Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul W Bryant High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

paul w. Bryant high school has a high attitude of helping students graduate. I know the school is trying hard to help all students graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Good school & well-balanced. Strapped by a not so effective school board. Has great teachers, but block system and athletics during school day need to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

you should come there is a very nice faculty and people i am am proud to be a student
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

I think Paul W. Bryant High School is the best school in the city or county for that matter. My child has attended city schools since K and we have had nothing but great teachers, great staff, excellent education. PBHS, offers excellent sports programs, besides academic structure of exellence I can't say enough good things about the school, the principal, the faculty, and the community. I would also like to say...any school or school faculty, needs parental participation and backing. When they don't get it ...everyones lives difficult. Most of the time when you find bad reviews......dig a little deeper...you'll probably find no parental cooperation, in the situation at all. My experience has been..teachers and faculty don't thrive on mistreating our children. They are gifted people trying to do something most of us concider a job......instructing our children!! Iv'e found the best at PBHS! PBHS parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I am proud to say that I am a graduate of Bryant High School. I can honestly say that I know that the teachers sincerely care about the wellbeing of all students who come through their door. Not only this, but the teachers and administration are also very well educated. The administration is not the only wonderful thing about Bryant, the students are more welcoming than anywhere else I've ever been. I transferred in the middle of the semester as a sophomore, not knowing anyone. By the time I was a senior, I felt as though I had made hundreds of new friends. Bryant doesn't have cliques, just one big group of friends. The school is very diverse, and because of this I feel as though I became very cultured. I would recommend that any parent send their child here, anyone and everyone is welcome. Go Stamps!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2008

My daughter has special needs (Tourettes Syndrome) and I have found the principal, teachers and counselors nothing but absolutely wonderful to deal with. Our situation has been difficult and requires alot of parental involvement. The school has always tried to make my daughters learning enviroment a positive one she felt comfortable in- even when it was not always an easy thing to do. I have friends in situations similar to ours and they have had very negative dealings with their schools. I consider us lucky. Paul Bryant isn't a perfect school- but they have given us the support we need and have gone above & beyond when it really counted. We apreciate what the school has done for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

Do not send your child to this school. Certain administrators do not do their jobs and parental involvement is extremely low. The teachers are well educated and effective for the most part, but the administration quickly runs them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

Bryant is an overall GREAT school and I enjoy attending it. Thanks to all the teachers, excluding a few, but overall Bryant is great. GO STAMPEDE!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education47%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty90%
Not poverty97%

Language

All Students59%
Female72%
Male48%
Black53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Special education6%
General population66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant59%
Poverty48%
Not poverty76%

Math

All Students73%
Female82%
Male64%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education6%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant73%
Poverty65%
Not poverty84%

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special education6%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant72%
Poverty64%
Not poverty84%

Social Studies

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Black59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education12%
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant64%
Poverty57%
Not poverty73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education73%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty91%
Not poverty98%

Language

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Special education27%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty69%
Not poverty88%

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible90%
Special education50%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty83%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education31%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty79%
Not poverty90%

Social Studies

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible80%
Special education38%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty67%
Not poverty86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 80% 34%
White 16% 58%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Raquel Payne
Fax number
  • (205) 759-8315

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6315 Mary Harmon Bryant Dr
Cottondale, AL 35453
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 759-3538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oak Hill School
Tuscaloosa, AL


Tuscaloosa Center Tech
Tuscaloosa, AL


Tusc Reg Det Center
Tuscaloosa, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT