Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Enterprise High School

Public | 10-12 | 1476 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

This school system has a lot of resources, but they don't use them very well. They have a lot of misplaced pride. If you have a special needs student, just save yourself time and hire a lawyer from the start. Getting services out of this system is like trying to mine diamonds from dried playdoh. The only thing this system has going for it are the teachers. Too bad they are too busy playing politics and not enough time utilizing the full potential of their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I would give it no stars if I could. My son has been in several different schools due to the Military. And this one is the worst by far. The staff is not helpful and he hates going to school everyday. I could go on and on but it's not worth it. He will be out of there soon.Thank god.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My son entered EHS in the 11th grade. He had been in the Enterprise School System for grades 4-7 and moved to nearby New Brockton for 8-10. When we moved back to Enterprise, we were very happy to have him enter EHS. EHS is a very modern facility. There are still a few dinosaurs (teachers) that wander the halls, but overall the GOOD outweighs the bad. Overall - the school has STRONG leadership and GREAT academic programs. Some of the teachers need to leave or retire. Those that need to leave would fit in well with a few of the surrounding schools that don't have strong ANYTHING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Enterprise High School has all the things greatschool.org requires for a great school. In the 3 years I attended school there, I had many excellent teachers. The school's head principal thinks of the students as his children, and he does his best to make the school a wonderful place to learn. As for challenging academic programs, EHS offers many AP and advanced courses for the students willing to push themselves. All together, I don't think I could have asked for a better high school education. I was leaps and bounds more prepared for college courses than some of my college classmates, and I had completed almost a full year of college credit while at EHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2011

Impressive school system. Beautiful campus too. Friendly teachers and staff. I have been very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Enterprise is amazing. All the teachers care about every student. They aren't just there for money, they stay well afterschool to help you. Learning comes first, all teachers are prepared and standards are really high. We have great morals and the bully rate is extremley low, for no current high school, EHS is far above the best. We support everyone, Military Kids are a huge part of our school, More than the Majority of them say that EHS is one of the best schools they've been to. So if you are moving to enterprise or near and are looking into this school, don't hesitate i assure you that you/ your child will love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

Wow, i am a military kid, i've been to many schools. This is by far the best, we don't even have a actual building yet [[due to a tornado]] but we still exceed in acadimics and activities. The support and love in this school is so high. I love it,and i dread the day highschool ends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

Im currently attenting it. The people are amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

EHS is a great school system. As with any other school system there are good and bad teachers. The principals and counselors are excellent. In recent months the administration and most of the teachers have shown their strength and courage. Way nto go Wild Cats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I graduated from this school in 2005 and I hope when my son gets to high school the morals and values of the teachers will be the same with same teaching atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I have never been more pleased. One of my girls just graduated and the other will be a junior. I think you will always encounter personality conflicts, however, the assistant principal, Mr. Graves, is wonderful as well as the counselors. One of the best teachers we have ever had the pleasure of educating our children is Mrs. Steger. A true gem! I would also like to comment that due to the love and support of this faculty our children survived the devastating effects of the Tornado that destroyed our high school on 1 March 2007. Yes, we lost 8 beautiful students but they also saved and protected (some risking their own lives) over 1000! We will forever be indebted to the staff at Enterprise High! Go Wildcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

Enterprise High School is a very good school. However there are only a handful of good teachers who actually care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2006

I graduated from EHS in 2001 and as an Army brat, I can tell you, EHS is one of the best schools I've ever been to. The teachers care about the students and there are so many excellent extracurricular activities to choose from. award-winning extracuricular activities such as Band, Choral music program and JROTC. EHS excels above many of the local schools. This school is supportive to military dependents and their families too. Like the previous post says, all schools have their problems, but I can honestly say, going to high school at EHS is one of my best memories.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 28, 2006

I attended EHS from 1998-2001, and I absolutely loved my time spent there. All of the teachers have high expectations of their students. The choral music department is excellent, and there are several extracurricular activities to choose from. I am a teacher in Georgia, and I know how important parental involevement is. There is a high level at EHS. If anyone reading this review is considering a move to Enterprise, AL, you can be assured that this is a top-notch institution.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2006

First of all i want to say that the people who posted in August and December 2005 don't know what they're talking about. i noticed they both wrote about supposed 'hush-hush policy' or 'hush-ups' but failed to mention an example. I was a student there three years and was very surprised to read that because i never heard anything like that happening. Enterprise High School has a great reputation for academics as it was listed one of the top hundred high schools in the country a few years ago which is saying a lot considering Alabama's poor reputation for education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2006

I was a student at Enterprise High School, graduating in 1998. I now teach in a school system in north Alabama. From my experience here, I can tell you that EHS may have flaws (as EVERY school will, because it is run by humans) but the experiences and the options available to students at EHS are far superior to those at many other schools. EHS offers courses that actually teach students something, instead of simply offering what is required of the state. I am so convinced that EHS is a great school that I hope to move back to the area by the time my sons start school, to ensure they receive the same quality education!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 6, 2005

Two years experience with this school I can say I have been continuously disappointed. Thriving on a military community I feel the school lacks total support for military families and their dependents. Many things are 'hidden' from view, hush-hush policy and very much a 'buddy-system' within the admin. A name goes a long way if you are lucky enough. Money definitely talks here. Athletics are strong and there are many extra-curriculars to choose from but the atmosphere given is not one of 'students come first'. Would not be my first choice if given one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Well, I am not a parent, but a student. I am a senior this year and I can't wait to escape. Not that I hate school. I love learning don't get me wrong. But a lot of hush ups happen here. Unless you get attatched to a teacher by butt kissing or by throwing money around while the principals and teachers frantically scramble for it, you're pretty much an outcast in classes. Some teachers such as Mrs. Wingate and Senora Covington (from the teachers I had) don't mind creative points of views and interruptions as long as everyone has fun and learns. I learned more from them than any teacher who keeps strictly to the lesson plan with no breaks. Bullying is overlooked as well as favoritism and dress code violations by wealthy children. I can't wait for college where academics is the major concern. One more year! -Elizabeth
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2005

This school system neither requires special ed students to pass the GED nor do they offer GED testing. The parent complaining about his/her child having to take the GED has either misspoken or was misleading in his/her comment. I am not just defending the system because I teach in it (at the high school, to be exact), but because the information in the review is incorrect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2005

I am a 2004 graduate of Enterprise High School. There is not a better school system to have attended and graduated from. I graduated with honors and found it easy to get envolved with extracurricular activites.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

462 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

462 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

32 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

416 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty98%

Language

All Students84%
Female90%
Male77%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education14%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty91%

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education45%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education45%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special education41%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty66%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible97%
Special education80%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education34%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty96%

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education52%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible90%
Special education61%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education48%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 58%
Black 25% 35%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 East Watts St
Enterprise, AL 36330
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 347-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pathway
New Brockton, AL


New Brockton High School
New Brockton, AL


Daleville High School
Daleville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT