Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harvest School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
It is my grandson's school and I have been active in the school in numerous areas. When his parents found out that they were zooned for this school we were all a bit sick. We had heard all negative comments and no positive one but this is where he had to go. WOW were we in for the most pleasant surprise. He has done well and has had many struggles to so, but with the teachers they have there ALL children get the positive enforcement they need. The best thing that happened in the years was the change in principals. The first one was good but the new man, Mr Chapmann has been excellent. He has made a big change in the teachers too. They are so much happier acting and this transfers to the students. My grandson is leaving for middle school and isready thanks to all his teachers and especially to a couple and Mr Chapmann thank you for allowing me to address this school.

Harvest School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I have 5 children. all but one have gone through Harvest, the last starts next year. I couldn't be happier. I have one special needs child and the teachers are simply amazing with him. very dedicated staff


Harvest School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
I've seen this school go from marginal to exceptional in the 5 years my son has attended. Test scores got better every year and the leadership at the school improved every year as well. There are some truly great teachers here and they seem to genuinely care about the kids. They are definitely headed in the right direction!

Harvest School 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a parent
Given the dedicated and hard-working administration and faculty, Harvest Elementary School is a fantastic environment for learning. The Principal and Vice-Principal are dedicated to the academic and personal growth of each student, and I'm convinced that the HES teachers translate that into excellence in the classroom. One does not have to dig too far under the surface to find a group of teaches that are committed to the HES student body in mind and soul, and many have served that school and our community for years. I will be eternally grateful for all involved in the development of my child these past six years.

Harvest School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a community member
I attended Harvest Elementary School from Pre-K through fifth grade. I have now graduated high school. When I attended Harvest, it was an amazing school. I was always involved in some learning experience, and the teachers were always there to help in any way possible, and to challenge us. I had the same principal as is there now, and many of the same teachers. Looking back, I am proud to say that I attended this school, for it prepared me exceptionally for middle school. I would not have wanted to go anywhere else.


Harvest School 1

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
I have three kids attending this school and am so glad the year is coming to an end! There is so much micr-managing going on at this school that it is obvious the principle does not believe the teachers can handle their jobs nor does it seem that there is any faith in the childrens ability to achieve greatness. The expectations are low and the challenges are far and few between. I want nothing more than to enroll in a different school next year!

Harvest School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
all my kids went there,great teachers,and overall school!

Harvest School 4

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
I worried about my child attending Harvest because of the talks about the principal. I have not directly had to deal with her but I feel there is a little tension between the teachers and the principal. I have not encountered a teacher I did not like. They are exceptional and are the ones that work with your children and do a wonderful job. And on another note, I have never seen parent participation so LOW in a school.


Harvest School
no rating

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
I am very pleased at the education my son has been giving over the past 4 years he has been attending this school. I have not any better teachers than the ones at Harvest Elementary. The ones that I speek of are not there anymore, but when my son and I see them out they always speak to us wherever we might be.I also have not had the pleasure of my third grade sons teacher to come to his baseball game on his day off.That truly ment alot to us,and we will never forget that special moment. Again I say keep up the good work,and keep doing what you do best. Thank-you, Mr. Kennedy, and Mrs. Waring. You have really impacted our life.

Harvest School 2

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
There is a very palpable, negative atmosphere at this school. The principal is condescending, and talks down to parents. Parents are not welcome in the classroom -- not because of the teachers, by the way. We've been there two years, and both of my child's teachers said we were welcome to drop in anytime. Unfortunately, you can't get past the front desk, so, in reality, you aren't welcome anytime. Believe me, if I could quit work, I would home school my child. And, we aren't novice parents -- this is our youngest child's school, we have kids in college, and we've lived all over the US as a military family. This is among the worst schools we've ever encountered.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harvest School
8845 Wall Triana Hwy, Harvest, AL  35749
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (256) 837-0379
Last modified Harvest School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top