Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-3
Public district
Daphne, AL
Students enrolled: 615
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Daphne this past year from another area in Baldwin County. We feel blessed to be involved in such a great school. Principal Ellis is wonderful! The teachers and other staff genuinely care about the students. My child has learned so much in just one year! We love our school!

Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
We LOVE this school. Principal Jonathan Ellis has continued its tradition of creating a positive, loving learning environment that was perpetuated by longtime Principal Jan Palmer. Our daughter had special needs when we transferred her to the school at the start of second grade, and our son started kindergarten there that year. Through the efforts of the caring teachers, special ed staff, administration -- really, everyone working at the school -- my daughter progressed by leaps and bounds during her time there. My son is now in third grade and is doing wonderfully. Principal Ellis has exhibited dynamic leadership since he took the reins, and now in his second year there continues to make a great school better in terms of boosting parental involvement and trying new educational approaches.


Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
So far so great. Principal and teachers seem genuinely caring for the students. All staff say how much they appreciate help.

Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
This is a five star school that has a strong principal who shows great leadership. The teachers come together like family helping one another. We attended for 2 years (it is a k-3 school) and whenever the kids had an extra activity even in the evenings(choir) you could always count on seeing Mrs. Palmer (principle) showing support and encouraging her kids. From the Principle right down to the janitorial staff they all do their best to make it a safe, fun learning place for everyone right down to those in special ed. We only wished it continued at the way to 6th grade.

Daphne Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
The staff is always so friendly and the school is always keeped in beautiful shape!I have 2 children that attend and cant wait for my 3 child to start!


Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
I have had a wonderful experience with DES! I was sceptical of public school when I moved here but put my daughter at DES in her 1st grade year. This school is absolutely wonderful! The Principal is easy to approach and very into the students and their activities. She knows each student by name and is always outside every morning in the car pool line. The library, art department and the physical education departments are outstanding as well. This year my daughter got the best teacher I could have ever hoped for. Ms. Cashia. She is firm but fun and the kids respect her so much. My daughters grades have gone from so-so to honor roll every quarter. Finally, the office staff and the school nurse are all so caring and kind. I absolutely love this school! I am so thankful for everything this school has to offer.

Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2006
- a parent
I don't know where to start! I love this school! Yes it is old, but boy does it have charm and the teachers are awesome. The cafeteria ladies are best! The school could use some TLC, but grounds are fantastic. I am so glad the board of education decided to keep the school as a K-3 and not have a mega K-6 school! The PE teachers are great with the kids, Coach Davis does a marvelous job with the students. I just wish this school went through the sixth grade! It is centrally located, easy to get to, unlike the other elementary school! Jan Palmer, the principal is awesome and shows her love for the students. The board of education only pays for art and music instruction every other week, I have witnessed many times over that students love art more than music. Art should be offered once a week!

Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2004
- a parent
DES is an excellant school. We had a fantastic year in Kindergarten and looking forward to another great year in first grade. Everyone at this school loves children, from the cafeteria ladies, cross gaurd, and especially the teachers, principal and staff. I am grateful to be able to call DES our school. I do not think you could buy a better education or enviroment for your child.


Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2004
- a parent
The principal at Daphne Elementary School does a superb job. Both of my children attended here (one is still there) and they have had a wonderful experience. The teachers are very caring and go out of their way to provide an environment that promotes learning. This school is very heavy in the arts and my children really liked that.

Daphne Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2003
- a parent
I have a military family and so we move a lot. My daughter has been to 3 different schools all in different states in the past school year and I am proud to say that Daphne is by far the best. The parents are very involved in the childrens academics. The school has fundraising systems in place so that the students don't suffer at all from lack of funding. Overall it is a wonderful, beautiful, and safe environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daphne Elementary School
2307 Main St, Daphne, AL  36526
(251) 626-2424
Last modified Daphne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Daphne Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top