
Not poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education31%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty67%
Not poverty82%

Reading

All Students90%
Female95%
Male86%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible80%
Special education62%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty86%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education44%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty79%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education25%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Poverty74%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students84%
Female81%
Male87%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible80%
Special education54%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Poverty78%
Not poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 58%
Black 9% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

222 Joinertown Rd
Columbiana, AL 35051
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School Of Tech
Columbiana, AL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT