Advertisement
Advertisement

Bayshore Christian School

Private | K-6 | 123 students

We are best known for classical Christian education.

 
 

Living in Fairhope

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $691.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2013

This school is wonderful. The classical approach is great. Students are very challenged, and work above grade level. We love that Latin is taught here starting in 3rd grade. The school is a loving, Christ-like environment, but they also teach the kids to respect authority. Christ-centered school, character is imbedded daily. Chapel time is amazing. This is a real Christian school through and through and will foster a love for the Lord and learning. Staff are wonderful, loving and really care about the kids. The small class size is wonderful, our child gets plenty of one on one. Can't say enough good about it. It is a throwback in a very good way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

We love BCS and the Classical approach to education. The curriculum is challenging and works in harmony with the way children learn. The teachers are caring and well trained. We are thrilled that the school is moving into high school and will graduate the first class in 2016. I feel sad that I did not get the benefits of an education such as this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

This is a real find in Baldwin County. We love this school!! God's hand in clearly manning the tiller as we sail along. It's great to see how the classical education works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

This school is a real gem. If you do not have experience with the classical education model, you should check this school out for yourself. Our kids are thriving. A family atmosphere permeates the students, parents and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

We love BCS!! The school is challenging, has great leadership and great teachers who love the Lord and love children. Best thing is the small family-like environment. The school is growing and a high school is planned. Students learn Latin starting in 3rd grade, small classes, open-door policy to the leadership, great art program. Would love to see more athletics. All around well worth the tuition. Love the classical Christian approach to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

We were so pleased to find Bayshore. The classical christian approach to education is challenging and our child has thrived there. He loves learning and retains so much of what he learns. We were very proud of the 5th grade Science Club for winning 2nd in the county Coastal Kids Science Quiz this year. I love the approach to history as well. It is studied chronologically through the grades. Makes more sense and is very interesting. Like a story unfolding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

We were pleased to 'discover' Bayshore Christian School. Our kids have thrived here, and we feel they are safe and well cared for. The funny thing is, our kids love it, even thought it is challenging. School was never like that for me. We do have one concern: the principal, who was excellent, is leaving after 07-08 school year. We hope the new fellow is as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

Excellent school. Teaches the children how to learn, reather than filling their heads with something they will foreget after the next test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

Not always fair in discipline. Leadership is very closed minded. There are no Sports at the school. Other extras music,art,etc.. also need vast improving. School in not strong in science or social studies. Languge Arts needs a little improvement. On the other hand 99% of the teachers are excellent. Strong in spelling, reading, handwriting, math, and history. Latin is also a plus. Over all this is a good school, but with the cost of going here, you should expect a higher quality, more rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

What a blessing! Even as the school grows, the quality of teaching is excellent! My child's education has been well rounded and the latin course is fantastic. This school teaches not only what is required but also what every human being should be taught about God & his love for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Our daughter completed Kindergarten in 2005, and due to the excellent program we have registered her for 1st grade at Bayshore Christian School for the Fall. The staff is wonderful with their level of knowledge and level of caring for the children. The phonogram learning program is very impressive, our daughter could read in the Kindergarten level. Many programs available for the children, art and music were taught every week. The classical Christian program the school follows is very rewarding for all. The school keeps the parents very informed with communications on a daily basis. I recommend this school with the highest confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

We have been very pleased with BCS. The teachers are great, the classroom ratios are small (15-1), and the focus on classical Christian education is excellent. We have 2 children in the school and our third will attend there when he is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 56%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 38%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mark Cox
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (251) 928-0149

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23050 US Highway 98
Fairhope, AL 36532
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 929-0011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Fairhope K-1 Center
Fairhope, AL


Bayside Academy
Daphne, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT