Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daphne East Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 894 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

We moved to Daphne from So. Cal. and I didn't know what to expect because the reviews were so mixed. I love this school! The classroom sizes are much smaller than in Cali. The curriculum encourages understanding of concepts and not just rote memorization. See the Alabama Math, Science and Technology Initiative website. Also they have enrichment including a very active gifted program, Project Jubilee. The students will be getting Mac computers in Jan. 2014 with Rosetta Stone so they can choose any language they want to study and learn. The grounds are cheerful and clean and the only portable classroom is the art room. There is tremendous community pride in the local schools. What a pleasant surprise from California's apathy. Do no hesitate to send your child here. My 10 yr old loves it and has no trouble making new friends. Everyone has been extremely knid and helpful with our transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Awesome school, Great teachers and staff. My daughter was having problems at a private school in the area and this school really helped her get back on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

I hate to agree with so many of the negative comments.. this school has wonderful potential but unfortunately a majority of the teachers that work here should not deal with kids on a daily basis. I was actively involved with school activities and could see first hand the awful way the children were treated by staff (including rude custodians and office staff). The academics are great but the majority of the teachers are not. Too many older teachers that think yelling and silent lunches are the way to get through to these kids. My kids couldn't wait to get out of there and to be honest the middle school is no better and Daphne high is a joke! If you are looking in this area for a school I have heard wonderful things about Spanish Fort and Fairhope. Knowing what I know now about this school I would have never enrolled my children there! My kids and I will not miss this school! (IF your child has any academic struggles you can forget about any real help unless you are willing to PAY one of the teachers to tutor your child after school!). *Or enroll and hope for one of the good teachers in each grade level! All great K teachers- the only exception but it is downhill from there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I must agree with the others who left critical comments about this school. My son and daughter have both had horrible experiences here. Each year, I try to give the place a chance and hope that they next teacher will be better than last years. When it was announced that a new principal and assistant will be there this year, I decided to give the place a chance again. Unfortunately, he is not strong enough to penetrate the culture of complacency that exists. The teachers are not interested in doing what is best for the children, and he condones their behavior. Each year we have a teacher who yells or is unprofessional. One teacher even ridiculed my son in front of the other students for not having the same shoes as the other boys. There is a clique of parents who live in the same neighborhood. Those are the children who tend to get the best education. There is an incrowd, and if you aren't a part of it your child gets treated poorly. The school is constantly nickel and diming the parents for this or that. There is a new fundraiser each week, and it is not very clear where the money is being spent. This is our last year, my family has decided to put our children in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I have two children that go to Daphne East and have for 5 years now. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences all 5 years. The school has a new principal and vice principal this year and I am thoroughly please with them and the changes they have made. I don't really understand some of the negative reviews seen here. My kids have recieved wonderful educations and are in a positive, loving environment. I would strongly recommend Daphne East!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Not impressed with the teachers or the principal. There seems to be no be love for the children. AND if your child has any sort of learning differeance the resource department is pathetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

This school is horrible. If you are considering buying a home zoned for this school you should change your mind, especially if you have children. The teachers are horrible and my child was bullied by a teacher. The principal and assistant principal need to retire. The teachers put on this act around them and pretend to care about kids, but all they care about is a pay check. The quality of the education your child gets here is average, at best. There are much better schools in neighboring cities. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

I dont really like this school at all.The teachers are always jugdemental about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I think this school is wonderful. All the K5 teachers are incredible and staff are always so happy to help. All the children that we know love it and can't wait to start back every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

I agree the staff snappy and unhelpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I am not too fond of this school. My son went this past year and I am not happy with the staff. They are rude and snappy and seem to be very judgemental. My son is a straight A student, but I still am not pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

Great School! Highly recommend. Both Principal and Teachers are top notch! I have had a positive experience with my children at each grade level! By far best school in this area. Test scores ranked highest in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

This is probably the most horrible school my kids have attended, the teachers are so unprofessional and they take things personal against kids, my child attended this school and the teacher would treat him very different from the other kids in the school. She would single him out every time he made a mistake in front of all the other kids, she would yell at my child in front of everybody just to embarass my kid. She was unprofessional when speaking to me or my wife, When we brought these issues to the principal the teacher would deny and lie as if she never said anything. I would not suggest you enrolling your child in this school, you will be sadly disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

All I have to say about this school is unprofessional. My son attends this school and it has been trouble from the beginning of the school year.We talk to the teacher and the principal and nothing changed.The teacher treat my son so bad .Almost everyday my child would come home upset. I could go on and on telling you about this school. My child hate going to school now. So this is really bothering me as a parent. Everyday my child goes to school I'm worrying about how he's being treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male85%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education43%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male89%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education57%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education85%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education77%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female98%
Male90%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 58%
Black 16% 35%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26651 County Rd 13
Daphne, AL 36526
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 626-1663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bayside Academy
Daphne, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT