Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public district
Florence, AL
Students enrolled: 975
Before care: No
After care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dear Stakeholders, I am honored and privileged to be part the Florence High School Team. Our team is composed of dedicated individuals committed to providing students with excellent academic and social learning experiences. Florence High School is ranked as one of America s Best High Schools as reported Niche s Best High School report for 2015 and Florence High School has also been named as a Banner School by the Council of Leaders in Alabama Schools (CLAS) for the second time. This year our 12 for Life Program is being recognized by CLAS for its innovation and service to students. This serves as a testament to the hard-work of our staff, faculty, and most importantly, our students. FHS is committed to providing students with rigorous and relevant curriculum. We provide the most extensive curriculum of any high school, public or private, in Northwest Alabama with more than 272 course offerings. Students may choose from among 19 Advanced Placement (AP) courses and nine Honors courses in the areas of science, mathematics, English, foreign languages and social studies. Students may also choose from among 52 Career/Technical Education courses in 20 different fields of study. In addition to opportunities to earn college credit by successful completion of AP courses and AP examinations on campus, students may also gain college credit via dual enrollment at the University of North Alabama and Northwest-Shoals Community College, as well as through selected on-line courses. FHS is committed to providing our students with the latest in technological advances as part of the school s one-to-one iPad initiative and through participation in the Florence Virtual High School. Students use the iPads in class and at home to access digital textbooks, correspond with teachers, submit assignment, and to preserve a record of student work in digital portfolios. Learning time is no longer confined to the traditional school day. Students have the opportunity to extend learning 24/7, anyplace, anytime by participating in virtual courses taught by our teachers. These important initiatives allow FHS students to extend the classroom beyond the walls of the school. With the use of iPads and participation in virtual classes, our students are engaged in instruction relevant for today s world. FHS is also committed to the pursuit of excellence in areas which support students personal interests. Whether it is participation in The Florence Academy of Fine Arts, which includes orchestra, show choir, drama, theatre, dance, band, chorus, studio art, creative writing or the 12 for Life Program, clubs, community services opportunities, athletics, engaging in leadership or producing Florence Falcon TV; there is an opportunity for our students to connect with their passion and excel. We invite you to join us on our journey to become #1 in Alabama and among the top in the nation! Lynne Hice Be sure to join us on Twitter at @fhsfalcons1
March 01, 2015

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
Florence High School is the by far the best school in this area. I am so proud to be a part of a such a fabulous team of caring teaching professionals. The teachers at FHS go above and beyond to ensure student success.

Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
We go out of our way to provide an appropriate education for all students. The campus is active from about 6:30 AM until 9:00 PM. The school offers programs that extend classes until 8:00 PM to provide instruction for students who have issues attending during the traditional day. We have a partnership with the Southwire company that allows some students to work a 4 hour paid shift during a portion of the school day. We offer a number of AP classes, participate in dual enrollment classes with the University of North Alabama and a partnership with Fame Recording Studio in Muscle Shoals as part of the Florence Academy of Fine Arts. There is something for everyone at Florence High School.


Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
Florence High School is a wonderful place to work. The administration is very helpful and has a great re-pore with the teachers and staff. The students are well behaved and take pride in their learning. My fellow teachers and I work together to plan the best instruction for their students to ensure the students get the best education possible. Florence High School is a great place to be.

Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
Having taught in other large schools within the state of Alabama, I can say without hesitation that FHS is an amazing school! Florence High has one of the most highly qualified, highly educated, and highly motivated teaching staffs in the state and the time that teachers here spend devoted to helping their students succeed is second to none. The school has a wide array of opportunities for students to take advantage of in terms of extra-curricular activities as well as offering alternative scheduling to meet the needs of almost anyone. I can't speak personally to some of the negative ratings that were given prior to 2010, but I can say that today you will be hard pressed to find a more quality, engaging, and diverse school to send your son or daughter to!

Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
FHS is truly amazing! The faculty and students are honestly the best in our area and in the state! We build upon each other's strengths to encourage and lift each other up. As a system, we all value a good education and environment. Making sure students are the most important aspect of our day is the top priority. We offer so many courses and extracurricular activities that every student has the opportunity and chance to succeed on different types of career paths. We've got superstar kids and and a rock star staff!


Florence High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
I have been in a number of school systems, and Florence seems to genuinely care about their kids more than any other system I've seen. My students have so much personality and are so quirky sometimes; I absolutely love them. There are many programs that cater to a wide variety of interests, and there is a huge amount of accountability to try and ensure that no students fall between the cracks. Overall I feel that Florence High School does an excellent job with our young people and any student would be well on their way to succeeding by coming through here.

Florence High School 4

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
Florence High School is a MAGNET school. We are building AWESOME programs!! SPORTS, FINE ARTS ACADEMY, ACADEMICS going above and beyond where we have ever been!!

Florence High School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a teacher
Florence HS is a great school filled with caring teachers and staff. The school offers Technical education, 12 AP courses, Fine Arts Magnet School, Virtual school, as well as the traditional course work. Students can also dual-enroll with the University of North Alabama to earn college credits while finishing high school. FHS has also partnered with a local manufacturing facility to offer students the opportunity to work while attending high school. FHS wants students to be ready for the future and provides them with numerous paths to get there!
1 person found this helpful


Florence High School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a teacher
Florence High School is a place where i am proud to work. We offer so many avenues to success for all of our students. I can't tell you how many times the phrase 'because it is what is best for our kids' is used at faculty meetings. If you want a school that will work to find a way to help your child succeed, then Florence High School is a great fit. We offer numerous courses including AP courses in every area from English to Math to Foreign Language! We have various programs including UNA First30, 12 For Life and RESCUE to help all of our students prepare for their future path--whether it is Ivy Leage or a Technical Certification. Our students can take an astounding number of Fine Arts courses as well as compete with a variety of athletic teams. Our teachers and administrators are dedicated, bright, and caring. If you haven't seen FHS in a while, come visit--you'll see all of this for yourself!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Dear Stakeholders, I am honored and privileged to be part the Florence High School Team. Our team is composed of dedicated individuals committed to providing students with excellent academic and social learning experiences. Florence High School is ranked as one of America s Best High Schools as reported Niche s Best High School report for 2015 and Florence High School has also been named as a Banner School by the Council of Leaders in Alabama Schools (CLAS) for the second time. This year our 12 for Life Program is being recognized by CLAS for its innovation and service to students. This serves as a testament to the hard-work of our staff, faculty, and most importantly, our students. FHS is committed to providing students with rigorous and relevant curriculum. We provide the most extensive curriculum of any high school, public or private, in Northwest Alabama with more than 272 course offerings. Students may choose from among 19 Advanced Placement (AP) courses and nine Honors courses in the areas of science, mathematics, English, foreign languages and social studies. Students may also choose from among 52 Career/Technical Education courses in 20 different fields of study. In addition to opportunities to earn college credit by successful completion of AP courses and AP examinations on campus, students may also gain college credit via dual enrollment at the University of North Alabama and Northwest-Shoals Community College, as well as through selected on-line courses. FHS is committed to providing our students with the latest in technological advances as part of the school s one-to-one iPad initiative and through participation in the Florence Virtual High School. Students use the iPads in class and at home to access digital textbooks, correspond with teachers, submit assignment, and to preserve a record of student work in digital portfolios. Learning time is no longer confined to the traditional school day. Students have the opportunity to extend learning 24/7, anyplace, anytime by participating in virtual courses taught by our teachers. These important initiatives allow FHS students to extend the classroom beyond the walls of the school. With the use of iPads and participation in virtual classes, our students are engaged in instruction relevant for today s world. FHS is also committed to the pursuit of excellence in areas which support students personal interests. Whether it is participation in The Florence Academy of Fine Arts, which includes orchestra, show choir, drama, theatre, dance, band, chorus, studio art, creative writing or the 12 for Life Program, clubs, community services opportunities, athletics, engaging in leadership or producing Florence Falcon TV; there is an opportunity for our students to connect with their passion and excel. We invite you to join us on our journey to become #1 in Alabama and among the top in the nation! Lynne Hice Be sure to join us on Twitter at @fhsfalcons1
Posted March 01, 2015

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florence High School
1201 Bradshaw Dr, Florence, AL  35630
(256) 768-2200
Last modified Florence High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Florence High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top