Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cullman High School

Public | 9-12 | 915 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2010

I am a parent and I graduated from CHS in 1991. I have read the reviews and agree with some and disagree with others. I went from a Catholic school to a public school and was a little nervous, but the teachers were quite nice. I received a good, strong, quality education from CHS. My children are receiving the same. It is the very best school in the county hands down. I would like to move away from Cullman, but I will not until my three children are Bearcat Graduates. I do believe that sports are overrated and those who play are favored. That is why I gave the school 4 out of 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2010

I have recently graduated from CHS. As much as I love the school, I feel that the new hires should be better screened.


Posted June 3, 2009

It's amazing! This seems almost like a university, the students excel so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I'm a current senior at CHS and I have to say CHS has really helped me get prepared for life outside of school. Some of the things need repair but other than that the teachers really care about you and do everything they can to help you pass. the counselors, especially the senior counselor, help you find the right college that fits you. I love the school and wouldn't have wanted to attend any other school. We have an awesome athletics department and the coaches really care about their players and do everything they can to help them get scholarships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

great school great administration awesome sports programs an all around good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

Cullman High School is a great environment for children. The faculty pushes the students to do the best that they can. It's a clean, well- disciplined high school and any student would be lucky to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

This is a great school for academics and also extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I am soon to be a former student at CHS although we have many wonderful teachers and the principles are wonderful there is many problems with the school. Sports are more important than anything. The band has many programs and have much talent. The drama teacher is wonderful the model teacher in that department. Many of the teacher don't care about there students, and just want to get on to the end of the day. Although CHS has many wonderful things to offer it needs a lot of work, and a lot less popularity shows!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2007

Cullman High School provided me with a wonderful education and a desire to suceed in life. With an academically challenging curriculum, I have been able to do quite well in college. The athletics are consistently ranked in the top five in the state and therefore have a very rich tradition of winning. Other extracirricular events also have an extreme amount of respect. The teachers are parralled by few in the nation and consistently recieve awards for their abilites. Cullman is a great place to raise a family and Cullman High School is a highly contributing factor.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2007

I am the parent of a 2005 graduate of CHS and also a current student. I am also a teacher in a neighboring school district. We moved from a larger city so that our children could attend the Cullman City Schools. I do have some very real concerns in the math department-Geometry , in particular. Overall, I am extremely pleased by the education that my children have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

In my opinion Cullman High School is acceptable on many levels, but lacks in a few key areas. The main problem is the lack of encouragement to creativity and open mindedness at this school. It is unfortunate that an institution in charge of preparing our children for the real world does so in a manner that dumbs the kids down to real issues outside of the classroom. The level of administrative restraint is a bit extreme and induviduality is considered a lack of proper moral value blamed on the parent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

I am a CHS alumnus, as are two of my children. They are currently attending major universities under academic scholarships because of the education that they received at CHS. They were involved with as many programs as they could balance and maintain their grades. They entered college well prepared to accept those challenges. Currently more advance placement classes are being added which will move us closer to a highly competitive level. Overall, I am very pleased with the education that my children and I received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

I am an alumnus of CHS, and have one child in high school and another in middle school. Although Cullman High School test scores still remain high, for the time being, I have become less impressed with the school system as my children have grown older. There are few extracurricular activities, the quality of teachers is diminishing, and the facilities are really lacking. My children have few choices of electives, and few advanced classes. I don't know whether it's a lack of funding or a lack of public interest, but I'm now afraid my sons will not be properly prepared for college. Overall, I feel the Cullman City School System is well below average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

I am a CHS alumni, and I moved back to Cullman from Birmingham with my children so they would be able to raised in a small town atmosphere but still have the advantage of a quality high school education. No school is perfect, but Cullman High really does an incredible job - especially when you consider the revenue that they have to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

As a former CHS alumi, I have an insight that most parents don't have. This school is the epitomy of everything wrong with public schools in our society. The students are not treated with respect. The classes overall are weak, at best, in academic quality and the parting seniors often find themselves miles behind their peers when going off to college. Overall, Cullman High is the best Cullman has to offer, which obviously isn't saying much.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 2, 2003

Cullman High School does have above average test scores and the school does have a few wonderful teachers, but the school does have major financial problems and many programs are being cut. There are few extracurricular activities and almost all of the history teachers are coaches who don't seem to care about the education of their students just the performance of their respective teams. Cullman has a fine music program but cuts are being made due to the financial difficulties. Guidence counsolers don't seem to address the students wants about college but just seem to thrust the choices of Auburn, Alabama, or Wallace State Community College on the students. Overall the Cullman City School System is a sub par system for the academic challenge and growth of young students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

67 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

169 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female75%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty98%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 58%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Black 2% 35%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 13th St NE
Cullman, AL 35055
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 734-3923

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT