Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holtville Elementary School 3

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
My review is on the Development Program that Holtville currently offers. The program is a wonderful program and you can be assured that your child will learn accordingly. The only bad that I have to report on would be the way that the teachers conduct themselves. They speak about the children's clothing, actions and home life to who ever they want. They also share anything information that you may have a concern about with everyone, even those not related to the school. I have never been to a school where they handle them selves with such a low level of class.

Holtville Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
The faculty, teachers, and volunteers are wonderful. I hope it will stay that way after Mrs. Crapps leaves this year.


Holtville Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
We have been at Holtville Elementary since the beginning of the school year. My daughter has Mrs. Kelly who is wonderful. The education is a good one. Weekly communicator folders that include test scores and our child's reading level keep us 100% informed on how our child's education is progressing. I have complete confidence that my child is thriving and learning and safe when I drop her off. The teachers are very organized and really work together as a team to pull off wonderful programs like the Fall Carnival and a new reading program involving in-school-mail. There is a lot of love, hard work, and spirit at this school and it is reflected in the happiness I see in my daughter. Thank you HES!

Holtville Elementary School 4

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
Moved to this district from out of state. Have had my child at Holtville Elementary for one semester now. The curriculum appears academically sound. Certain elements are disappointing. For example, Music & Art are sacrificed in favor of Phys. Ed., which would lead one to think PE would be a strong program. However, daily PE consists mainly of calisthenics and dodgeball or some variant of dodgeball. (I kid you not!) Sadly, there's no exposure to different sports as part of the Elementary School's PE program. There's a brief focus on passing presidential fitness standards, but then it's back to dodgeball. The teachers at HES are well qualified for the most part, and seem very interested in their students. HES offers an after-school program on site. The school notes that it is a service that's contracted out but hosted at the school. Supervision of this program is weak & lacks discipline.

Holtville Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2008
- a teacher
I've taught at HES for 19 years as a second grade teacher and believe it's the best place not only to send children for preparation into the future, but it's a great place to work. To work alongside ones best friends is a dream come true~


Holtville Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
We just moved down here from Ohio, and I must say I love Holtville more than any other school back home, they took the time out to actually spend extra time with my children when they needed help, my kids were D,F students in ohio, now they are A,B average. I love Holtville.

Holtville Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2004
- a parent
For the academic year 2004-2005 we will celebrate the graduation of our second and final son from Holtville High School. Both of our sons began their education with Kindergarten at Holtville Elementary and remained in the Holtville system throughout their school years. Our experience with the principals, teachers and all staff has been very positve. Holtville has helped to reinforce the values and beliefs we have tried to instill in our children and we would highly recommend this school to anyone considering a move into the Holtville area.

Holtville Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2004
- a parent
My oldest child will be graduating this May. She has attended Holtville schools since Kindergarten. My son will be going into the 9th grade this fall and he has attended Holtville schools since Kindergarten. I have been so pleased with the Elementary school. It made a big difference in my childrens outlook at education. They made learning fun and all the classrooms were very structured. Mrs. Crapps is wonderful along with all of her staff and I thank them for making my childrens education worth while.


Holtville Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2003
- a parent
Holtville Elementary is family oriented and you always feel welcome to visit or just stay a while. The teachers genuine concern for the children is overwhelming to the extent of caring for thier emotional needs as well as academic and intellectual quality. Holtville gets down to business and always reaches out. Thanks Holtville Elementary School and staff! My daughter looks forward to learning.

Holtville Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
This our second child at Holtville, we love it.. The teachers are so nice as well as the Principle and vice Principle.. Very great school!!

Nearby schools

Holtville Elementary School
287 Whatley Rd, Deatsville, AL  36022
(334) 569-3574
Last modified Holtville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top