Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sparkman High School

Public | 10-12 | 1900 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Transferred to area. Like Engineering Acad. & AP teachers! Mr. Maddox & Ms. Simon = Grade A+. Blown away by Dr. Clanton, College Coach, A+. WELL-versed & specific in recommendations for college/scholarships. We all breathed a major sigh of relief. Haven't met/seen any of the administrators & don't know about parent involvement. This is why I'm giving a 4 instead of a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

I literally laughed out loud after reading the good reviews on this school. Sparkman is full of drugs, violence and everything else a parent would not want their kid to be around. The administration is worried about where the next gang initiation will be as opposed to the academic excdllence of the student population. One would think that with a such a large number of students coming that the football team woud be good. This is not the case at all. Parents, only send your kid to Sparkman if you don't love them. -former student. I do not allow my kids to drive within a 2-mile radius of that "school".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Most people writing reviews are administration, wanting to keep people at Sparkman by giving it 5 stars. I promise you every family I know that sends their child to Sparkman has no choice. It's overcrowded, filled with violence, and honestly they dumb down the material for everyone else that way the football players don't get cut from the team. If you think sports and popularity is what we should base reviews off of, be my guest. You aren't going to get the attention you need as a student for EDUCATION. One of the many reasons my mom pulled me out was, aside from the excessive violence, I wasn't getting the attention I deserved from teachers due to troublemakers. A lot was not done for these problem children. Save yourself time, money, and peace of mind...don't send your children to SHS. (If you though Sparkman Middle was bad, hold on tight.)


Posted October 27, 2013

This is an excellent school. This school encourages and monitor students' progress toward meeting grade-level standard. However, with any school, parental involvement is essential. Due to the population of the area, the school has seen an increase in enrollment. At this time, SHS is one of the largest schools in the state. While the school board seeks to rectify this issue, the school continues to grow. The school caters to a wide variety of educational needs. For instance, they have curriculum specifically catered to students interested in engineering, medicine, and business. They also offer curriculum geared towards students who are interested in learning a trade by partnering with a community college. The school has several extra-curricular activities that include music, band, football, basketball, volleyball, cheerleading, ROTC, debate clubs, drama clubs, business clubs and much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

More care should be taken when talking it through with young people that streak. This may prevent further hangings. But the system must be protected at all cost hey Sparkman High. Shame on you for not protecting this vulnerable young man


Posted August 17, 2013

Other than a few school sport pep rally cutbacks, my school is headed in the right direction. I would recommend this school over any other public school in North Alabama.


Posted August 7, 2013

While there is an issue of overcrowding, being a Sparkman Senator is a great opportunity for students who love to get involved in their school and community. I sing the highest praises for the Newspaper and Medical Academy programs, and Dr. Clanton is an invaluable resource when preparing for college. I truly believe the reason I so enjoy attending SHS is because of the benefits of being involved in programs and advanced classes; it truly makes the difference.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2013

My school is great, because they are headed in the right direction. Money has held our school back in capital improvement projects, but our new principal and the teachers and staff at the school really put their hearts into the school and into making it better. Any school that is willing to bring about change and try to make the school always better, deserves maximum support from it's community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Sparkman High School is a wonderful school full of opportunities for students in activities ranging from academic and athletics to service, career and fine arts organizations. It is a large school, but the size affords so many opportunities that smaller schools can't offer. AP and Pre-AP Courses and 7 learning Academies: Medical, Physics/Engineering, Construction, Mass Media/Journalism, Business, JROTC, and Photography! Sparkman is now under the leadership of a new principal who is going to make significant improvements in morale, perception and curriculum, bringing Sparkman High School into a new era of achievement and excellence. It is a great time to be a Sparkman Senator!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Sparkman is an amazing school with awesome teachers and great classes. It gets a bad rap in the community, but this school has very high scores and pulls in a huge amount of scholarship money each year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

Sparkman is a great school. I think this school is very underesitmated in its success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2013

