Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ann School

Private | PK-8 | 184 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Decatur

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

My son is currently in Mrs. Bello's first grade class at Saint Ann Catholic School. We are very pleased. She is challenging, energetic, and so loving. Best decision we've ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

We like St. Ann School because the teachers are caring; the students are friendly, and everyone is very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

Great parents and teachers, Love that Christianity is part of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Family feel to it, carring, safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

It is a wonderful school!! It helps the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Excellent environment for a child to learn and grow, both mentally and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

St. Ann's provides a safe, caring environment for children. They get a wonderful academic education, great religious/ moral teaching, and lasting relationships that only a close knit school like St. Ann can provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

The 6th graders- great group of kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

They care for the children both from the subject learning viewpoint as well as the spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Wonderful school that is academically challenging and passionately Catholic!


Posted October 13, 2010

thank you for giving the students an excellent catholic education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

St. Ann's provides the best well-rounded Catholic education preparing the students to succeed in life and prepares them for all challenges they may face in the future!!!!


Posted August 31, 2010

My children have attended for the last 13 years. The school in the past has been excellent. They current Principal has run off most of the excellent teachers and the school has continued in a downward spiral. It's a shame that this can happen to a school in a short period of time that has such a rich and long tradition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

My kid has been in the school since kindergarten. The best choice I have ever made. Great teachers, students, parent friendly and my child is loving the learning process every day more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

I love the school. TEachers are devoted,and intelligent. They have a counselor that goes above and beyond. We love her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

We first enrolled our two children when the new campus opened several years ago. We cannot say enough about the quality of education at St. Ann's. Our children are eager to go to school each morning and they love the teachers, staff, and friends there. Also, the tuition is among the most reasonable in the Tennessee Valley for a private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Our daughter loves going to school everyday. St. Ann's is the reason, the staff, students and parents are wonderful. We are non-catholic, but the religious background she is learning is a great foundation for her future church life. We are very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

We have been extremely pleased with our experience at St. Ann's. Our son has Mrs. Ogle as a K5 teacher. She is caring and encouraging to him and others all the time. She is a wonderful asset to the St. Ann's staff. We look forward to having him there in the future. --Andrea Brown
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Saint Ann School provides my children with a wonderful education and a Christian atmosphere. I think the teachers are very caring and hard-working. We wouldn't consider sending our children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

We were extremely disappointed. The academics are lacking as well as discipline. Our experience was not good nor recogninized by adminstration. Many problems are ignored and disreguarded. When paying for the best, our family at least expected little respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 58%
Hispanic 17% 5%
Two or more races 10% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Black 5% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Birmingham
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3910 Spring Avenue Southwest
Decatur, AL 35603
Phone: (256) 353-6543

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT