Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Having 2 kids go there I'm up there quiet a bit. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
DNES is a great school and has awesome teachers. The principal on the other hand is very rude, never once has she introduced herself to me. She has made alot of changes at the school, some are good but most are not. ISS for elementary students is ridiculous! If they child is late it should be the parents getting in trouble NOT the child! Changing the schools times for drop off and pick up, is not helping anything. While I was dropping my son off the principal yelled at me because I didn't pull up far enough in the car line. She has threatened other parents( in front of students and parents). If she is doing this in front if people what is she doing when no one is around. She talks badly about kids, parents, and other teachers to the office staff or her personal phone calls while kids/ parents are in office. Forces kids to clean with janitors as punishment for tattling... I grew up at DNES and have always loved it and now my children go there. But the new principal is ruining that school. And there are alot of other parents that would agree. Something needs to be done ASAP!!!!


Danville-Neel Elementary School 4

Posted October 03, 2013
- a community member
The teachers at this school are really great with the children. They strive for every child to succeed. I can not really say the same for the principal. I feel like she is there for a paycheck and not the kids. As a parent, you would like to be able to talk with the principal and work though issues. You are not able to with her. It is her way or no way. If you are in her "group", you have it made. In order to be in that group, you have to brown nose. I assume there is favoritism everywhere, but usually it is not as obvious is all I am saying. So, I would say my child strives at this school! She loves it.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 2

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
DNES has some awesome teachers...I wish you coulld say the same for the administrator. She's rude and "clicky" with certain patents/kids and as long as your in her click your find..but if you ever have issues with anything at school..forget it. She doesn't resolve them but makes it worse..it's a her way or the highway school now. DNES use to be one of the most pleasant schools to walk into..it was parent friendly..but not any more. I miss the days of Mr Lang and Mr Jones.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
Danville Neel is an awesome school! Both of my children go there. The principle is truly an amazing person...Extremely kind, helpful, and supportive. Teachers are top notch.


Danville-Neel Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
The office staff are very rude to children and some parents. I have witnessed on more than one instance. The principal is great! Every morning he is there to greet the kids and takes time to speak to everyone. The teachers for the most part are great.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
Danville Neel Elementary is the best kept secret in North Alabama. I've never met a better Principle than Mr. Lang, he is authoritative as well as supportive. Even the ladies in the cafeteria are A++. If we could get this kind of leadership and teaching talent at the Middle & HS level we would truly be the best school system.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2006
- a parent
Danville Neel Elementary has a new principle Mr. Lang. He is a wonderful person as well as a princple. He is outside of the school every morning and afternoon. He is a true leader for our children to follow and learn from. Our staff of teachers our amazing. They our GREAT with our children.


Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2005
- a parent
My child is so challenged each day when he enters the doorway of Danville-Neel Elementary School. This year has been quite different with the new principal. I never knew how much Mr. Jones (Former Principal) meant to all of us. He made everyone feel so special and important. I am so thankful my two children had the influence of Mr. Jones and his ability to make them realize their potential. Danville-Neel Elementary School has a tremendous group of teachers. Thanks for truly loving the children.

Danville-Neel Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2004
- a parent
Danville neel is a pretty good school. My daughter attends there and this is her second year at danville, she likes it very well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Danville-Neel Elementary School
8688 Danville Rd, Danville, AL  35619
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (256) 773-7183
Last modified Danville-Neel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top