Dr. Clanton, the College & Career Counselor, changed Sparkman High School! Her passion for helping students & challenging them to be their best touched my life in a major way. As a sophomore, I planned to go to work after h.s. Dr. C showed me HOW to prepare for college, get scholarships and aim high. I never had that before. She changed my life in a good way! Everyone is talking about scholarships and college. We love you Dr. Clanton
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2012

Sparkman... in a word? Rollercoaster. teachers are off and on about how well they cover certain curriculum and its been my experiance for a teacher to tell us to "teach" ourselves certain chapters in Chemistry. Also as a medical student ive enjoyed visiting the hospital but my teachers have been consistenly uncooperative in commuinication and helping me excel as a student. I enjoy all my friends i have made here but one thing is for certain, if teachers would work harder to push students and help them excel in areas that they enjoy then this would be a top noched school. WOULD being the key word. So any teachers reading this, help your students and be understanding towards them as this makes all the difference in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2011

if you don't mine the all the people its a great school the teachers a great too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2010

i am currently a student at sparkman high school and the administraters are very understanding and the teachers are the best uit may be a bit crowded but i get the best education possible sparkman rocks
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2010

coming from out of state, very happy with quality of education, not concerned about the size afterall my kids will likely attend large colleges, their high school experience will only benefit them, from our experience nationwide SHS JROTC is one of the best in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

Sparkman High School is one of the best schools i have been too. our principal is strict, but not overbearing. That strictness is in place to keep us safe. We have had bad situations in the past which has given the school an undeserved bad reputation. I feel very safe at Sparkman. While we do struggle with overcrowding, I feel that the teachers do the best they can with severely limited resources. I'm taking all AP classes, and I am perfectly happy with the education I am receiving. A lot of the times at Sparkman it is not the teacher's fault that a child is doing badly, it is the student's. All of the teachers at Sparkman are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2010

Sparkman us a great school some of the 9th grade teachers are not the best and like all schools we have some troubled kids and also some times the administraters are not the best but the one thing that keeps everyone in line is the JROTC instructors like 1st sergent(ret) jones and Lt col Cunningham (ret) master sergent Taylor also help because they looked out for the students there and sometimes they have a better control over the school then the administraters this is why the JROTC is some of the best in the country and if you say that programs like this is a waste of funds then you have disrespected the protectors of freedom master sergent recently came out of retirment to defend your freedoms and that is both a good teacher and leader
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2010

My children have been educated around the world at schools that have been tops internationally. We moved to Alabama 2 years ago, and overall, have been very happy with Sparkman and the quality of teachers and quality of education available. I do think the school is too large - and the county is trying to handle that problem now by building a new school and considering rezoning. Bottom line - there are "policies" that I don't agree with and have asked the school to consider changing (with no luck) - but overall it is a good safe school that will prepare students for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

i totaly disagree with all of the negiative comments about my school. i am in the 11th grade and we are a very good school. my class alone has made 97 out of the possible 100 on the graduation exams. yes we are very overcrowed to the point where you have to use shortcuts but i does not take away from the education given in the class rooms. as a student i am overwhelmed with the amount of cousre opprutinities at shs. the lack of fundding is a problem but not a huge one. i am glad that i am going to sparkman and i do know that i am getting one of the best educations in alabama as well as in the u.s.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

574 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

573 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

574 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

575 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

385 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

570 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

589 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

589 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

589 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

589 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

443 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

589 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native95%
White98%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible89%
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native84%
White84%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education15%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty64%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native79%
White92%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education50%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native89%
White91%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible89%
Special education33%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty90%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female74%
Male85%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native84%
White87%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education42%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black99%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White99%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education94%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic84%
American Indian/Alaskan Native85%
White96%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education50%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty97%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian/Alaskan Native92%
White99%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education67%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian/Alaskan Native92%
White97%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education50%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian/Alaskan Native92%
White98%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education67%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 58%
Black 31% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2616 Jeff Rd
Harvest, AL 35749
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 837-0331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT