Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holtville Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2012

My review is on the Development Program that Holtville currently offers. The program is a wonderful program and you can be assured that your child will learn accordingly. The only bad that I have to report on would be the way that the teachers conduct themselves. They speak about the children's clothing, actions and home life to who ever they want. They also share anything information that you may have a concern about with everyone, even those not related to the school. I have never been to a school where they handle them selves with such a low level of class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The faculty, teachers, and volunteers are wonderful. I hope it will stay that way after Mrs. Crapps leaves this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

We have been at Holtville Elementary since the beginning of the school year. My daughter has Mrs. Kelly who is wonderful. The education is a good one. Weekly communicator folders that include test scores and our child's reading level keep us 100% informed on how our child's education is progressing. I have complete confidence that my child is thriving and learning and safe when I drop her off. The teachers are very organized and really work together as a team to pull off wonderful programs like the Fall Carnival and a new reading program involving in-school-mail. There is a lot of love, hard work, and spirit at this school and it is reflected in the happiness I see in my daughter. Thank you HES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

Moved to this district from out of state. Have had my child at Holtville Elementary for one semester now. The curriculum appears academically sound. Certain elements are disappointing. For example, Music & Art are sacrificed in favor of Phys. Ed., which would lead one to think PE would be a strong program. However, daily PE consists mainly of calisthenics and dodgeball or some variant of dodgeball. (I kid you not!) Sadly, there's no exposure to different sports as part of the Elementary School's PE program. There's a brief focus on passing presidential fitness standards, but then it's back to dodgeball. The teachers at HES are well qualified for the most part, and seem very interested in their students. HES offers an after-school program on site. The school notes that it is a service that's contracted out but hosted at the school. Supervision of this program is weak & lacks discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

I've taught at HES for 19 years as a second grade teacher and believe it's the best place not only to send children for preparation into the future, but it's a great place to work. To work alongside ones best friends is a dream come true~
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2007

We just moved down here from Ohio, and I must say I love Holtville more than any other school back home, they took the time out to actually spend extra time with my children when they needed help, my kids were D,F students in ohio, now they are A,B average. I love Holtville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

For the academic year 2004-2005 we will celebrate the graduation of our second and final son from Holtville High School. Both of our sons began their education with Kindergarten at Holtville Elementary and remained in the Holtville system throughout their school years. Our experience with the principals, teachers and all staff has been very positve. Holtville has helped to reinforce the values and beliefs we have tried to instill in our children and we would highly recommend this school to anyone considering a move into the Holtville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

My oldest child will be graduating this May. She has attended Holtville schools since Kindergarten. My son will be going into the 9th grade this fall and he has attended Holtville schools since Kindergarten. I have been so pleased with the Elementary school. It made a big difference in my childrens outlook at education. They made learning fun and all the classrooms were very structured. Mrs. Crapps is wonderful along with all of her staff and I thank them for making my childrens education worth while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

Holtville Elementary is family oriented and you always feel welcome to visit or just stay a while. The teachers genuine concern for the children is overwhelming to the extent of caring for thier emotional needs as well as academic and intellectual quality. Holtville gets down to business and always reaches out. Thanks Holtville Elementary School and staff! My daughter looks forward to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This our second child at Holtville, we love it.. The teachers are so nice as well as the Principle and vice Principle.. Very great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education80%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education65%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 58%
Black 8% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Kathy Terrell
Fax number
  • (334) 569-1016

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

287 Whatley Rd
Deatsville, AL 36022
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 569-3574

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edgewood Academy
Elmore, AL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT