Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestline Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 587 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

Awesome school and staff!!!!!!!! My daughter moved from another school this year and is lving every minute!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2011

I love the school & how they love for the parents to get involved. My daughter is being tested for autism & a Crestline teacher my son had helped my daughter get into a speech class while she was in preschool. I have volunteered numerous times & I absolutly love the way they do things there. I'm even new to the area so I thought volunteering would be difficult for me but when they had parent orentation & meeting with the teacher. I told her that I was a volunteer & would love to help with anything that she needed. Teachers give you their phone numbers & e-mail so you can stay in touch. The Teacher that my kids have had loves their kids as if they were their own. As for the walking on the lines through the hall way; its a great way of teaching the kids to stay in line especially the kindergarteners. Kids like walking on the lines so I don't see what the problem is there! The principle is very nice & has tea time during school hours so parents can voice their concerns about things. She actually wants us as parents ideas & advice. They teach the kids to be responsible, be respectful, & be safe. You have to think that some rules are made b/c of some bad apples out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

I agree Mrs Varwig needs to move on. And yes the teachers and Staff are required to watch our children when they are on school grounds. We ave checked into this at school board! The school needs alot of changes. They allow bullying and do nothing, we ask that our child be tested for a learning problem and nothing gets done.They like to talk down to you as if we know nothing. Tanks for the comment people need t know. Mary


Posted April 8, 2011

I have talked with several parents and by several I mean over 30 and approximately 20 teachers. They all have the same thing in common " Mrs Varwig needs to find a new line of work". Some research I have done has revealed her salary to be around 110k a year, the city is not getting their money worth. Don't pick up your child late, she will threaten to file abandonment charges against you. I was late by 10 min and called to let them know I was running late and when I walked up to get my child she said being late will not happen again (first time) or the child will HAVE TO BE PUT IN EXTENDED CARE. I asked why my child couldn't wait just inside the door and was told that she nor her staff where required to watch children after 3:05PM. I asked her what the school board thought about that and panic came across her face. That's when she threatned me with child abandonment if I was late one more time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

It's a great place to learn. The teachers are very dedicated to the students and their school careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I was shocked the first day of school to learn that the children were required to walk a taped line on the floor wherever they go within the school. My son has enjoyed the social aspect of school, but hasn't progressed since starting at Crestline. I am an involved parent and volunteered to help, only to be told they have a 'volunteer schedule' that is booked a month in advance. When I finally got permission to HELP at school, I was questioned repeatedly in the halls by the principal about why I was in the school. I was simply there to read to the children and make craft projects with them. I found the educational environment stiff and unwelcoming for the children and the parent participants.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My child has had a wonderful learning experience at Crestline so far. We expect this positive experiece to continue through the fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

Outstanding School. Good programs and Very involved Teachers. Our grandson was difficult in Kindergarden but is making A's in 1st grade. A good learning environment


Posted September 26, 2007

My family moved here when my son was in first grade. Everone I mean everone said Crestline. We did so and have never regretted it. I grew up in the hoover school system so I compare it to that. I think the too are equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

I love Crestline Elementary School.. My daughter started kindergarten there and had the best kindergarten teacher ever to start her first year of learning and she still adores Mrs. Robinson. She has moved into first grade and once again she is loving school. Having a great staff to watch over your child in your absense with the confidence that they are safe and having a wonderful learning experience is super. She can't wait to go to school which of course make things easier for everyone!! We are not originally from this area but the Crestline School welcomed me as if I had lived in Hartselle all my life. -Kim Murphy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I moved to this area in November of 2006 along with my two granddaughters ages 7&8, 2nd and 3rd grades. The teachers and staff are outstanding and very helpful the whole school made the girls feel welcome and although it has been a struggle for my oldest she has began to improve and looks forward to attending school everyday. The teachers go above and beyond, especially Mrs. Witt who deserves a medal for her patience and guidance. I only wish we had moved here a few years back so my grandchildren would have had a more solid education. There is just no comparison to the Hartselle School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

I love Crestline Elementary School. My son had went to two other schools before we moved to the Cresline area. He had to be held back in KG and struggled with learning; he was very unhappy and developing low self esteem. He has started second grade at Crestline this year and has made A honor roll, his reading & math skills have greatly improved and he loves school now! A.H. LaShuere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

I think Crestline is a first-rate school, with a very dedicated & caring faculty and staff. We have been very pleased with our experience there since 1998. Dr. Joe Walters is an exceptional prinicipal. He does a superb job. My children feel safe and comfortable, and are excited to go to school at Crestline. We could have placed our children in any of Hartselle's elementary schools, but I am very pleased with our choice of Crestline. It really is a 'great place to learn'(our school motto), and my children have learned a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students91%
Female96%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education25%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education17%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students78%
Female81%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education17%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty60%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 58%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 2% 35%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Robin Kay Varwig
Fax number
  • (256) 773-3255

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Crestline Dr SW
Hartselle, AL 35640
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 773-9967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bethel Baptist School
Hartselle, AL




St. Ann School
Decatur, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT