Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Girard Middle School

Public | 6-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

My experience had been that this school was working hard to make academic progress. According to the PARCA report given annually this had been the case until a change in leadership.This school has a new principal who carries a paddle around and beats it on desks to get the students to listen. He also is rude to his teachers and raises his voice to them in an unprofessional manner. Many of the teachers have left the system or transferred to other schools.


Posted February 8, 2013

This school is an okay school but since all the new teachers and stuff came in its been getting worse... if you send your child here he will love the memories ...Well until he gets to 8th grade XD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Girard isn't bad. Discipline begins at home. Most of the children that attend this school come to learn and get educated and there are those that only come to socialize and interrupt the learning process and there are places for these children. The principal is caring and goes Above and beyond for his students and faculty. Parents should be more involved and follow up on what is going on at the school. A great tool to use is Parent Portal or just call the school and request a conference 334-794-1426. I have a daughter that attended Girard grades 6-8 and is doing great. She is getting ready to graduate from North view. I have a daughter that attend Girard now and is wonderful but sometimes makes bad choices as at some point we all have and have to get focused and back on track. The teaches that teach my girls are absolutely wonderful. I haven't encountered a bad teacher at Girard . The counselors are great. The children have a choice they have access to more teachers, tools, counselors, education then ever before. Parents and students should be involved with all the educational opportunities. Math competitions. There are so many good things about this school. God Bless GMS! FM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Girard is the best. I am in the 6th grade and love it. I am really glad that i didn't go to Carver. I am not going to say that some of the student's don't misbehave ,but still overall Girard is not bad. The students get a choice of which exploratory they want computer,band,choir,or art. I picked band and play Alto Saxophone and our band/choir teacher is the best.(!!!!) Some teachers are really strict but some are pushovers. :( Our principal is awesome. The assistant principal and the girls assistant coach are okay. There are many more great things i can name about my school but i won't b/c by reading these few sentences you can tell Girard is the place to be!!!


Posted March 11, 2010

I can't beleive school borad and parents of Girard. My son has 2 children at Girard in the 6th grade. All of the teachers there are the worst. They have no interest in the children only a pay check. School board please do something about Girard. Years ago it was a good school why have you the school broard let this school go down. Please get some good caring teachers at Girard. Get new teachers. Parents please voice your concerns about these teaches. Make Girard a good school again. Take some lessons from Kelly Springs. Get teaches like Kelly Springs has. They help the children and they care about them.


Posted July 22, 2008

The teachers are amazing. The food is okay... Then again its cafeteria food. Overall i am so happy there and would no possible chance of me changing schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I have been very disappointed with Girard Middle School for the 07-08 school year. I recieved poor teacher communication, I feel my child learned very little this year. He wont be going back, we've decided to move him out of that school. I also find it very strange that in the neighborhood where this school is located, the parents do not send their children to this school......Why is that ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

The principal and teachers are wonderful. The school and grounds are immaculate. The level of discipline is very strict, with lots of rules, and a dress code that is strictly enforced, but it results in what i feel is an incredibly safe environment. The only improvement i could suggest would be to get the tests graded in a timely manner and return the grades to the students so that they would have a better idea of their performance/standing ( if a student needs to bring their grades up, the last minute is not the time to realize it.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

I feel it is run in a backwards way. I remember things being this way 40 some years ago. The teachers could do a much better job of communicating with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I love my school! I am a 7th grader here at Girard Middle. There are many things for the students to be involved in. We have LINK which is Talent Pool, Un team, acadmeic team, and student goverment association which I belong to every one!! besides that we have office aides, lunchroom aides, basketball team, volleyball team team, cheerleading team, and much more! I feel so welcome here! There are black, white, hispanic, chinese, you name it! This school is a melting pot! I absolutley love it! It is awesome and everry child my age should have a chance to go to a school, at one point in thier life as so very awesome, welcoming, and F-U-N as this school! It is a great learning environment, the teachers are great, we have a wonderful bunch of students and just by stepping in the hallways for 5 minutes you will know what I mean!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male62%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education30%
General population71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Poverty63%
Not poverty67%

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education60%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Poverty77%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female62%
Male68%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible55%
Special education47%
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Poverty64%
Not poverty72%

Reading

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education48%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty83%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male66%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Poverty70%
Not poverty71%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education39%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty77%
Not poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students67%
Female61%
Male72%
Black59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education41%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Poverty66%
Not poverty72%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 34%
White 20% 58%
Hispanic 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Greg W Yance
Fax number
  • (334) 794-6373

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Girard Ave
Dothan, AL 36303
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 794-1426

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Houston Academy
Dothan, AL




P.A.S.S. Academy
Dothan, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT