Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Helena Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 831 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

96 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

Wonderful learning environment and my child simply loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Helena Elementary school has incredible group of teachers. They genuinely care about each student and their success. I appreciate the partnership we have formed to ensure my child and all children get the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I have been amazed at how much my son progessed with his reading and math skills in his first year at HES. He is reading 1.5-2 grade levels ahead. Very involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I am the Reading Coach at Helena Elementary. I have the priviledge of working with one of the most caring, hard-working, professional staffs. They go above and beyond when planning and teaching their students. Our mission is to help each child each day achieve his/her greatest learning potential. Our teachers are commited to helping students become life-long learners! We are also fortunate at our school to be supported by parents and community...making Helena Elementary a good place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2010

Helena Elementary school is wonderful because of its outstanding and dedicated teachers. Helena also has a top notch administrative staff and the best students in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We have the best teachers!!! They give the children a wonderful education while making learning fun & they truly care about their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My daughter's teacher is a great communicator. Abbey loves her reading time especially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My son loves his teacher and says how much he is going to miss her next year...HES is great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

HES has been the elementary home for all three of my young boys, and I have been more than pleased with the unconditional faculty support, quality of learning, high expectations, engaging surroundings, yummy school food and the overall positive attitude the teachers give to my boys. My children come home with secure smiles each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Helena Elementary is the best school because we have supportive parents, caring teachers, and amazing students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Helena is a wonderful elementary school. All of the staff care deeply for the students. A fun, caring environment with good structure to inspire learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

HES is a wonderful place to teach and to learn!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2010

HES is an amazing school - we're so glad to be a part of the Helena School System! HES is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

It is always difficult to send your kids away all day and HES has made that experience so much easier. They put the kids first and the teachers are fabulous. My kids have learned so much and feel comfortable being there. Both of my kids love HES and I'm proud to recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

HES is phenomenal. The teachers are amazing and the students have fun learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

As a grandmother, I love HES because the teachers are great with their students. They bring out the best in my grandchildren. The teacher encourage each child to be their best in whatever they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

HES is such a wonderful place to work! The community is awesome and everyone is very supportive of our school. I wouldn't trade working with the wonderful faculty for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This was our first year at school and Helena has been great! The transition from pre-K to 'big' school was easy and exciting for our son and us. Helena Elementary just feels like home! All the staff are so wonderful and very helpful. I am thrilled all my children will get to start their education at Helena!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

It is a small community school with excellent teaching staff. It is very family centered. It gives all children the opportunity to be the best they can be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Everyone that works at HES is great. The teachers are very understanding and do a great job with each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 58%
Black 10% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Mary E Cooper
Fax number
  • (205) 682-5545

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

187 Third St
Helena, AL 35080
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT