Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerville Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2013

We moved here 4 years ago.We had left a wonderful school system ,I was worried that my boys would have a hard time with school.Somerville Road Elementary was and is still the best elementary school.I love everything about the school.Teachers are wonderful..Any one moving to the area would love Somerville Road as we do .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

My autistic child attended Pre-K at Somerville Rd prior to entering Kindergarten at the elementary school that we're zoned for. I say with great pleasure that when his K teacher showed me the syllabus for his 1st semester of grade K, that my son was already able to do far above what she'd be teaching! This is a testament to the dedication of not us, although we've worked daily w/ him since age 2 on academics, but to his teacher at Somerville Rd. He's autistic, and that does play a role in him being able to recite every key of a keyboard (in order), but w/o the fortitude of a rock soid teacher, he wouldn't be where he is today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

I have several children that attend school at Somerville Rd. They have been attending for 2 years now. I do believe that they attempt to do the best job possible with what is available to them but seem to fall short. The new principal is great....very accessible. In spite of the few flaws I think overall this is a good school and I believe the staff really does care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

As a parent of a special needs child, my 'review' centers on the Special Education Program for Sommerville Road Elementary and involvement with the Administration. The Pre-K program was wonderful and the teachers and schools went to great lengths and beyond for my child. Items were purchased, even outside of the norm, to facilitate our needs. We were in constant contact on progress. But be careful when your child is moved 'into the system' by entering kindergarden. Our child was basically not given anything more than an ill-managed daycare would provide and what little information on progress was given was fought for tooth-and-nail. The school has no policy to go beyond the exact definitions of what is required to receive their 'No Child Left Behind' funding. If you decide the school is not in the best interest of your family you will have a long fight to have your school changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

I am a sub teacher. I must say, of all the schools I've had the privilege of working at, Somerville Road is thus far one of my favorites. The love and dedication the faculty shows to these students is outstanding! I've witnessed on numerous occasions hugs, high fives, soft words of encouragements, coats from the coat closet for those who didn't have, ect..... Teachers and staff, please continue to keep up the good work. You're doing a marvelous job considering the diverse group of wonderful students you have. As a parent and part time educator, I'd like to say thank you for all that you do for your students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2005

The office staff isnt as friendly as other schools and often do not greet me there are some very kind teachers and the principal is nice but i believe parental involvement is a little low because maybe they dont feel very welcome when they visit the school. I know im not as eager to attend activities because of not so friendly encounters that i expierienced and i always treat others as i would want to be treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

This school gets a bad rap because of low standardized test scores. What people forget is that the student population is, as the previous reviewer indicated, diverse and and includes segments not intended to test well on standard tests. Somerville has some of the most dedicated and talented staff all the way from teaching to janitorial (especially Ms. Flor!God Bless You!) Somerville Road should be congradulated for outstanding success in adversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

I think this is a great school! everyone is so caring! my child is in pre-k and she loves it! she can not wait til school next year! thank you so much to everyone!you all are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2004

My child has benefitted from the high level of dedication on the part of everyone in the school building, from the custodians and cafeteria workers all the way to the principal. With such a challenging population (medically fragile, over 30% non-English speakers, emotionally disturbed, etc.), it would be easy to throw in the towel and give up. Instead, everyone sees these dynamics as a challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty85%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population85%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty75%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female95%
Male85%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty89%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male74%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty80%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male79%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty78%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male74%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education18%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty72%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
20%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students55%
Female68%
Male46%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White52%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education18%
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Poverty53%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 58%
Hispanic 31% 5%
Black 29% 34%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Danna Benefield Jones
Fax number
  • (256) 552-4692

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 Somerville Rd SE
Decatur, AL 35601
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 552-3033

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Long Term Case
Decatur, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT