Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Austin High School 4

Posted August 04, 2010
- a parent
Austin is a wonderful school. The school system is not perfect but please tell me where one is. I have found the teachers, Principals and Administrators to be encouraging and helpful. I have two at Austin one of them is ADHD and my overall response to how they handle him is GOD Bless you. They will work with parents and students when they know what is going on. Because there are so many students at this high school it is important that parents involve the school not wait on the teachers to call us. If more parents did this can you imagine how much it would help our teacher, Principals and Aministrators to best serve our community and school system.

Austin High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
I honestly believe Austin High is one of the best High schools in Decatur and the school could really use the money to make things a lot better for us students. We love our school and would appriciate help.


Austin High School 5

Posted December 20, 2008
- a community member
I recently graduated from Austin this year and I must say I absolutely loved it. My freshmen and sophomore years were a little rough only because I still had the mind of a middle schooler. I finally matured my 2nd semester of 10th grade and enjoyed my last years there to the fullest. The school may have a large enrollment but you already know most of your classmates upon starting. It's a big school with a small school feel. The teachers have no problems in giving one-on-one tutoring. The IB and AP programs are very helpful to those seeking a higher education. The list of clubs and organizations is as long as the eye can see. The sports program is incredible. Almost every student is in some sport. I give Austin High School 2 Thumbs Up for any parents who are wondering.

Austin High School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a student
I recently graduated from Austin High School and would have to say that this is the high school you want to choose if you are trying to decide on what side of town you want to live in. The counselors are wonderful and got to know us on a one-on-one basis, this was very helpful when preparing for college!! The IB, AP, and Honors classes helped me to train myself for higher education. I learned to manage my time and work around a study schedule. There are various extra-cirricular activities that range from Marching Band, Chorus, Health Occupations, Yearbook Staff, Photography, Golf, there is definitely something for every student. Austin High School is dignified, classy, and well known throughout the State. Austin focuses on the Performing Arts, as well as Vocational skills that better prepare individuals

Austin High School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
I have one child at Austin and one child who is a graduate. My college age daughter attends a top 25 university out of state. She was very prepared academically for college. Both of my children have had good experiences in Decatur City schools. The English department is especially strong at Austin. Your children may hate some of the English teachers while they are here but will sing their praises when they go onto higher education!


Austin High School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a student
As a former student of Austin High School, I can honestly say that I was thoroughly prepared for higher levels of education. I was given the opportunity to develop the characteristics that allowed me to excel in college, and now in the work force! During my first year of college my classmates and I were required to write several essays and papers, and all of my classmates brought their papers to me to review! I attribute this to the education that I received at Austin! Yes, Austin does have a large number of students when compared to other schools in the region, but the administration is FULLY capable of taking care of each and every student. I wholeheartedly give Austin my full support and recommendation!

Austin High School 5

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
I am currently a student at Austin High School and i love it. It is a great school filled with many great teachers. There is more school spirit and pride in this school than anywhere in north Alabama. There are classes for everyone and many extra activities to participate in. I would never dream of going anywhere else! I would definitely reccomend Austin! Go Bears!

Austin High School 2

Posted November 15, 2007
- a parent
My son is a freshman now and he has classes with a ratio of 30:1. The administration and teachers have no idea what is going on with students. It is too overcrowded. I would not recommend this school to anyone. I feel the other high schools in North Alabama have a lower student body population, and excellent sports programs.


Austin High School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
Administration & teachers care about the students and their academic progress. Academic program has served my children well as they have gone onto higher learning institutions.

Austin High School 4

Posted May 22, 2006
- a student
Great school overall. Provides a variety of extracurricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Austin High School
1625 Danville Rd SW, Decatur, AL  35601
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (256) 552-3060
Last modified Austin High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top