Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Great school that has the complete package! They have great teachers and administration! They have a great band program also!
April 06, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Great school that has the complete package! They have great teachers and administration! They have a great band program also!
Posted April 06, 2016

Sparkman High School 2

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
Met with the Spanish teacher, counselor, and the principal in reference to a lesson taught in Spanish class that was concerning to us. I won't get to in depth but we did not like how part of the lesson was one sided on immigration and how they should not be judgmental on people crossing the border and how they are just looking for a better life. To make a long story short we voiced our concerns that if a student is expected to make an informed opinion on a subject that both sides of the argument should be presented. That not all people who cross the border come to have a better life some come to avoid crimes that they committed in their country, some come to traffic drugs, and others come for reasons other than providing a better living for their families. Well the Principal Mr. Shaw was condescending and made light of our concerns and stated that we were the only parents that had problems with this, which my response was well maybe other parents don't pay attention to what their kids are taught. He also compared current immigration issue with the colonization of the America's by Europeans. The Spanish teacher denied injecting her personal opinion in the lesson even though she stated her goal was to change stereo types with what she felt was correct. She also stated that she took her information form a documentary that we requested she provide 3 weeks before the meeting but she was reluctant to provide until the meeting. Titled "The other side of immigration" directed by Roy Germano. This documentary is basically the typical poor immigrant wants a better life and America should capitulate. So called educators always complain parents don't get involved and that's why students don't do well. This is an example of how educators at Sparkman High School don't care to hear from the parents unless you agree with their way of thinking. I am thinking of moving my daughter out of Sparkman High School because the principal does not care to hear what parents concerns are.


Sparkman High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Munts has a reputation of being tough. However, she truly takes the time to teach her students English. She gives feedback and actually takes her time to look at each student's work. Amazing.

Sparkman High School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Good experience with Sparkman. My daughter is receiving a quality education. She has found friends with good values. She has had teachers who care about her actually learning subjects. There are great parents who truly care about the welfare of the school. Fabulous band and cheer team. Plenty of clubs and extra curricular activities for those interested in being involved.

Sparkman High School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. The school offers a plethora of academic programs and beneficial activities. The teachers, staff, and administration work very hard. Although each of my children have different talents, all of them excelled at Sparkman HS. Within the past 6 years, our kids enjoyed and benefitted from the school's Journalism Program, Marching Band, Symphonic Band, Cheerleading, JROTC, Engineering Program, Choir, Medical Academy, FBLA and sports. The current career counselor, Dr. Clanton, is exceptional. Mr. Campbell, the current principal is a very kind and compassion administrator. Like the majority of the teachers and staff, he really cares about the students. He's approachable, fair, and a supports programs that benefit the students and the school. The kids and parents appreciate his sincerity and drive.


Sparkman High School 4

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
Sparkman High is a great school, with a capacity problem. The school has nationally recognized programs and offers engineering and Medical programs. I disagree with the comments that teachers don t care about the students. This school is like any other, where parental involvement is critical to a successful education. Two of my daughters graduated from Sparkman (2012, and 2013) and are doing extremely well in college (Nursing Major). They both attribute their readiness to the AP courses and medical academy that Sparkman offered.

Sparkman High School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Oh my where to start with SHS? First off if there were a zero or negative star option, that would of been my choice. The administration cares nothing about your child. Zero. Nothing. They care only about grant money from the state of Alabama. If your child struggles, they let them struggle. They truly want to push them to leave. Leave, so the grant money continues. This school is beyond at risk. I am so hopeful for a new high school in the area, I would build it myself. Elementary schools and middle schools in this area are superb. Hence we chose this district to live, SHS has changed my outlook on this. They need to make serious changes. While there are a few good teachers, those poor unfortunate souls are under the rules of the idiocy that is the administration. The assistant principal needs to find another career and if you have ever had the displeasure of meeting her you'd agree. So in closing, if you're new to the area, please reconsider moving into the SHS district. If I save one family from this horrendous school I will feel this review was worth my time. Because as it stands, that's the only reason I write, to save you from SHS. Please STAY AWAY.

Sparkman High School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
Sparkman is a great school! There are plenty of opportunities for students to excel academically and socially. The school has numerous clubs, nationally recognized organizations, academic programs and athletic groups. There are plenty of avenues to excel academically. However, it requires proactive planning, determination, perseverance, parental involvement, and personal accountability.


Sparkman High School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
As a current student of Sparkman, reading the comments makes me feel uneasy. The rumors and the lies spread about Sparkman being a bad school are clearly over exaggerated. Its just like every other school, actually better. The large variety of classes (AP, Honors, Foriegn Laugage, Shop, Tech, Medical Academy, Journalism, etc), the diversity, and the sense of unity is what makes us different. Yes the football team may lose, but there are other sports that are very successful. What matters is.. everyone is doing what the enjoy and the students support them. No they're aren't gangs, violence and sex everywhere. If you're really concerned about how your child will react in the enviorment of this school it all depends them. At Sparkman i feel safe. Really i all depends on your child, how they act and who they hang around. They have their own way of 'handling' Sparkman. Sparkman is a shot of real life not as in bad thing but good.

Sparkman High School 4

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
Transferred to area. Like Engineering Acad. & AP teachers! Mr. Maddox & Ms. Simon = Grade A+. Blown away by Dr. Clanton, College Coach, A+. WELL-versed & specific in recommendations for college/scholarships. We all breathed a major sigh of relief. Haven't met/seen any of the administrators & don't know about parent involvement. This is why I'm giving a 4 instead of a 5.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sparkman High School
2616 Jeff Rd, Harvest, AL  35749
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (256) 837-0331
Last modified Sparkman High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top