Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daphne High School

Public | 9-12 | 1123 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

Some of the teachers at this school actually care about making this school the best possible learning environment. A few of my teachers will ask me, and other students, our opinions about what should be changed. My response is that for the school to improve the administration needs to change. The administrators can be extremely rude, unprofessional, and blatantly part of the problem. I witnessed one of my administrators laugh at another students handwriting and grammar when he was trying to explain what happened during an altercation. After asking him what it said she took the paper to another staff member and jokingly asked "guess what that says" then when everyone else could not read it she laughed as she read the poorly formed sentence. She was loud enough that the other student could clearly hear her making fun of him. This is the problem at this school. She should not be laughing at what this student can not do but rather be helping him learn how to speak and write correctly. That is what school is for in the first place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2014

I graduated recently from Daphne. And I am glad I have done so. Firstly, let's talk about all of the good things Daphne is. Yes, they are great school to send your children to, the education there is vitally important. I believe that since I was an AP student, I have learned very well from my academics. It bothers me how most of the staff members (teachers) are extremely caring for the children, were the Administration doesn't care too much. The ONLY Principal I have seen who has done their job was the Assistant Principal Mr. Rowe. He honestly deserves to run that school. Dr. Foster, hates when students voice their opinions, yet she tries to get students to express their rights, and grow into great adults. She treats the students like they are "adults" when we were unable to do many things (ie. have a break, which is not entirely their fault). So, in conclusion. This school, if you are looking for a great education, I'd recommend it, if you're looking for a great faculty, I'd recommend it, if you're looking for a sexist/facist Assistant/Principal, this is the school for you.


Posted June 14, 2013

I don't know yet but it sounds like an okay school. I just hope my 11th grader will not have a hard time fitting in and the kids there will be accepting of a newcomer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

It's a good school, good teachers. One thing I do not like is the administration. My daughter's administrator, Mr. Lawless, is very rude and disrespectful. She was in the office sitting down in a chair, legs crossed, and Mr. Lawless comes in, leaves, and later I find out that he'd been saying she looked "whorish". He told another administrator that because she was sitting the way she was he thought she was flirting with him. She is sixteen years old and I'm guessing he's in his mid-thirty's. I talked to the other administrator and it seems he's been saying this about a lot of the other girls that he has to deal with. He asked her if she could just deal with all the gils because he doesn't want to feel "uncomfortable". He disgusts me and I think he's sexist. She comes home crying because she feels she's being treated differently just for being a girl. I do not agree with the uniform policy especially because the principal wears clothes to work like she's going out with the girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

This school is horrible. I moved here halfway through my sophomore year and people aren't very open to new people. The school is dirty, some teachers really do care about the students while others couldn't care less. Overall, it's just a terrible school. I pulled out recently and opted for homeschooling to finish my junior year and senior year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2011

This is the BEST SCHOOL EVER. The atmosphere is great, the people are friendly, the kids are nice.. The principals and teachers are amazing. I definitely recommend this school to any new comers. I promise you child will love it and never want to leave!!! (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2008

No, Daphne High Schoolis not perfect parents. But it is one of the best schools I have ever sent a child. We have seen many many schools and this is far better than most. But if a child does see something that is breaking rules it would be helpful, if they could be outside the box, and talk to someone in autority about it. Unless someone speaks up, nothing else will change and the students should never take the level of excellence of the school for granted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

i do think Daphne High School is an excellent school for teenagers, no reason to send a child to a private school education. Daphne has prepared their children for college and continue high scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I think daphne high school is an outstanding institution. The principal is an incredible leader and the teachers are caring and active in their student's education. I have a 9th grader enrolled at daphne and he has had some problems. His teachers are very helpful and have gone above and beyond what is expected to resolve the issues. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

My youngest son graduated last year and my oldest graduated in 1998 from Daphne also. They may not be perfect but I think it is one of the best high schools in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

I've been attending dhs since 9th grade. I am a senior now and I've noticed that some things could use improvment in the school. Things aren't how I'd like to see them, and I know they are not how parents want to see them. Our test scores are down ,our dropout rste isn't getting any lower,and the disciplinary problems are steadily increasing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

Daphne High is a wonderful school as far as academics and programs and parent involvement are concerned. Outsiders and new comers are very hesitantly accepted due to the small area. Sports and other activities here can and will be very political. I would recommend the school on an acedemic level but not to parents of children who are shall we just say not regulars in the popularity circle. And, I feel that the students lead the teachers more so than the other way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

I am very pleased, from an overall view, with DHS. The school is overly crowded right now, but that will change with the opening of another area school at the beginning of the 2005/2006 school year. DHS has some great teachers and counselors who are willing to work with the students and parents, and who are willing to sponsor more extracurricular activities, but the principal leadership leaves something to be desired. My children are happy at DHS and are doing well. I have a student who graduated from DHS who is now at a private school, out of state, on a full scholarship. The faculty obviously did something right. On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd rank DHS with an 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Overall I think this is an excellent school. Good teachers for the most part, excellent Band program. Yes this school also has problems, facilities in need of work and some drug and alcohol problems, but these are things all schools deal with. I have had one child graduate from here and she got a great education and is doing well in college. I have one currently enrolled and she is very happy here and enjoying the diversity and large student body and the programs available at a large school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Excellent school, so far above others I've had my children in. Caring staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

I am looking to pull my student out. There are too many students to instructor ratio my child is in classes with 25 to 30 other students. The teachers don't care about the students and my child is being left behind. you go and talk to them and they say there are going to do things and they never do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I am looking for a private school to transfer my child to. The racial tensions and substance abuse are out of control. Although the surrounding community is beautiful and much of the school staff is competent and supportive, the environment is not condusive to learning and developing in a safe and tolerate manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

253 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

233 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

249 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
86%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

250 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education81%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty96%

Language

All Students81%
Female89%
Male73%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education19%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education44%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty92%

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female70%
Male76%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education13%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Poverty54%
Non-poverty78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education89%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education37%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty95%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education89%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education63%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education79%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 58%
Black 21% 35%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Meredith Foster Horton
Fax number
  • (251) 626-3024

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9300 . Lawson Rd
Daphne, AL 36526
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 626-8787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spanish Fort High School
Spanish Fort, AL


Bayside Academy
Daphne, AL



Central Christian School
Robertsdale, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT