Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glencoe High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Glencoe High School is one of the BEST schools is Etowah county. The academics are superb, the teachers go out on a limb for each student (minded that the student is actually showing up to class and trying,) and the facility itself is amazing. I am a recent graduate (May 2014) of this school and was not involved in any sport, but was treated the same as every other student, I was encouraged, guided, and pushed to do my best and was prepared for college. Mind you that this is a high school, not elementary, so many classes were very challenging, especially the AP classes (which are exceptional, also!) However these classes prepared me for college and for the AP test, and now I am able to clep English 101 and 102 due to my AP scores! Yes, there is drama at the school, most coming from the students themselves, but what high school doesn't have drama? I would definitely send my future children to GHS! Go Jackets!


Posted July 28, 2014

As a student at Glencoe High, I can say that it has been the worst educational experience of my life, if you can even call it educational. Bullying and rumors run rampant throughout the school, and if you aren't a teacher's pet, there's no one to help you. There is no sense of confidentiality between parents and teachers. The teachers talk to their favorite students about personal affairs brought in by parents, and within a day the whole school knows. The teachers lack of any motivation to inform and educate us students, and many seem to lack any education themselves. Fights and drug use are everyday occurrences at Glencoe High. Glencoe High School is a pathetic excuse for any school. They get by with the bare minimum and do nothing more. I would never even consider letting my child anywhere near the disgrace that is GHS.


Posted August 2, 2013

As a student it is a terrible experience if your not one of the principals favorites. If your not an athlete you don't get respected. Most of the teachers are great but a hand full of them pick the ones they like and are rude and snobby to the others. You can't be you at this school.


Posted October 23, 2011

Absolutley terrible if you are not "normal" everyday i go here is torture the teachers do not car eabou the students well being at all and the principal shows favoritism at the begining of the year he gives his no tolerance speech while the parents are there once there gone your on your own harrasment is a norm here if your child isnt the perfect image of an athletic i highly sugest you send them anywhere but here the bulling has gotten so bad im having to switch school ive never been made to feel so worthless as i do here the close minded conservative atmosphereis all you wil find here
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2011

Most all are great teachers, and now a good principal. As a previous student and now a parent, I think Glencoe High School is poised to be even more outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It is like a public private school. Couldn't have asked for a better school for my daughter to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

I love Glencoe High School. The teachers are wonderful and I found myself adequately prepared for college and for life. I will certainly be sending my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I am a former graduate of GHS! I absolutely loved this school and I would most defiantly send my kids to this school. The teachers were great and the students are never afraid to ask questions either in class or outside of class. No one in our graduating class ever picked on anyone, we were actually quite close. There were even some students that weren't able to afford some things and some anonymously contributed and even the class got together to help out. I am one of those students that could not get a letterman's jacket and my mother told me she could afford one. I was alright with it. I never said anything to anyone,& I know my parent's didn't. We got a call one day to pick up the jacket from the cleaners. I still to this day don't know who did it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2006

GHS is a wonderful school. My child has started during his senior year and has been treated wonderful by his peers. It has been like we have been here all of our lives. Parents of the students should pat themselves on the backs, they have raised fine, quality young men and ladies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

My son goes to Glencoe High, is a football player and has never been into any kind of trouble. He is in what I think to be one of the best schools in the nation. I am proud to be the mother of a Glencoe Yellow Jacket, and I am proud of the staff at the school. GO JACKETS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Glencoe High has a major problem in showing favortism for Football players, Cheerleaders, or anyone with a high standing in the community. If you do not play sports you are targeted for harrasment. My son was picked on by the principal on a daily basis. It got so bad he was asking to quit school. We are talking about a child with a very high IQ, very shy, not at all a trouble maker. He was pointed out because of the color of his shirt, and his hair color. The last 4 years of his life have been miserable. He had bad grades and a lot of absences because he simply did not want to go. When all it would have taken is one male teacher or principal to take some interest in him and show him he mattered also even though he didn't play sports
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

76 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students91%
Female85%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty96%

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students89%
Female79%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty96%

Social Studies

All Students85%
Female79%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty94%

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students90%
Female97%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty92%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

803 Lonesome Bend Rd
Glencoe, AL 35905
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 492-2250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Weaver Tech Center
Gadsden, AL


Etowah Academy
East Gadsden, AL


C I T Y Program
Gadsden, AL


Hokes Bluff High School
Hokes Bluff, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT