Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleburne Co High School

Public | 8-12 | 640 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2008

I have 3 daughters that do go to this school.And this school is great.Rebecca,Jami,and Amanda all my girls love it here...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I went to Cleburne County High and as far as the teachers go there are only a few good ones. I don't think that football players and cheerleaders should be able to get away with whatever they want. This school only worries about their athletes. To me that is just not right. My children will never attend this school and mainly because of Mrs. Thompson and Mrs. Payton.


Posted September 8, 2008

I think that Heflin is a great school! Expectially for a small town. I use to attend school there and i miss is greatly! The teachers are wonderful and they help the students in any way possible! The school has a great environment and they students try to intermingle with one another. All around its a great School!! Kaleigh Pruitt


Posted July 26, 2007

I love my high school! and i kind of makes me nervous to know that this is my last year, but i'm also excited! The teachers, for the most part, are great! They always have help for anyone who needs it. Our principal is understanding and takes each measure to protect his students. Overall, I wouldn't go to another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2007

Yes it's is a crying shame that if a kid is having a hard time in school the teacher should realize they are having a hard time and help those kids out a little bit more but no a few teacher wait until the end of the year and then lay it on the kids that not right they are there to teach the kids not for the kids to teach themselves in school.And all kids can play ball even if they have to go to summer school because if they passed they should be able to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Quality of academic programs could use a little adjusting since our superintendent decided to change our block schedule to 7 periods a day. This is causing teachers to rely on students to do most work at home, because they have no time to explain and teach as before. It seems as though they only have time to put notes on the board and the kids have to take them and just hope they can understand the problems when they get home. I do not blame teachers for this I blame superintended and principals. Sports takes 1st priority in this school, I as a parent feel academics and their health and safety should be first. We need support from parents to change this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

This school is great. Especially the football team. The teachers all love the students and would do anything for them. This is a great school to come to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2006

This is the best school that a small town can offer! There is so many clubs and activities to do. The Marching Band is awesome! Go Heflin Tigers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2005

My son has attended this school for 3 years.He has had some personal problems which affected his performance but the teachers and staff have been excellent as far as helping him.He quit school twice and each time they kept in contact with him,encouraging him to finish his education.They stayed in close contact with me when he was in school and kept me informed about all facets of his education,attendance and actions in the school.I truly think other schools could benefit from the way Cleburne County High School teachers and staff seem to take a personal interest in each child.I would like to say a personal Thank You to all of the teachers and staff for everything theyh have done for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

Both of my girls have had a good experience at Cleburne Co. High. I have a senior there now who will graduate in 2005 and due to the limited amount of electives available she ran out of class options and must now do dual enrollment at GSCC. They need to focus more on academics and less on football. Highschool is very political. Its all about who your parents are (as in the case with the yearbook this coming year) Otherwise, CCHS has been a fairly good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

I think that this is one of the best schools in the state of alabama! the teachers are so caring and the best one they there is mrs. Jennifer dasinger, she teaches in the science department and also oversees the student council. I had the best time at heflin high. It's great to be a heflin tiger! heather barber.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 18, 2005

I have one son who is a 2004 graduate. I was very pleased with his academic studies. He is currently enrolled at JSU, but will transfer to Auburn next year. My other child is in the 8th grade. He is in the Special Needs class. I am VERY disappointed that the school discontinued his academics in the 7th grade. He was making progress and wants to learn. I stronly feel the fine arts should be emphasized more throughout the students entire education. Class trips have always been to 'fun' places, such as Six Flags. Most kids can't afford this. Why can't they go somewhere such as the Fine Arts Museum or the Symphony? There is too much emphasis on sports and not enough on culture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

i went to heflin my 7-9 grade years.. and it was amazing! i loved it sooo much and now i wish i never left! i would do ANYTHING to go back! the teachers are awesome, the student body in incredible, and all in all i think its the best school around! *Go Heflin Tigers!*
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2005

Hey i am jessica blue this school is the best school i have ever been to.The teachers are great.This school helped me a lot.Before i began that school i did not know how to read or spell.This has the best classes.I have been to a lot of schools none of them helped me as much as cleburne county high did.They have great students.The teachers work with the students as long as it thats.I think every student at that school is very lucky to have such great teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Cleburne County High offers the best educational and extracurricular activities possible in a small town friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female89%
Male80%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education38%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Poverty78%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students78%
Female89%
Male69%
Black55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education19%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty71%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students95%
Female92%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty92%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students68%
Female79%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White69%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant68%
Poverty65%
Not poverty74%

Math

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty75%
Not poverty84%

Reading

All Students73%
Female81%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant73%
Poverty66%
Not poverty87%

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant68%
Poverty57%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students89%
Female94%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%
Poverty85%
Not poverty93%

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty93%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty92%
Not poverty96%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female80%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%
Poverty77%
Not poverty84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 58%
Black 6% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 Evans Bridge Rd
Heflin, AL 36264
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 463-2012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Donoho School
Anniston, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT