Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rucker Boulevard Elementary School

Public | 1-6 | 332 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, November 17, 2014

The principle at the school is not someone who cares about children or the parents of the children.Her distain and condescending attitude towards parents and children at this school is atrocious.She llacks the knowledge to identify behavior in children that could be associated with a behavioral disorder. She continually used corporal punishment to disipline a child known to have ADHD as if you could paddle the ADHD out of the kid. Iinstead of addressing that this child had ADHD she worked with the child's noncustodial parent to get the child removed from the home of his primary parent based on the behavior the child was displaying due to his ADHD. Never did She hold a conference with the child's mother to discuss that the child should be referred to a behavioral health professional.She continued to give referrals and suspensions to a child who has nearly no control over his behavior.Suspension for the child was given without the primary custodial parent's concent or knowledge.This is not a school you want your child to attend if they have any behavior health issues or disability. If so, you will be considered and bad parent and may have your children taken away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2014

Rucker Blvd is everything that I hoped my children's school could be and more! I seriously love this school. The environment is safe, clean, fun, and of course educational. The teachers are outstanding, and they really, truly care about the well-being and success of my children. The only con that I can think of is that there is no gym, but that's really no big deal as that just means more outside time for the kids. There have been huge and outstanding improvements under the new principal, and with her in the lead I can easily see a new gym in the near future. The principal is outstanding and very down to earth. One of my children has extra behavioral needs that have cause some serious friction in past schools. But the current principal actually listens and focuses on the needs of the children and not just what's on paper. The building and grounds have also been greatly improved. My kids love RBE and it's safe to say that we consider ourselves a part of the RBE FAMILY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

My son loves going to school at Rucker Blvd Elementary. The principal has done great things since "taking office" in 2011. She is kind and understands the unique needs of military students. I've enjoyed open lines of communication both from office staff and my child's teachers. I appreciate that he is engaged in an active learning environment and encouraged to always do his best. I believe the small school size and low student - teacher ratio also make a difference. It may not be the newest or prettiest elementary school in Enterprise, but it IS the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I recently visited the school to volunteer in my child's classroom. We were constantly interupted by the principal making announcements. When asked how frequently this happens I was told way to often not to mention it was hard to understand what she was saying. There are other ways to get announcements out such as email or newsletters that do not interupt the child's learning. We accomplished half of what could have been accomplished. I am becoming more impressed by the teachers daily. They are working hard and really push the kids to the limits. On the other hand the way the principal runs things don't get me excited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I have been very pleased with Rucker Blvd. My daughter has been challenged, not just given A's to appease the parents. I love the teachers and they have been wonderful communicating with me and putting up with my never ending concerns. We are planning to move to a new home in the next year and I am hoping to find a place to build where I can stay at this school. I would recommend this school. We have been here since 1st grade now in 4th. It has had it's bumps but you can't expect everything in life to be sugar coated. I would like to comment on the review about safety being number one. What is more important to you as a parent YOUR child being SAFE and in good hands or SMART??? Kind of a no brainer to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

This school is among one of the best in Enterprise. Yes, our students to have to stay in for PE a lot but it is due to the high temperatures. There is no gym so the PE teachers do the best they can by providing exerise videos and having the students participate using the videos while inside. As for the schools cleanliness...other principals have brought custodians to RBE to see 'what a clean school looks like'. The school is currently under construction so things may seem out of sorts. Yes...safety is of great concern at RBE. Without your children feeling safe, no education will take place!!! As for the words of the principal...I was at the meeting and the below review took the words out of context.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2008

I love this school. First off, I would like to say,with all the craziness of the world today, I appreciate the concern for the safety of my children by school faculty and staff. Second, there is no gym. When the weather is very hot or raining they stay inside. Yes, there is a large TV but they put on exercise videos and the kids have to paricipate. I see nothing wrong with that. I always feel welcome everytime I step in the building. Teachers have been great to my children and I thank them for that everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I have been disappointed with the school. I have been trying to get good communication going with the school but it seems as though I keep getting put off. I am going to give it a little longer then I will make my decision. I agree that the school seems to just ignore the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Love this school! A lot of one on one interactions with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Hello, I have 2 children that go to Rucker Blvd, they have been there since they started school. There are some great teachers at Rucker Blvd, Mrs Caskey, Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Slaughter, Mrs. Oliver, Mrs. Rhodes, and Mrs. Christy Hixson these are ladies that care about the kids in there class and make sure that you are always informed. I can say this because theses are the teachers that my children have had. I will say to any parent if you want to be informed let it be known in the beginning and don't back down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

My son has been going here for almost three years now. We love them! The teachers and other staff are so friendly and approachable. I also enjoy volunteering as much as possible in this wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

This school is great and the teachers are good. I do have to agree with the person above. We need more newer technology in this school, along with more art and drama activities. Chiildren need to learn through being invovled
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

My son has attended Rucker Blvd two going on three years now. I have always been impressed with his teachers and their dedication to him. I am concerned with the lack of computer training and art programs and overall test scores for the school. My son has always been above average and frankly the average SAT test scores for the remainder of the school have me concerned. I highly recommend this school, its teachers, and Ms. Dubose (Principal)despite that. They are truly dedicated to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female86%
Male98%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty90%
Not poverty96%

Reading

All Students91%
Female86%
Male95%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty90%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female77%
Male86%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty73%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty89%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty92%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty87%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty82%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White3%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty96%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty76%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 34%
White 39% 58%
Hispanic 16% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheree Hardrick
Fax number
  • (334) 347-0610

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Regency Dr
Enterprise, AL 36330
Phone: (334) 347-3535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT