Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creekside Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2005

I have been very pleased with the teachers at Creekside Elementary. I would love to see more parental involvement. Parents are discouraged from coming to the school. I too have filled out the volunteer forms and have offered at the office with no response. To truly have a successful program it takes teachers and staff working WITH parents. I hope to see a change. I was told over the summer that with the NEW principle we would see change. So far it is still a very cold environment. I have considered private school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2004

My son has gone to Creekside for the past three years. I have been very satisfied with all of the teachers and faculty. I highly recommend Creekside Elem. It is a wonderful school. I do not feel that it is closed off to parents. But in this day and age increased security measures have to be taken to insure the safety of our children. I have always had access to my child. My experience with the Limestone County Education System has been very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

My child has been to other schools, and (by far) this one is the most closed off to parents. Parents are not allowed in the building before or after school (which was allowed in the other schools my son attended and was a primary source for me to talk to his teachers about my son's performance (he has special needs) and to see if the teacher needs anything for the classroom). Last year, they did their homework in class and turned it in, so I had no idea how he was doing until graded papers came home (too late to help!). Also, there is no notice of extracurricular activities (soccer, karate, etc) like at the other schools (we used to get fliers). It's not a bad school, but I almost feel like they're hiding something. Maybe because it's so close the prison, I don't know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

This school needs to improve their interracial skills. My child has attended this school for 3 years and is in the minority. It seems to me, as well as others that I have spoken with, that A difference is made in children of minority races. I have offered my time to volunteer each year, and remain overlooked each time. It does not matter to me that we are in one of the wealthiest areas of Limestone County, all the children deserve the same educational opportunities. The principal situation is a shame. Also I agree that the PE curriculum is a little stiff. There might be a little more parent involvement, if visiting the school didn't require a federal clearance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

We have been with Creekside since the doors opened and love it! RE:VOLUNTEERS-If you haven't been called to volunteer, have you considered just showing up? Even if you are just having lunch with your child occasionally, you will discover a place where you are needed or you will be approached by the volunteers that are there on a daily basis. I have never been turned down, neither will you. RE:PRINCIPALS-Dr. Gartman does help with carlines and even Mr. Witt did upkeep on the school grounds. This shows they are willing to exceed the boundries of the office. RE:CAR LINES-Were you there the 1st year when cars conjested the roads? There have been improvements and if you have answers then offer details. Otherwise you could consider the bussing system which(by looking at the car line)isn't being used. RE:PE COACHES: If parents would turn off PlayStation then PE wouldn't seem so tuff! MOM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have been impressed with the teachers and the administration at Creekside. They seem to really care about the students. Dr.Gartman seems to be a great principal. She can be seen every day helping with the car line- even during a thunderstorm! How many other principals have you seen that are willing to do the 'dirty work'? She has been available for parent conferences when I needed to talk with her about my child. She is a good leader for the school. The parents are involved and welcome at the school. Every day you will find volunteers working on various projects that support the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

In 4 years this is the 3rd? principle? Something isnt right. Parent involvement is very low. I personally have sent in notes and calls saying I am available to help in any way and have not been contacted at all this year. The pick up lines after school could use some work, ad also the morning drop off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

It disturbes me to know we are a new school and have had four principals. Also, our school is in one of the wealthiest areas of Limestone County and we still have the threat of losing our Art and Music programs. In addition, parent involvement seems to be low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Under the leadership of Dr. Gartman Creekside will make steady progress in meeting academic and social goals expected by the splendid community that it serves. Maintaining focus on the cognitive and social development of our yourth is challenging for anyone. There is no one more qualified than Dr. Gartman to provide the leadership needed to bring about positive and lasting change in the lives of our youth.


Posted December 24, 2003

The P.E. Coaches are too hard on the kids. P.E. is all about getting some exercise during the day I'm all for that but how about having some fun too? This is an elementary school not boot camp. The coaches need to ease up and stop being drill sargeants. These are our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Creekside is on their fourth principal in three years. This is very disturbing. Consequently, there is very little parent involvement with things such as PTO, etc. due to the ever changing atmosphere. However, they have a good caliber of teacher who strive for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2003

This is a wonderful school that has a staff that really cares about the student's academic and personal growth. The involvement of the parents is outstanding. I highly recommend this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty86%

Reading

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female77%
Male66%
Black53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White74%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty74%

Reading

All Students89%
Female96%
Male84%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education53%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty90%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education53%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education47%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty58%
Non-poverty83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 58%
Black 15% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16049 Sanderson Rd
Harvest, AL 35749
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 216-8702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT