Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shoals Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 230 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Florence

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2011

SCS is an excellent place for academics. The quality of education is outstanding. The teachers go way beyond what is required of them with support for the students. My son is challenged daily in academics and is encouraged to go beyond the classroom. What an incredible experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I have paid tuition for a total of 26 years(over 140,000 dollars) with 2 children going from K-5 to graduation. It has been worth every penny. SCS is not perfect by any means...but you get the effort, compassion, honesty, willingness to listen, and help from almost every teacher there now and in the past. They are dedicated, underpaid, and good in 99% of the cases. Teacher turnover has been an issue and the efforts by Florence City parents to squash the success of SCS has kept it from growing enough. It has excelled in the past 12-13 years and the best is yet to come. I can only hope my grandkids get the experience at SCS that my daughters did. It is a champions school! education, sports and spiritually!! !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Shoals Christian is a gem! I have been quite impressed by the quality of education that my child has received here. The school manages to strike a perfect balance of high educational standards and a positive and relaxed learning atmosphere. More than anything, I am amazed by how happy the children seem to be. They walk down the halls smiling and high-fiving their teachers and each other! The teachers and staff really seem to care about each child, and with a low teacher-student ratio, they have the opportunity to really get to know each of them. In addition, unlike many other schools, the teachers are willing to teach to the individual child, rather than simply teaching to the middle. I am always impressed to see the number of National Merit Scholars that have come out of this school; but I am not surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

We had planned to only send our children to SCS during the preschool years. We were so amazed at the great atmosphere, that we have decided to allow our boys to hopefully greaduate from SCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

Our oldest child began attending SCS in the seventh grade and is now a very successful senior in a top grade mid-south university. Our second child is an equally successful senior at SCS and has enjoyed numerous social, scholastic and service opportunities. SCS combines all the academic and social assets of a small school with the extracirrcular activites of a much larger school. Was it the right decision for our family? You bet it was!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Our three children have attended SCS for 3 Years. We are very pleased with their overall experiece there. Our oldest son is in the marching band, and our middle son loves the art classes. My husband and I like the way that they are taught that God's word applies in every aspect of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

We have 2 children at SCS and we love the school. Very good academics, great sports and activities for the kids to participate in. The principles and teachers are very open and available. We honestly could not be happier with the enviroment it provides for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

Moving my daughter to Shoals Christian School from the Florence public school system has truly been a life changing experience. The loving environment has been a tremendous blessing. Children are encouraged and motivated far beyond my expectations. I am so thankful for the education at SCS and the relationships she has built in this fantastic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

SCS has been a wonderful school that I can't imagine ever sending her anywhere else. Our child has been at SCS for 7 years and she has received the best education and support from the teachers and staff that we could have ever asked. They have everything the public schools have and more they are being taught with truth of god so not to be confused with what the world is throwing at them. If you want an above average education for your child along with gods teaching SCS is the school for you. They show love and concern for every student and they are always open to any questions or ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 58%
Black 3% 34%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mickey Bowdon
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (256) 766-5677

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Heathrow Drive
Florence, AL 35633
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 767-7070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Forest Hills School
Florence, AL




Hibbett School
Florence, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT