Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garden City Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

This is a great elementary school. The staff makes sure that each child feels special and is noticed for their individual accomplishments. The school now provides music class and art for students. There is great communication between the parents and teachers. Parents are made to feel welcome at the school and enouraged to discuss any concerns with the principal/teachers. Overall the school provides a wonderful experience for young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Garden City Elementary is an awesome school. The school has only about 100 students from grades K-5. There is a lot of one on one time with students and their teachers. Because of this, the school's test scores are above average. The teachers and parents go above and beyond to help all of the students at the school. The Principle of the school greets each student every morning, and says good-bye to each student every afternoon. I really wish the school went up to 12th grade. I can't really describe the school. You would have to have a child who goes there to understand what I'm trying to explain. I would say on a scale of 1 to 10, ten being the best, Garden City Elementary is a 20! I could not ask for a better school with better teachers and advisors then what I have now for my children. Garden City Elementary is definitely a true blessing to the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

I have two children that attend Garden City. One for four years and the other for five years. Yes, this school is small and it doesn't have some ot the things that larger schools do..bullying, peer pressure, etc. The teachers are great and have a deep love and commitment to the shildren and their success. The administration is also supportive and willing at anytime to sit down with a parent and teacher to see what can be done to help the student. I am very pleased with the progress my children are making. The school's academic scores consistently meet or exceed state levels. They always some promotional thing going on to encourage students to reach higher goals than what is expected. I, like many others, wish our school would go past the fifth grade (changed last year). Our children care about one another, volunteer to help pickup trash they see on the ground, read to one another at the bus stop, turned in lost money (5.00), etc. How do I know this? The PTO has a picture of students they catch (without the student knowing) doing good deeds that are posted around the school. The local Park and Rec covers sports for this age so it is not a part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

My son finished kindergarten 2012/2013 school year and he is developmentally Behind could barely even understand him when he first started now he is doing so much better. The school has worked very hard with him and everyone is so friendly and nice, even the students. I noticed a review that said they didn't have a few things but they do have a computer lab, music class and art class now. They have went above and beyond to help my son and I am proud to say my kids will continue to go there. The only problem I have is I wish they went past the 6th grade so it could be the only school my kids attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I give this school a 4 . It is a great school all the teachers know every child by their name and grade. They have a small population. I am not sure if that is a good or bad thing in a way it is good because then i can wait for her in front tof the school but then again there are not alot of kids for her to be friends in but I am sure once she goes to 7th grade in a bigger school she will learn to deal and become cheerleader and on sports teams and all. They do not have a football team, or cheerleading team for the older grades. No art or music like others said but all in all its a great school. they just need to understand that my dd is advanced and very intelligent in k. have a great day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I am disappointed with several things. No art or music class. No computer class. Students grade each others work. This WEB site needs updated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

Both of my children attend this school. In my opinion they could not be at a better school. All the teachers are great. They are very kind and caring and they love the kids. The principal is great. All of the staff knows every child by name. They are greeted each morning with a warm smile a happy hello. Every single child is made to feel that he or she is loved and important. I thank God every day that my kids have this schoool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

Garden City is a GREAT school. My child attends now and I attended a few years ago. A few faces have changed but over-all it is the same ol' school that I went to. The best thing about Garden City is the small population. When you walk in each morning everyone says 'hello' and greets you using your name, so you know they know who you are and not just pretending to make you feel good. Its just a great feeling to know that my child goes to a school where he knows ALL of the staff and most of the children(He can tell you nearly any kids name by what they were wearing that day.)and vice-versa. He won't attend any other school, until the 7th grade of course.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Garden City is a wonderful School! My children attend there and it is like we are all a big family! Everyone knows you and your child by name when you walk through the door. The teachers are wonderful. An example: My daughter graduated kindergarten year before last and the teachers and students put together a fair well to kindergarten play and celebration. When it came time for the teacher (Mrs. Glass) to give her prepared speech she was fighting back tears and lost. That is truly love. She as well as many other teachers here are wonderful and I would not have my children in any other school. It is really too bad that they do not teach past the sixth grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

Wonderful school! The principle and teachers really know how to make the most of what they have and really seem to have the children's best interest at heart. Lacking in art and music, but do a fantastic job of providing the basics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2004

Very low student to teacher ratio. Fine man as principal. Wish all schools were like this little piece of heaven in Cullman county.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

14 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

14 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

14 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 58%
Black 2% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Susan M Melton
Fax number
  • (256) 352-1924

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

208 3rd St West
Garden City, AL 35070
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 352-5051

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT