Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hampton Cove Middle School

Public | 6-9 | 595 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

This school has a big bulling problem. The states for the school look good because they do not write up fights. I know this for a fact my son has been in two fights and has never has in-school suspension or at home suspension. He got in both of those fights because he was being bullied. He tried telling teacher and that got him no where. As the teacher are almost bullies themselves. Now when I say that. They have some really good teachers but the also have some bad ones. The problem is the admin at this school does nothing about any of it they just turn a blind eye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

We love our middle school. We have great parent participation, and good communication with our teachers. Our principal makes herself readily available for questions and concerns. My kids enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Bullies are a problem here both from the students and the teachers. Kids know when they aren't being watched and they take advantage of it. Teachers are in a position of power over the kids, and parents are helpless to do anything about it since it could cause them to be targeted for the next couple of years. Teachers are only required to log 2 grades each week online so the online grades aren't very accurate. Overall the teachers are good, the principal is good and the curriculum is good too. But it only takes a couple of things to make a pre-teen miserable, and when the teacher is always right, a parent's hands are tied. PTA and fundraising efforts are a little over-the-top aggressive. Once someone is given a quasi-title of room mom or band president or PTA-anything, it goes to their head. PTA is great at this school, but they're too aggressive. Moms should be moms, and school employees should be school employees. High school can have back packs but middle school can't because of security. They have to transfer everything to a computer bag once they get to school. Really?!? Difference?!? And yes, even with a computerized school, they have to carry around too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

This is a great school! My kids love this school and the teachers are very caring. Now, don't forget that we as parents also have to contribute to the child's development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

This school is by far the worst school I've ever been to and trust me I've lived a lot of places I come here and everyone's nice and first then nobody talks to you... I used to be very outgoing and would talk to anybody now im scared to even smile, this place ruined me don't let that happen to your kid. ONLY SEND YOUR CHILD HERE IF YOU HATE THEM! Im serious only bad things come from here.


Posted January 7, 2013

We regret ever sending our child here. Our daughter experienced daily bullying, but the administration never took the issue seriously. My daughter even experienced incidences of bullying by a teacher. We pulled our daughter out mid-year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

We love this school. We've been pleased with the strong leadership and with teachers dedicated to educating our kids to the next level. Standards and expectations are high. Students are learning how to be good citizens too. Great things to come from HCMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Before my daughter started at Hampton Cove, she went to private schools. She has be consistently challenged academically at Hampton Cove. The teachers are helpful and nice. When my daughter started there last year, it took a long time for her to make friends, (which isn't normal for her). She has made some fairly good ones now, but as I said it took a long time. There were also bullies there last year, but they have been removed and are not there this year. All in all I think this is the best middle school in Huntsville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

Very positive academic environment. Very clean school; bathrooms are clean and well maintained, lighting is good, equipment and furniture are in very good shape, walls are cheerful, decorated and clean. Parents are active with their kids in clubs and sports. Little if any bullying. No conerns at all about safety or drugs. The students seem polite and engaging. Body language (giggling and singing, etc) and dress appearance in dicates well balanced home life (for example, nothing vulgar on T shirts, no questionable attire). Students are high functioning and come from mostly upper middle class background with educated, professional parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

i love hampton cove and its great all the teachers are ah-mazing
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I just came to 6th grade from Hampton Cove Elementary. I'll have to say, I was very unprepared. And in my Honnors math class, I felt so dumb compared to all the math whizzes. But I am learning what I have trouble with, thanks to my awesome teachers. The teachers do their best to keep us (students) challenged. Even if that means projects frequently. I really enjoy it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

Great leadership trickles down through principal to the teachers and to the students. Not perfect, no school is, but this school does not strive to simply 'fit' a formula but finds ways to expect and get excellence from their students in grades, character and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

We are new to Hampton Cove and my daughter just started the 6th grade. She loves it, the teachers and the staff are very friendly and seem to care about the students. I am glad we moved to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Hampton cove middle school is a very good school for any child to attend the teachers are wonderful.They seem to care about the students.The office staff is very friendly and helpful when needed.thank you'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education67%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty73%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students97%
Female3%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty82%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education57%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty69%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty88%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty87%
Not poverty96%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education75%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty80%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty63%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 58%
Black 9% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Debi S Edwards
Fax number
  • (256) 428-8383

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

261 Old 431 Hwy
Hampton Cove, AL 35763
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-8380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Big Cove Christian Academy
Owens Cross Roads, AL


Mt Gap Middle School
Huntsville, AL





Randolph School
Huntsville, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT