Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coppinville School

Public | 7 | 589 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

This is the ONLY 7th grade school for the town of Enterprise and the facilities are horrible. This was a segregation school and is now JUST a school for all of the 7th grade and is overly crowded. The school district built an amazing High school building (for 10th-12th grades leaving out yhe 9th grade) but apparently spent the rest of the money on the football field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

Excellent staff & administration! Wish some of the other schools in the system would mirror this administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

One came over here to EPA and caused some problems. Do not send your bad child to the private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer in regards to violence, the lack of respect among peers, the lack of control and just the lack of caring for the most part. The nurse at the school, however, I give credit for taking care of my daughter on several occasions. The school is too small for the volume of students and I would encourage the city to explore other options than putting ALL 7th graders from Enterprise and some from FT. Rucker in ONE school. If I had to do this year again, I would NOT send my daughter to Coppinville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

We are a military family that moved to Alabama last year from Alaska, where both of my children were honor roll students in the public school system there. My son attended Copinville this year, and has almost lost all respect and confidence in his educators. Put aside the fact that the school is located in a very poor socioeconomic neighborhood with a high crime rate, and the facility itself is old and in disrepair. Disregard the fact that security in the school is almost nonexistant. I know this because I walked through the front doors and wandered the halls for nearly an hour before being confronted by a faculty member. The school has a bad gang and drug problem, and mind you these are 7th graders. Violence between students plagues the school and often ends in police envolvement. A few of the teachers with "seniority" have completely lost touch with why they became teachers and now just lose their credibility with their pupils and parents. In one year my son has gone from admiring and respecting teachers, to all but lose total confidence and respect for them. Thank God it's only a one year school. Please exaust all possible options before subjecting your child to this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

Our child went here, last year. She's a great student & got A's all year, but couldn't wait for school to end! There were fights just about every week (usually girls) with injuries & police intervention more than once--teachers were not always quick to break up fights. Our biggest issue, was with a few of her teachers, specifically her science, math and technology teachers. I've never seen such unprofessionalism! Teachers are there to TEACH and facilitate learning, not mock/ridicule/humiliate students in front of the class (there's enough of that amongst their peers without teachers adding to it!), tell stories mocking obese people, complain about how bad their childhood was or how bad the students are or have been in the past, tell students how to correctly slash their wrists, remind students they were struck by lightning 4 times, sit at their desks & play computer games, simply read a fill-in-the-blank paper & call it teaching. Unreal! How can one expect students to be respectful, when teachers aren't?! Discipline in science class was minimal, while disruptions from a few students was constant. Kudos to the principal & 3 teachers our child had that acted like teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

This school has been one of the worst schools I have ever dealt with. From not having enough books for each student to lazy teachers. If students do not have books to bring home and study for tests, a quiz, or just to do general homework then something should be provided in its place. We are a military family and this is my third child so I have dealt with many other schools in different states, and this by far is the absolute worst. If I could I would do what other military parents have done and pull my child from this school and home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

I would give this school zero star rating if possible. There are a number of issues with this school. Safety is not a priority here. My child was made to sit on the floor of the bus due to overcrowding. There are daily fights and the school doors are wide open for anyone to walk in. It is acceptable for teachers to be late, to not teach, to take cell phone calls, and text in class. It is acceptable for teachers to not help students if they are busy on the computer. My child has a teacher that teaches one day a week and has the students take notes from the book the rest of the days. The administration in less then competent on issues that I have brought before them and defensive rather then helpful. My child has been harmed emotionally at this school. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

II had only heard negative comments about this school. But, it's the only 7th grade school in the area, how can the attendees be troublemakers every year? What I have learned is the children who were disciplinary problems in elementary school, will continue to be problems. Principal Seals is an awesome person during a phenomenal job. Ms. Jessie, the school counselor, is what a counselor should be, unbiased, compassionate, fair, and decisive. If a parent has an issue, she should be their first contact. The teachers and some of the support staff have taken on the "whatever" attitude of some of the 7th graders. Very few teachers attend school events, such as the girls & boys basketball games. Some of the teachers don t appear to put in an extra effort to help students achievement beyond what is expected. The Assist. Principal needs to step up too. They all could learn to smile more. The school itself is old and dirty. There may be more than one housekeeping person, but the only one I ever see is Mr. Edwards. It s unacceptable to think he can keep that building immaculate by himself; with one person it s going to get as clean as it going to get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

