Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public
Hartselle, AL
Students enrolled: 330
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barkley Bridge Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
This is the most stuck up school I have ever seen. The majority of the staff and parent are low class to barely middle class yet they think their stuff don't stink and they are better than everyone. These people really could use a reality check.

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
The school is by far the best in the city. The principal has made this school one of the best in the United States. I have had two children come through this school and I was very pleased..Keep up the great work..Happy Parent


Barkley Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
I've never heard of such a thing as a medication conference. Also, how are the teachers able to bring your child home to get something that was left at home? Wouldn't they just call you instead? Personally you should make sure an elementary child has everything that they need, pack it the night before. I'm not a big fan of this school, mostly because they don't strive for the children to go above what's grade level. Not to mention the staff is snotty. My kindergartener can read on a 3rd grade level but didn't qualify for gifted services because she's only in kindergarten. Gimme a break. Her teacher on the other hand was great and did everything extra for my child. I would love to see her challenged, but maybe I'll have to move out of state for that.

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 1

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Hartselle for what is supposed to be some of the best schools in the state. What a mistake! The teachers tried to bring my child to our house during school hours when we weren't home on 2 different occasions because she left something. If your child does the slightest thing such as blurt out an answer without raising their hand the school will call you in for a conference. Once you get to the conference they try to talk you into medicating your child. They expect every student to be perfect and not say a word without being called upon. I have spokne with numerous other parents and everyone that I have spoken with have also had to attend a "medication conference". Those that chose to medicate their children afterwards have said it has been a nightmare. The first thing the teacher's ask the medicated children each day in front of the rest of the students is "Did you take your medicine this morning"? Those that say "no" have to have their parents called to bring it to them. In turn, the entire school knows who takes medicine and who doesn't. As a result, the children that do take it get teased by all of the non-medicated students. This is a HIPAA violation!

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2010
- a parent
I have had three children go though Barkley Bridge and have been pleased with the quality of the education and the experiences they have had. This schoo received tremendous parental support and constantly strives to improve upon past achievements.


Barkley Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Barkley Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barkley Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barkley Bridge Elementary School
2333 Barkley Bridge Rd, Hartselle, AL  35640
(256) 773-1931
Last modified Barkley Bridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barkley Bridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top