Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
230 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shoals Christian School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Thanks to Mrs. McLain at Shoals Christian School for teaching a rowdy group of 5 year olds not only to read, but also how to treat each other with respect and kindness.

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
SCS is an excellent place for academics. The quality of education is outstanding. The teachers go way beyond what is required of them with support for the students. My son is challenged daily in academics and is encouraged to go beyond the classroom. What an incredible experience!


Shoals Christian School 5

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
I have paid tuition for a total of 26 years(over 140,000 dollars) with 2 children going from K-5 to graduation. It has been worth every penny. SCS is not perfect by any means...but you get the effort, compassion, honesty, willingness to listen, and help from almost every teacher there now and in the past. They are dedicated, underpaid, and good in 99% of the cases. Teacher turnover has been an issue and the efforts by Florence City parents to squash the success of SCS has kept it from growing enough. It has excelled in the past 12-13 years and the best is yet to come. I can only hope my grandkids get the experience at SCS that my daughters did. It is a champions school! education, sports and spiritually!! !

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
Shoals Christian is a gem! I have been quite impressed by the quality of education that my child has received here. The school manages to strike a perfect balance of high educational standards and a positive and relaxed learning atmosphere. More than anything, I am amazed by how happy the children seem to be. They walk down the halls smiling and high-fiving their teachers and each other! The teachers and staff really seem to care about each child, and with a low teacher-student ratio, they have the opportunity to really get to know each of them. In addition, unlike many other schools, the teachers are willing to teach to the individual child, rather than simply teaching to the middle. I am always impressed to see the number of National Merit Scholars that have come out of this school; but I am not surprised.

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
We had planned to only send our children to SCS during the preschool years. We were so amazed at the great atmosphere, that we have decided to allow our boys to hopefully greaduate from SCS!


Shoals Christian School 5

Posted June 28, 2005
- a parent
Our oldest child began attending SCS in the seventh grade and is now a very successful senior in a top grade mid-south university. Our second child is an equally successful senior at SCS and has enjoyed numerous social, scholastic and service opportunities. SCS combines all the academic and social assets of a small school with the extracirrcular activites of a much larger school. Was it the right decision for our family? You bet it was!

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted March 09, 2005
- a parent
Our three children have attended SCS for 3 Years. We are very pleased with their overall experiece there. Our oldest son is in the marching band, and our middle son loves the art classes. My husband and I like the way that they are taught that God's word applies in every aspect of life.

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted February 24, 2005
- a parent
We have 2 children at SCS and we love the school. Very good academics, great sports and activities for the kids to participate in. The principles and teachers are very open and available. We honestly could not be happier with the enviroment it provides for our children.


Shoals Christian School 5

Posted February 13, 2005
- a parent
Moving my daughter to Shoals Christian School from the Florence public school system has truly been a life changing experience. The loving environment has been a tremendous blessing. Children are encouraged and motivated far beyond my expectations. I am so thankful for the education at SCS and the relationships she has built in this fantastic environment.

Shoals Christian School 5

Posted September 03, 2004
- a parent
SCS has been a wonderful school that I can't imagine ever sending her anywhere else. Our child has been at SCS for 7 years and she has received the best education and support from the teachers and staff that we could have ever asked. They have everything the public schools have and more they are being taught with truth of god so not to be confused with what the world is throwing at them. If you want an above average education for your child along with gods teaching SCS is the school for you. They show love and concern for every student and they are always open to any questions or ideas.

Nearby schools

Shoals Christian School
301 Heathrow Drive, Florence, AL  35633
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (256) 767-7070
Last modified Shoals Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top