My son attends Coppinville & the only reason he is still there is we cannot afford private school & ther eare no other options in Enterprise. We move here last year at the end of his 6th grade year. Prior to attending Coppinvill he had only received 1 B in his life & that was on a homework assignment. He was invited to The National YOung Scholars conference in 4th, 5th & 6th grades & the National Leadership conference in Washington D.C. in 5th & 6th grades. Since starting Coppinville we have struggled to keep him with C's or better. My children have never attended a school that is so impersonal. If you wish to discuss something you have to E-mail the teachers & wait for a response. There are fights almost daily. The school itself is dirty, the bathrooms are disgusting & the overall appearance is just horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

this school has a very poor learning scale! the location of this school is in a bad nieborhood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

My child attended coppinville this school year, and it was a challenge at first,but with constant communication and checking up on my child she was able to complete her year without any major complications.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I think this school is great and the falcuty is just wonderful. I like that the principal will take the time to speak with you about any matter concerning your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My child just finished Coppinville this year. Overall this is a wonderful school. Having every 7th grader in the city in one school presents its own challenges. Some of these students were very tough and frightening; however the Principal and Assistant Principal did an outstanding job of maintaining discipline and trying to keep a safe learning environment. My sons teachers were knowledgeable, and able to motivate my child. The schools advanced math, and social studies curriculum is good. I would have liked an advanced science class. Most of my childs teachers posted homework on the website and kept homework up to date on the telephone hotline. This was excellent to let me monitor assignments. There was a good selection of clubs that met once a month. Parent involvement was not discouraged. Official parent days were scheduled a couple of times each semester to watch the student activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

The education my child is getting is disppointingly average, Alabama schools are known to be some of the worst. There needs to be sweeping reform in the Enterprise school system. They are archaic in so many ways and seem to ignore the fact that children are individuals who need inspiration. I would challenge the staff to actually challenge themselves. What can you do today to inspire a child to LOVE learning?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I find the school lacking in educational diversity. If your child is average the school is great. If your child has areas that they have excel in, the school is archaic. We move a lot and he took advance classes last year in a middle school. Here they offer only two advance classes, pre-algebra and advance social studies. He took pre-algebra last year, so the only choice was to take pre-algebra again. With over 500 students, they should be able to keep up with the needs of bright students. Also, there is only one level of band - beginner. There are clubs (no chess) but they meet during school once a month. My son has an IEP and the school would not review it because of his IQ and grades. There no gifted/accelerated program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

I was pleased with the year my children spent at Coppinville. It is a unique situation with only seventh graders at the school. This seemed to me to take some of the pressure off of my children. I found the staff very helpful and thought that some of the teachers who had 'been there forever' were actually some of the best in the school and favorites of my kids for both their enthusiasm and knowledge. Both of my children did very well academically and their SAT scores were excellent. The school report card issued from the state gave the school an overall A-, I believe. There was an open house at the beginning of the year, a Parent Visitation Day, a day in the fall set up for conferences and PTO meetings. All the faculty has email addresses and I was able to communicate with indidual teachers easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

I have had two children attend this school. The new principal is much better, but the teaching staff is not the best. There are too many teachers who have been there forever and seem to be tired of teaching. The math program is particularly lacking in quality instruction, and the only extracurricular activity is basketball. On a positive note, they do not seem to have many discipline issues. However, they do paddle the students for misbehaving which I find archaic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

I have had two children go through Coppinville Junior High School. I have been very pleased with the curriculum, the teachers, and the opportunities. The school offers band, technology, choral music, art and home economics. There is an extra-curricular basketball program. They also offer advanced placement in both math and social studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

I was very pleased with this school. The principal (new in 2002-03) was excellent. The guidance counselor and office staff were very friendly and helpful. I found the teachers to be competent and concerned with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education26%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty70%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible97%
Special education35%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty88%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education24%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty77%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 58%
Black 24% 34%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 South Ouida
Enterprise, AL 36330
Phone: (334) 347-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dauphin Jr High School
Enterprise, AL



Pathway Inc
Enterprise, AL


Daleville High School
Daleville, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT