Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barkley Bridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 397 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

We moved to Hartselle for what is supposed to be some of the best schools in the state. What a mistake! The teachers tried to bring my child to our house during school hours when we weren't home on 2 different occasions because she left something. If your child does the slightest thing such as blurt out an answer without raising their hand the school will call you in for a conference. Once you get to the conference they try to talk you into medicating your child. They expect every student to be perfect and not say a word without being called upon. I have spokne with numerous other parents and everyone that I have spoken with have also had to attend a "medication conference". Those that chose to medicate their children afterwards have said it has been a nightmare. The first thing the teacher's ask the medicated children each day in front of the rest of the students is "Did you take your medicine this morning"? Those that say "no" have to have their parents called to bring it to them. In turn, the entire school knows who takes medicine and who doesn't. As a result, the children that do take it get teased by all of the non-medicated students. This is a HIPAA violation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

I have had three children go though Barkley Bridge and have been pleased with the quality of the education and the experiences they have had. This schoo received tremendous parental support and constantly strives to improve upon past achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Barkley Bridge is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

I think the teachers are doing a wonderful job with my son this year. However, I do wish parents were informed on an every two week basis about the performance of our children. Letting the parents know of any types of concerns they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I have two children enrolled at Barkley Bridge Elementary (1st and 4th grades). I love the school and so do my children. The Principal and teachers are wonderful. They push the children to learn all they can. Academically the school is challenging, which I appreciate, but help is available to those who need it. I am a teacher at another school and I appreciate all that the teachers and other staff at Barkley Bridge do for my children. Parental involvement is very very high at Barkley Bridge. Teachers ask for support and parents give it. PTO is very active and useful at BBE. BBE has a wonderful curriculum, but I would love to see art added to the curriculum. I highly recommend BBE to any future student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

My son loves Barkley Bridge! I have also been very happy over the last three years. The environment at the school is very positive, and the teachers and staff are caring and encouraging to the students. The teachers we have had did a wonderful job challenging my son to strive to do his best. My family highly reccommends Barkley Bridge for your child's elementary school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

So far Ive been very pleased with barkley bridge. My daughter will be in first grade this year but she learned to read & do some math last yr in kindergarden. I know some kids in other schools who are not even doing that yet. bridge has been great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female80%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty88%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 35%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2333 Barkley Bridge Rd
Hartselle, AL 35640
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 773-1931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bethel Baptist School
Hartselle, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT