Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Pauls Lutheran School

Private | PK-6 | 67 students

Our school is known for our high achieving, community minded Christian students.

 

Living in Cullman

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $118,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $513.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

All of my children attended this school, PK - 6. Very happy with curriculum and even more pleased knowing my children received a Christ centered education in a loving environment. This school does so much for the community with charity and other give back programs. They taught my children to be well rounded and think of so much more than just themselves. I recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

I have been pleased with education and care that my child has received from St. Paul's Lutheran School. The school has been instrumental in equipping my child with scripture and developing their faith in God. The academics are second to none. I would highy recommend St. Paul's Lutheran School to anyone who is considering a Christ centered education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I previously wrote a glowing report on St. Paul's. I must now retract that opinion. At the end of the 2011-2012 school year they began making choices that were not in the best interest of the school and it has continued on a downhill slide since then. My child finished up and we are glad and relieved to be out of that school. It is now not much different than a public school. Except you pay tuition to be there. It is very cold and unwelcome. They have fired many very good teachers and lost a few great ones to retirement, but they haven't replaced them with the same loving caring teachers that create a loving environment for the children. It is not a place I can honestly recommend to anyone for their children. If you are paying for a private school I'd tell you to look at the other options available in Cullman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

My child is going on his fifth year at St. Paul's. It is a Christ centered school with loving and caring staff. I feel very blessed that my child can be a part of such a great school. He has done very well academically and is encouraged to succeed. I would recommend St. Paul's to anyone not sure of where to send their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

St. Paul's Lutheran School is concerned about each child's eternal future. The most important decision we make is, do we follow Christ or not. This school is committed to making sure each child is aware of this choice and the consequences of the choice they choose. Second, this school ofers the highest level of quality education possible. What more can one ask for from a school ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My children have been attending this school for 4 years and we love it. They a truly teaching them and giving them a christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 56%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 3% 38%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laurie Ninke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Dyslexia intervention
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
67
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
67

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cullman Middle
St. Bernard
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 3rd Ave SE
Cullman, AL 35055
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 734-6580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT