Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Daleville, AL
Students enrolled: 598

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A M Windham Elementary School 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is the WORSE school I have ever experienced in my entire life. Not only do they accommodate and brown nose military parents as well as upper class parents, but those parents of lower class and less money are rejected, reticuled, bullied, and mistreated. They have attacked my kids like a pack of wolves manipulating them into falsifying information. They have even used manipulation to force my husband and I to put one of our children on medication. This school is a nightmare. Nothing said will change my mind and I pray to God that some others come forward knowing they are OK. That they have freedom of speech. Do not let Windham's scare tactics, nor their bullying to scare you from protecting you and your children. God Bless.

A M Windham Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
We are a military fmily, and have been at theis school with 2 children for 7 years. It is wonderful! I have a son w ADHD, an IEP and 504, and they were always willing to work w him, make sure all his work is done, and he understood everything that was presented. He has since moved to the HS, and is doing well there as well. My daughter, is exact opposite. "A" honor roll, and is at a 5th-6th grade reading & math level. The teachers, and staff encourage and challenge her. Everyone is very friendly, and helpful. Small town helps with knowledge of staff & faculty. They treat you like family, and want your child to succeed. Any need I have ever needed was met, w teacher meetings, grades, projects, and student to student interaction, w bullying or girlie drama issues. The principal, & VP are very interested in parent involvement, and with any issues or good issues your child may be expiriencing at home or in the community. Parent involvement is encouraged, and the PTO is well run and well recieved w volunteers. They are also great w transitional children moving to the school, either military or others.


A M Windham Elementary School 3

Posted December 29, 2012
- a parent
This School is not a BAD school but not it's not a GREAT school either...My daughter is in the second grade this year. And so far, her first grade year seems to have been the best experienced. ONLY because the teacher was an AMAZING teacher. It seems to me that the teachers here are a little "disorganized" and have little patience. However, academically I do think they are good!

A M Windham Elementary School 1

Posted December 31, 2011
- a parent
This school is TERRIBLE! The principal is well known in a negative way to many parents. In fact, some of my friends have even moved to Enterprise to get away from this principal and school. Prior to relocating here, we were told by a friend who had lived down here " Stay away from Daleville" We didnt listen, but now we understand why. My daughter will bring work home with check marks on it but 40-60% of the work will be incorrect when I review it. I finally had a sit down meeting with all of her teachers and the one who checks it says "Yes, we don't review it, we just check to ensure it was completed." It doesn't, apparently, matter if the children are learning anything,but just that they have attempted to fill in the blanks. Another time, the very next day, after I told the school I wanted my daughter to ride the bus on to Fort Rucker (I was told by the Child and Youth Services on base to ensure they understood because they would mess it up) they lost my daughter and sent her to the wrong place and I had to call around and search for her. Luckily she was safe. Alabama Public Schools are not great to begin with and A.M. Windham is at the bottom of the list of bad ones.

A M Windham Elementary School 1

Posted December 31, 2011
- a parent
Horrible experience my family had with this school. There was so much bullying and what seemed to be very little the staff would do to prevent it. The office staff seem overwhelmed, the school counselor dismissed my concerns and failed to call me when a serious incident occurred, and the principle will defend vs. making much needed change. Paying for lunches/snacks etc. was a chore to say the least, and I look forward to relocating asap. Submitted by a parent


A M Windham Elementary School 3

Posted January 01, 2008
- a parent
Has been a great school in the past but there seems to be more problems lateley. The children are more of a statistic than someone to care for while teaching them the basics of education. Parents are expected to do more with the child at home than the teachers do.

A M Windham Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
Excellent school. 1 child in Kindergarten is reading basic words and my other 1 child in 2nd grade is doing fantastic. Reading, Math and responsibility are taught and very well. Mr Mitten, the principle, is doing a great job, the teachers are caring and I couldn't ask for anything more. Security at the school is a major concern, so parents, don't expect to freely roam the halls. Keep up the great work

A M Windham Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2006
- a parent
I recommend this school to other people. This is a wonderful school. The school stresses reading and has good teachers. It also has some bad ones but I think every school does. Don't be afraid to speak up. Don't waste a year of your child's life being miserable. Very welcoming school, the secretary is the best in the world. Needs to work on the P.E. Program. Accelerated Reading Program is top notch. No Music. TAG(Talented and Gifted) Program starts at grade 2. Good trips with the current teacher. Overall the school needs to work on field trips for the kids. Teachers are very good at communication with parents once they know that you want to be involved. The school is very good at acknowledging and rewarding students for what they have accomplished. School starts at about 7:50 and is out at about 2:45. School bus system is good.


A M Windham Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A M Windham Elementary School
626 North Daleville Ave, Daleville, AL  36322
(334) 598-4466
Last modified A M Windham Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A M Windham Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top