Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Myrtlewood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

I will not ever place my child in this school ever again until they get rid of the principal they have there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

Myrtlewood is a great school so glad to see the school getting a new library so can't wait to see it. I hope that the staff members and some parents will have their acts together then what they had in the pass year. I pray that they can control the bullying and they stop bullying the parents. If they can't control and do their jobs right then Myrtlewood needs new staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

These types of things existed before her time!! What school doesnt allow parents to be involved and If there is such a parent that you may seem to cause DRAMA Well Honey let me start off by saying she/him is not the first parent that has had the very similar problem... I can name atleast 40 families that will not place their children in this school due to the so called Drama you are calling this parent out on... Home schoolers and Christian Schoolers see we pay for our education because Tuscaloosa County schools will not get rid of the control freak!! Like her if you will That's your baby so Rock it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

This is my daughter's second year at this school. It is an outstanding school. It is a small Title 1 school, which means it has very particular regulations that it must follow in order to be eligible for Title 1 funds that it very much needs. The staff at Myrtlewood are amazing, they are friendly, helpful and just generally easy to get along with. There has been some drama within the last year, regarding the Parent Involvement Committee, while unfortunate, there is little that can be done about it, as the parent refuses to see their errors, and are unwilling to follow the guidelines set forth by our administration regarding the safety of our students. I fully stand by this administration and the hard decisions that have had to be made. This is a fun school that puts learning first! If you want a Principal that will protect your children, like a "Mama Bear" while they are in her care, this is the school for you! The teachers here on a whole are outstanding, there are always a couple that we wish would do something differently, but you will see that in any school. "PTA" has fees, which is why we don't have one, our Principal believes parents shouldn't have to pay to help. ~DL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

Myrtlewood is a hidden gem in Tuscaloosa County. We have a "family" atmosphere among the faculty, parents, and students. One reason for this is because we have had almost no faculty turn over for many years. The teachers and administration really care about the students, parents, and each other. I wouldn't want to teach anywhere else. We have the latest technology, resources, and are getting a state-of-the-art library. We are blessed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2013

I am a grandmother of children in Mrytlewood Elem. School and all three of my children went to Myrtlewood. There are so many differences from my children until now and they are not all good. Things worked so much better when there was a PTA or PTO as they call it now. Everyone worked together and made things good for the school and students. Now, one person wants to run everything with no help from other parents. Seems like there are certain sets of rules for different parents which is very unfair. Looks to me like, if someone wants to help, it should not matter who they are. The principal, teachers, and parents should all put the students first and keep them there. It doesn't seem like that is the case at Myrtlewood anymore. I have heard so many negative remarks about the school and it breaks my heart.


Posted February 8, 2013

Myrtlewood is a GREAT school with very dedicated leadership in place. I feel confident in the security measures that have been taken in lieu of recent events in our country. I feel like my child is safe and the teachers are constantly looking out for them. Student success is truly a focus of this school. Students are recognized for their achievements on a regular basis and it means so much to them. My child is privileged to have the opportunity to attend Myrtlewood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

My Child' s Teachers are great. In my opinion There is one lady that does not seem like a child friendly person, doesn't seem to be very encouraging, or caring/loving toward all of the students. And the principal who i believe cares about the students but only cares for SOME parents. I have been around her but never been involved in an project or event with her. So i am not sure what she has against me but when I am around I don't feel welcome, and why I wasnt invited to the last parent meeting, that I have heard about from several parents. Obviously only a few were chosen?!?! Im just really getting fed up with the lack of communication, and feeling like I am one of the parents they don't really care about when I walk in, but when certain parents walk in everyone says hey and has a smile and is welcoming. My child does not get in any trouble and we are good people.I want to be involved in helping our school because I really care.But I guess I am not invited! It kinda seems like something weird is going on or she only want certain parents involved and if this keeps going on We Will NOT stand for it.There would be more parent involvement if the principal was more welcoming and nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Wonderful school! Great faculty and staff! Incredibly pleased with this year! The technology that the students have access to is amazing! My child now wants his own iPad!! Excited for another great year to come!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Myrtlewood is the greatest school in Tuscaloosa county! I volunteer at the school weekly and I am amazed at how far the school has come! There are wonderful things happening every day! Test scores are up, parent involvement is up , and everything is centered around learning! I feel truly blessed to send my children here and I love the fact that they love going to school here! GO BULLDOGS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

Myrtlewood totally is the worst school in tuscaloosa county. Last year I could walk in the school and hear my child's teacher screaming at them. I realized when my child started screaming at me, this was a problem. Not to mention some of the other children she belittled so much they felt worthless. Tuscaloosa county states they against bullying, well what about the teachers doing it to the children. I will stand up against anyone on this school til the day I die unless some changes are made. My child WILL NOT STEP FOOT IN THIS SCHOOL AGAIN.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female75%
Male69%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male75%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female89%
Male67%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty71%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students90%
Female95%
Male86%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty86%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female86%
Male74%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Poverty79%
Not poverty81%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty71%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students57%
Female57%
Male57%
Black45%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant57%
Poverty57%
Not poverty56%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 34%
White 42% 58%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sheila A Stromberg
Fax number
  • (205) 247-4185

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14701 Gainsville Rd
Fosters, AL 35463
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 342-2658

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakdale Primary School
Tuscaloosa, AL




Central Primary School
Tuscaloosa, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT