Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frances Nungester Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 338 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2012

I love this school! The teachers love their jobs they are like family and take such pride in what they do,going beyond their call of duty!! I take my hat off to ALL THE Staff @ FRANCES NUNGESTER ELEMENTARY SCHOOL!!! Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Love this school! Great teachers, staff, and administration! Don't let someone else perception sway you - go in and visit, meet the people, get involved, and pay attention and you will see for yourself that this school is wonderful! My son started kinder last year and I was hesitant - but I visited the school often, met the teachers, staff, and principal and love them! My daughter started PreK this year at FNES and she loves it! Test scores are up, higher than some of the better rated schools in the district! Get involved, parent involvement is a little low, but growing -- can only make this place a better place to be -- give it a chance, you might just love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

All employess @ Frances Nungester Elementary love educating all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

Well my son has ben going to this school, and he is realy doing great, we move to st louisand they use to say that my son has some problem, but at this school he do not have any. so maybe you parent needs to seat back and take a good look at youself and quit depending on teachers to do you job for you. so I rate you as fellow 5 star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

My son went to Frances Nungester for one year & one year only. We literally moved to a neighboring town (Hartselle) just to get our children out of Decatur's school system. Discipline problems run rampant & teachers have completely de-tached themselves from teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

My child is the only one of his race in his class. Due to racial cultural differences, my child feels alienated, depressed and withdrawn, which is being misconstrued as my child's being 'off-task.' I'm not a racist, but believe that parents should take into consideration the classroom racial mix of students that they are placing their child in when they are enrolling their child into a school. If the racial/cultural students don't number at least 10% or better of their race, then the child may be unable to identify with cultural differences which culminates into being accepted and having a feeling of belonging to their peer group. A successful learning environment is all about balance. In our situation, an overwhelming unbalance of racial culture is having an extremely negative effect on our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

The students are behind in the education that they recieve at this school as compared to other schools in the area... I was really disapointed when we move to this school. The teachers and principal are fine it is the education that stinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

Frances Nungester has recently gone downhill as far as discipline is concerned. The principle says dicipline is not her responsibility it is the teachers and they should handle it. I could go on but you get the idea. My child is not getting the education he needs. I love the teachers but some things are out of their hands and they can't change the way things are done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

We have wonderful teachers and principal at our school, although not much parental involvement. We could use more funding and activities for the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male86%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male86%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female100%
Male89%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female91%
Male96%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 34%
White 26% 58%
Hispanic 23% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Cheryl A Bowman
Fax number
  • (256) 552-4658

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

726 Tammy St SW
Decatur, AL 35603
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 552-3079

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Ann School
Decatur, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT