Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gardendale Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

This was my son's first year attending this school and he absolutely loved it. The faculty and staff were very helpful to my son as well as myself. My son adores his teacher and didn't want to leave her. She helped mold my son into an excellent 2nd grader. Thank you so much Mrs. Casaday HDIII
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This is the first year for my child at this school and we do not like it at all. I have met several of the staff and teachers but for the most part if you're not the "right" type of person then they turn their noses. It's one of those schools that if you don't fit in then you don't matter. My child has struggled in this school since and it seems like the teachers aren't doing their job. Then send home a ton of homework as if they didn't even do anything in class. So bottom line is I know that there are better schools than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

Our school provides a great learning environment in many ways. Our teachers and administration are awesome. We have great parent participation and an outstanding PTA. Our community is very supportive of all of our school activities. You couldn't ask for a better place to send your children to school. If you are moving to the area I encourage you to look at Gardendale Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My boys attend Gardendale Elementary and they love it. The teachers. principal and other staff are the greatest. Everyone is always willing to go the extra mile for any and all the students. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

first year there my daughter use to hate going to school now that she is at gardendale elementry she loves to go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

We have excellent parent support at Gardendale Elementary and a wonderful administrative staff that encourages us in a plethura of ways! The teachers are very dedicated, and they strive to create responsible, caring, independent learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2008

Gardendale Elementary is the best. My son is in Kindergarten, and he just loves it. The new media center is awesome! You can tell the teachers and faculty care, and are trying to make it a great place to learn. We are happy to send our children to school there. Gardendale schools, and Gardendale as a whole, are the best kept secret in the Birmingham area.... SSHH.... That is how we like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My daughter transfered from a private school to GES and she loves it! She looks forward to going to school everyday. Her teacher is wonderful! Overall, I couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I'm proud of our children and their Teachers! I'm been very pleased with every teacher my children has had through the years! we love Gardendale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

We have a new principal who is just exactly the leader we needed. Our teachers are outstanding and the community support is great. Now we have all the puzzle pieces together!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

This is a great school, all we need is a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

GES is a wonderful learning enviroment. The staff is very professional and caring. The physical enviroment is beautifully decorated and condusive to a comfortable learning enviroment. School sponsored activites are well planned, supported and interesting for students and parents alike. I moved back to Alabama for my son to have such a wonderful learning opportunity. I think GES is fantasitc and I am glad that we have such a wonderful school in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty84%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty90%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education68%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty83%
Not poverty96%

Reading

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education68%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty87%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education90%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty98%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education86%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty98%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education76%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty90%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 58%
Black 21% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

860 Bauer Ln
Gardendale, AL 35071
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-3550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mt Olive Academy
Fultondale, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT