Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hills School

Public | K-4 | 803 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

If your child has special needs, but not enough to be in special ed classes, choose another school. While they have the resources to accommodate prescribed IEPs, it will not be implemented without a fight. If you don't fit in a one size fits all box, don't go here. PE is a nightmare, as too many classes go at a time and are under supervised. Oh, fundraising... There's plenty!! On a positive note, the art and music programs are amazing, there are some wonderful teachers (definitely not all!), and nice field trips. Just get ready for the homework load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I have never seen teachers who dress up and wear so much makeup!! I feel as if I'm under dressed each time I visit!! It seems like the teachers/staff compete with each other to see who can look the best and spend the most money. And heaven forbid, if you are not dressed up as well when you visit the school - the looks you get! Really??? Am I sending my child to get an education or learn to be a snob??? The Principal is NEVER friendly, either. I have never seen her speak to any parent unless it is one of the very wealthy and impeccably dressed parents. She has looked directly at me several times in the front office - I smiled and spoke to her - yet she NEVER returned the smile nor the greeting. She was professionally friendly the one time when I had a meeting with her, but to this day still acts like I'm a stranger rather than a parent who trusts her with my child!!! Academically, the school is the best elementary choice in Florence- but nationwide not that great. Many of the moms are stay at home moms which I think is why the students do as well as they do - because they have a parent who has the time to help them with the LOADS of HOMEWORK sent home daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

A great school with excellent teachers! I'm glad my wife and I chose to enroll our children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I give this school a ten on a scale from 1-5!! All I can say about Forest Hills are excellent things!! Gina(parent)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

I am very unhappy with this school teaching about halloween. My child has been very disturbed and upset. I have been pleased with the reading progress, but the food served, lack of physical activity and some of the content taught is not positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

I have been a part of the Forest Hills 'family' for 5 years and have another 5 to go with other children. Words cannot express the positive thoughts I have about this school. If you are looking for a school with high parent-teacher relationships and a great overall elementary school experience look to further than Forest Hills!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2007

My son was failing the 1st grade at another school. Within the first 3 weeks of school, we could see a tremendous change. I think it has a lot to do with the way the teachers interact with and form a bond with their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Forest Hills has been a great school for my daughter. She loves the atmosphere and we have not been disappointed with any of her teachers.She is now in the 3rd grade and has just been accepted into the gifted program. This class is a big plus for those children who think outside the box and need extra work. I feel very lucky to have my child to be a part of such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

Three cheers for Forest Hills. A fantastic elementary school. I echo the sentiments of the individual who commented earlier about the gifted program. The cuts to the Renaissance program have been a huge disappointment. Otherwise, the school is great and I applaud the faculty and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Forest Hills is a great place to learn. They have a safe environment. Susan Bland is the best Kindergarten teacher and Kim Wright is the best first grade teacher. I have a child in sixth grade that went to Forest Hills for six years. She was a member of the 4th grade show choir. They have an excellent music and art program. Their library offers plent of books for AR reading. My first grader has read over a 100 books by the middle of the year. He loves to read and do math. The parents are very involved at Forest Hills. I have offered to help my sons first grade teacher with AR test and she has not had to call me yet because she has plenty of volunteers. I would recommend Forest Hills to anyone who wants their child to have a head start in reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

My son started school here this year in kindergarten and we have truly enjoyed it so far this year and everyone is very supportive and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

On a scale of 1-5, I give it a five. The teachers are wonderful and the adminstrators are willing to help in any way. I am proud to say my daughter attended Forest Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

My child is in 2nd grade. He has attended Forest Hills since Kindergarten. He has truly enjoyed the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

A fabulous school. Teachers are available and accessible. The administration is encouraging and supportive of both parents and children. Just a wonderful situation! We can't say enough wonderful things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education81%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty91%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education88%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty98%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education71%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty86%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students96%
Female99%
Male94%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education82%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty94%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 58%
Black 18% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anne W Gipson
Fax number
  • (256) 768-2505

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Stovall Dr
Florence, AL 35633
Phone: (256) 768-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT