Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hampton Cove Middle School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
we just moved here 6 weeks ago and my son, who is in the 6 th grade has been bullied. Not by the other students, by the administration and teachers. The teachers rely too much on the laptops and do not communicate with the students at all about assignments. Teachers berate the kids in front of the class and teachers and the principles hand out silent lunches without notifying the students or parents beforehand. My son has come home crying almost everyday. My husband and I have called several times, each time we're told the problem will be taken care of and it never is. This is the worst school I've ever dealt with. I will be withdrawing my child and homeschooling. My other 2 kids have had great experiences with Goldsmith-Schiffman elementary and Huntsville High.

Hampton Cove Middle School 3

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
I agree with the bullying others have wrote about. It is a who knows who school and the kids can be very mean. The worse bullies are the "Popular" clicks that seem to get away with anything because the administrators are afraid of ruining the school reputation. The administrators will lie to cover themselves and protect the fabricated school reputation. It is a shame because this is a nice area and the school has good teachers. The school dress code is also a joke. The enforcement is based on favoritism.


Hampton Cove Middle School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
We moved and when my daughter came her everyone was kind and loving. She now has great friends and teachers!

Hampton Cove Middle School 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
This school has a big bulling problem. The states for the school look good because they do not write up fights. I know this for a fact my son has been in two fights and has never has in-school suspension or at home suspension. He got in both of those fights because he was being bullied. He tried telling teacher and that got him no where. As the teacher are almost bullies themselves. Now when I say that. They have some really good teachers but the also have some bad ones. The problem is the admin at this school does nothing about any of it they just turn a blind eye.

Hampton Cove Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
We love our middle school. We have great parent participation, and good communication with our teachers. Our principal makes herself readily available for questions and concerns. My kids enjoy going to school.


Hampton Cove Middle School 3

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Bullies are a problem here both from the students and the teachers. Kids know when they aren't being watched and they take advantage of it. Teachers are in a position of power over the kids, and parents are helpless to do anything about it since it could cause them to be targeted for the next couple of years. Teachers are only required to log 2 grades each week online so the online grades aren't very accurate. Overall the teachers are good, the principal is good and the curriculum is good too. But it only takes a couple of things to make a pre-teen miserable, and when the teacher is always right, a parent's hands are tied. PTA and fundraising efforts are a little over-the-top aggressive. Once someone is given a quasi-title of room mom or band president or PTA-anything, it goes to their head. PTA is great at this school, but they're too aggressive. Moms should be moms, and school employees should be school employees. High school can have back packs but middle school can't because of security. They have to transfer everything to a computer bag once they get to school. Really?!? Difference?!? And yes, even with a computerized school, they have to carry around too much.

Hampton Cove Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school! My kids love this school and the teachers are very caring. Now, don't forget that we as parents also have to contribute to the child's development.

Hampton Cove Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2013
- a community member
This school is by far the worst school I've ever been to and trust me I've lived a lot of places I come here and everyone's nice and first then nobody talks to you... I used to be very outgoing and would talk to anybody now im scared to even smile, this place ruined me don't let that happen to your kid. ONLY SEND YOUR CHILD HERE IF YOU HATE THEM! Im serious only bad things come from here.


Hampton Cove Middle School 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
We regret ever sending our child here. Our daughter experienced daily bullying, but the administration never took the issue seriously. My daughter even experienced incidences of bullying by a teacher. We pulled our daughter out mid-year.

Hampton Cove Middle School 5

Posted December 28, 2011
- a parent
We love this school. We've been pleased with the strong leadership and with teachers dedicated to educating our kids to the next level. Standards and expectations are high. Students are learning how to be good citizens too. Great things to come from HCMS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampton Cove Middle School
261 Old 431 Hwy, Hampton Cove, AL  35763
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (256) 428-8380
Last modified Hampton Cove Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top