Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fe Burleson Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

Just not a good school for my kids. They try to be like the other two schools and they are not close. I was very upset that all they do is teach the test and nothing else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

Snobs snobs snobs. Teachers, parents, and even the children, as young as five and six! Parents are not allowed to classroom activities if you have a younger child. I missed absolutely everything my child was involved in because I have another child and no babysitter. If you are not in the parent "click" expect to be treated like dirt. All the teachers need a lesson in humility and kindness..not fakeness. The staff in the office is ridiculous too! So judgmental. Parents need to realize when they talk about other parents and children in front of their own, their children repeat it and act as rude as them. Stop judging based on what people wear. Im not paying that kind of money for my child to look like everyone else. We teach uniqueness in our family, not conformity. I have never dealt with this "breed" of people. It is astounding how fake and judgmental this community is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

FE Burleson is the BEST elementary school in Hartselle! Children get an awesome education while also being exposed to diversity and culture which to this mom equals the best real world experience. I am so proud to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

F E Burleson has the best teachers and the students are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

F E Burleson is a great place for kids to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I went to Burleson from K-5 when I was younger and now my son is a student here as well, and actually had the same teacher for kindergarden that I did. I know I enjoyed being there when I was a kid; and to see that excitement & enthusiasim my son shows for it as well, makes me fell really good in the decision I made in moving back to Bama to have him enrolled in school here! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I really love this school.its the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

This school is the best!!!!!! The teachers and the administration are great! No complaints from me or my child. Mrs. Calvert has an open door policy who could ask for anything more. Keep up the good work F. E. B. M. Barley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

We will be leaving FEB soon and it will be hard. The teachers are great, the staff is great and they provide so much for so many. They are very focused on every child learning as much as possible and they work on each child's level. This is not an easy task because all children don't learn at the same speed, but they do it brilliantly! I have spent many hours at the school with different teachers and I am completely impressed. As for Mrs.Calvert, anyone who would dress-up as 'The Grinch' for hundreds of parents and grandparents, not to mention the superintendent of the school, she has my vote any day. She is not only concerned about test scores, by the way they are great, but the overall well being and absolute safety of the children. Thanks FEB!!! We'll miss you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I have been associated with Burleson School for many years. It has the feeling of home. I would not hesiate to recommend our school to anyone. The staff and Principal are the greatest. Mrs. Calvert is doing a wonderful job. She has really brought our test scores up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

Burleson is a wonderful school. I think since my son began there several years ago the teachers and principal have made a real effort to work better with the parents. I am happy with my son's education and with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

This is a very good school that could be great. Unfortunately problems we have with the principle have us seriously considering changing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

I love F.E.Burleson. I think that the teachers and faculty are great. The only problem I have is with the new principal, Ms. Calvert. I don't think that she understands how she reacts and what she says to the children actually effect them. I had to explain to him that his grades is what gets him to the third grade. Other than that the school is a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

The only problem that I have had with Burleson is communication. I expect to hear of my children's weakness in a subject before they make a bad grade on their report card. How much time does it take to send home a note or make a phone call. I have found this to be a problem for the last couple of years with the teachers and the administration. Especially the principle. We had thought seriously about moving them to another school, but decided to stay another year. Other than the communication aspet, I feel that Burleson is an overall good school. K. Akers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I worked in a school system, other than Hartselle City and I sent all three of my children to Burleson...I could not asked for a better school than this! All the children were treated as individuals and each of their individual needs were met. I have never seen a school as 'personal' as this! It was such a wonderful experience for my children and myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

While the quality of education is good, there seems to be a problem with communication between the school and the parent. Complaints do not seem to be taken seriously and the staff members are very defensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty82%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty85%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty88%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty90%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty100%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students89%
Female97%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty82%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty82%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 58%
Black 8% 34%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sherry R Calvert
Fax number
  • (256) 773-3643

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Bethel Rd NE
Hartselle, AL 35640
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 773-2411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethel Baptist School
Hartselle, AL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT