Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fultondale Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

The involvement my wife and I have witnessed by the staff at Fultondale Elementary School was very impressive. The teachers and staff are active in making sure children are staying on task and progressing positively. My daughter was always coming home energized from the school lesson, ready to share her new knowledge at home. My wife and I appreciate the school s energy and commitment to the children. We look forward to another great school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

I am a former student and I must say I loved everything about the school. You could tell the staff really cared about the kids well being.


Posted October 15, 2012

This is my children's second year at this school. I love the staff they have been amazing. My daughter had a seizure at school and everyone new what do do when i was at the hospital for two weeks everyone was incredible. They came to check on her called everyday. With a school that has 901 kids. It was so nice to know how many people came to see my kid i love how Mrs Hayes looks at these children are her own. Again Ty to the staff at fulltondale elementary you guys are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I went to school at FES, and my children went to school there, and now my grandson is there in kindergarten. His teacher has been so helpful and I am very satisfied with her keeping us informed and setting up meetings with us. He is learning things that are so advanced of when I went to school there, and when my children went to school there. I am very satisfied with the homework. I think the majority of learning should be done at school and when they get home not be so loaded down with homework that they have no time to be children. Keep up the good work. And, no, my grandchild is not the perfect child and needs constant help with behavior, but the teacher and staff have been so good and worked out plans to help him settle into school and keep his attention focused. Thank you to all that have helped.


Posted February 26, 2012

This is my child's second year at Fultondale Elementary, and while it is a beautiful facility, I am not at all impressed with the staff at all. The teachers send home notes for petty infractions, such as talking in the hallway, but when something notable happens, I am never informed. I learn about it days later from my child. I feel her teacher is not attentive enough to the students, and provides a poor example to her class. At this year's Valentine party, the teacher passed out Valentines to every student EXCEPT my child. She told my child she "ran out, but here's a pencil instead.". I know that sounds petty, but the teachers lead by example. She did this in front of the entire class, and my child was devastated. I would expect something like that from another eight year old, but from a teacher? I was very disappointed. Also, the "homework" assignments are a joke, and I hope that she is learning something more during class hours. The homework assignments I am seeing are something she was taught at three years old. I am very disappointed in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

As a parent, I believe in discipling children when they need it. My children are pretty well behaved but when I have to deal with them on a discipline level, I handle it. The teachers at Fultondale complain too much about petty issues. Some of them don't seem like they want to teach. When I was in school several years ago, teachers taught and they handled their classroom; they didn't send home all the petty notes such as little Johnny was talking in the hallway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

The only reason I give this school two stars is for the wonderful teachers and the building. My children came from Vestavia Hills City Schools where they had art and spainish but sadly Fultondale doesn't have either one. The counselors are wonderful and have worked with my niece and nephew whenever they needed it and the same goes for the special education or learning disabled teachers. They really go the extra mile. Like someone else has mentioned the school work is just to easy and I don't know if its because of the last schools the kids attended were harder or what but this school seems to be way behind and slow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

I went to school here and I think as far as elementary school goes it great everyone knows my daughter and they watch out for and i stay involved thats the key
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

Love this school. I feel like my child is safe and cared for. It is a very organized and well ran school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My son came from a Cullman City school into this school last year and I am not impressed at all! I feel like this school does not notify you of events going on or how your child is doing in school. My son has always loved school and made straight A's until Fultondale Elementary. There were several occasions where my son had fieldtrips or activities going on that I did not know about because I never recieved notification. I understand that your children should be somewhat responsible for telling you what is happening at school but they are still kids and they are not going to be as responsible as the adult. Maybe I was spoiled at my sons old school with a weekly newsletter telling what my child is learning that week and what events were going on for the week. This school is just terrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

This school had some pros and cons. I was concerned about what my child was learning as homework was stuff she had learned in preschool so I felt like she was being held back but maybe she was just ahead since going to preschool and I just had a misguided idea of what the 'norm' was. The only thing that bothered me terribly was that she did not learn any more math than she did and that they didn't focus on money, time, etc. like I was taught in Kindergarten and surely things have moved forward and not backwards since 30 years ago?! As far as notes and updates, I did receive the PTA newsletter ever so often, although it was geared more towards the older kids, it did keep me somewhat informed and the teacher was great about writing notes home. We'll try 1st grade and see what happens...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I have had two sons attend FES and am extremely happy with the staff and administration. They work well with the parents and children. My sons have greatly enjoyed attending school at the elementary and high school and wouldn't want to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

They have such good discipline but just enough fun for the students and the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

FES has a great staff of teachers. We are very pleased. Relatives who have children at other schools report that their children are way behind compared to what my child is doing. Thanks, a happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

This was my son's first year at Fultondale and I could not be more pleased. I was afraid that my son would have trouble keeping up but that was not a problem. When the I saw the first sign that he might not be keeping up, his teacher and I got together and she sent home some aides to use and work on at home. We had no more problems and the teacher was constantly keeping me posted as to his progress and helpful ideas to help him at home. Every time that I have been to school, I could not have asked for a more caring and loving staff. I believe that a lot of issues with the children could be resolved if the parents would become more involved with the children at school. Keep up the good work Fultondale Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

My son has attended Fultondale Elementary for the last 2 years and we are working on moving out of Fultondale at the moment specifically because of the school. I am very disappointed with many things at this school. My sons grades have dropped dramatically since going to this school, bullying is not dealt with properly and just a general lack of concern for either of these problems. I have had to schedule many conferences seeking ways for these 2 things to be resolved and nothing has changed in 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

My daughter went to fultondale elem. For her 4th and 5th grade years. She received a great education at the school and continues to be a straight a student. She still goes back from time to time to visit and still has many friends that go to that school. Thank you for making her two years at fultondale so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

My 2 grandsons ages 7 and 11 started Fultondale just before Christmas 2005. I have never heard of nor seen such an un-caring un-cooperative school staff in my life. Because they didn't start at the beginning of the year they didn't receive supplies because the school is 'out of them'. Nor is any effort being made to get them copies. These boys have suffered through a really painful year 2005 as has the whole family. We are all stressed to the limit. The school has been made aware of this but has an 'I can't be bothered with their problems' attitude.How much effort does it take to be kind? You are really failing especially compared to the dedicated teachers at Odenville Elementary and Hoover. If I sound angry it is because I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

My two boys went to fultondale elem. And now I have one grandson that went the last two years and will be in the second grade this year and I will have another one to start this year also. This will be the second grader's brother. I like the school system and i have also liked most of the principals through out the years, but you know you are going to get some you like and some you don't. Over all it is a good school in my opinion. Mrs. Duke is just the greatest. My boys have went to the high school and one still goes there. It is also a good school. My sons would not go to any other school. If they couldn't go to fultondale, they just did not want to go. They grew up in these two schools and have done pretty good. It is a good school. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

Are you kidding? The principal is the worst administrator I have ever seen. Without good and fair leadership in a school, how can you expect anything better from the school at all?
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education50%
General population86%
English language learners75%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students86%
Female92%
Male81%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education25%
General population92%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education74%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students78%
Female78%
Male79%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 58%
Black 35% 35%
Hispanic 21% 4%
Two or more races 2% 0%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Cynthia M Cornelius
Fax number
  • (205) 379-3495

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • car line
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Newcomb
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Newcomb
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • conferences/emails
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 Central Ave
Fultondale, AL 35068
Phone: (205) 379-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Mount Olive Academy
Fultondale, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT