Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilson High School 3

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
We need to be objectively honest here, instead of biased and one-sided. There were good experiences/memories here, but unfortunately, there was (and is) also favoritism by most of the staff, particularly toward those who are involved in athletics, certain clubs, and/or if one was an honor roll student. Unless one was one of those, one was usually not taken seriously, and teachers had little to no time for them. There was (and probably still is) bullying that is all but ignored by the staff, especially if the troublemaker is an athlete.

Wilson High School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My great grand daughter is a fourth generation Wilson student. I suppose I have nothing to compare to Wilson, but my experience over the years with the staff and the level of learning speaks for itself. Especially through my family. I am over 65. I attended Wilson and went on to become a Registered Nurse. My son was drum major and participated in band for 9 years before he graduated. He went on to become a Physical Therapy Aide My daughter graduated there and now is an employee of the school. My grandson graduated as well. Now, I have a first grader there and feel confident she will receive the best education just like her family before her. Great school and staff!


Wilson High School 4

Posted September 29, 2011
- a community member
I was a student at Wilson High School, and I am enraged at some of the comments I am seeing about my alma mater, especially from parents and students who cannot use proper grammar or spelling. To those parents, take an interest in your student and make the first move to call the teacher or principal. I am sure they will make the time to talk to you. As for the students, if you'd listen in your classes, you wouldn't make such terrible spelling and grammatical errors in your posts. I attended WHS from 1st grade until I graduated, and was always encouraged by my teachers. They were always looking out for the students' best interest. They were also fair in their punishment of those students who chose to disrupt their classrooms.

Wilson High School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
I'm new to the area but I have had over 8 family members attend this school and now my children go here. It's a great environment.

Wilson High School 5

Posted January 14, 2009
- a student
The teachers and pricipals really care about the well being of the kids, they are fantastic, and we embark on many educational endevours. I would higly recommend this school for any parent looking for their child a bright future.


Wilson High School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
I love my school. I have been to many and this by far has been the best. I am a cheerleader here and the athletics are really good, as well as academics. I recomend this school.

Wilson High School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
I think there needs to be more communication between the parents and teachers more so in high school than element. Kids fall into more stuff in high school, than kindergarden, and I think there should be more communication between the principle and students (we have a new principle this year and I dont even know his name no letter from him nothing, I know it is also our responsibility to communicate but believe me I have tried, if you are not on any sporting event, or cheerleader, or a honor roll student they don't have time for you.

Wilson High School 4

Posted January 27, 2007
- a student
Well, i came to wilson in 1992 and graduated in 1997 those were some of the best years in my life. Every year for me there got better and better, and the teachers were great for examle: coach stejskal,coach bohon, they treated like family. The sports program was great when i played, i loved every bit of it, but all in all the students are what makes a school great, think about it!


Wilson High School 5

Posted October 12, 2006
- a student
I am currently a student in tah grade and I love this high school everybody is really cool and the teachers actually care about your learin career and want you to progress. its a really great school.

Wilson High School 5

Posted October 05, 2006
- a student
I went to Wilson and graduated in 1997. I had been going there since kindergarten and it was always and awesome school. My principal in 8th grade was Mr. Thompson and he was the best. The teachers are really caring and helpful and the didn't really act like they had favorites. The students were all equal. Some got in more trouble but that was their fault. Well, overall Wilson is one of the best schools in the county. Thank you for listening..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson High School
7601 Hwy 17, Florence, AL  35634
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (256) 764-8470
Last modified Wilson High School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top